We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Improvements needed at Hyatt Place!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hyatt Place Albuquerque/Uptown
Ranked #21 of 143 Hotels in Albuquerque
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 29, 2013

Just did a three week trip to the USA, where I stayed at six different Hyatt properties, all using my Hyatt Gold (loyalty) points. Although all of them had some issue or other, I must say that Hyatt Place Albuquerque Uptown needs special mention.

Like most of Hyatt Place properties, the layout of the rooms and lobby was exactly the same. Even the inability to offer hot chocolate at breakfast, and coffee or tea at the lobby all day - like ALL other chains do; now aren't the Hyatt guys REAL cheapos! - was exactly the same as every other property....but.....

We checked in for the first weekend of the Balloon Fiesta, and our first encounter was with a very serious-looking lady whose name tag read "Shehnaz, General Manager". Boy was she "friendly"! (Anybody wants to chill a beer fast, approach this person please!). Asked her whether this Hyatt Place property has Manager's Receptions (like many chains do) or a Welcome Drink for a Platinum Member (like we had at the Hyatt Place San Antonio - North/Stone Oak), but I may as well have asked her if she wanted a lobotomy done on her. Such was her cold unfriendliness. Its ok if you're not able to match the service that others provide, but was such gruffness really necessary?

In fact, her team of staff manning the front desk were so much more friendly and willing to provide a variety of information including a good insight about the Balloon Fiesta, especially a Ms. Leah.
I guess being a GM, she may have forgotten how to be friendly to guests.

But the bigger issue was the fact that although I had booked the stay at this property (and all the rest on this trip) using my loyalty points - which Hyatt promptly deducted from my account - this Hyatt Place also went ahead and charged my credit card for the two-night stay. Now, isn't that really friendly!

I have since contacted Hyatt twice to resolve the charges, but, to-date have not gotten any acknowledgment that they are indeed looking into this matter. Maybe, like their GM at the property, they are not interested in being friendly to guests. Or perhaps, they are too busy thinking up of ways to save more money for the chain. What next Hyatt, remove the hot breakfast offerings and serve cold cereal and croissants only?

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OSY225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shehnaz49, General Manager at Hyatt Place Albuquerque/Uptown, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2013

We are in receipt of your response and I would like to start with a sincere apology. I am sorry that your credit card was charged for two nights when you were booked on a redemption stay. If you will send me your name and conatct info i will be happy to research your charge.
I am truly sorry that you felt I was rude to you. I understand perception and please beleve that customer service to us is the only real amenity we provide and we would hope you will give us another opportunity to serve you.

Thank you

Shehnaz Mehta
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (645)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

502 - 508 of 645 reviews

Reviewed October 17, 2013

We stayed here during the last weekend of the Balloon Fiesta. It was PACKED. The check in process was easy and the staff were all very friendly. The rooms were what you'd expect from a Hyatt Place. The location was great for those who like to shop. We were across the street from an upper end outdoor mall (Jared's, Pottery Barn, etc.). However, the lights from the shopping district made it impossible to get our room dark at night. The breakfast in the morning was okay... eggs weren't that great, but everything else was tasty. We had the sausage, oatmeal, toast and yogurt. But it was very, very difficult to find a place to sit because of the throngs of people. The only major negative was the incredibly s-l-o-w elevators that smelled like oil. Luckily, we were on the 2nd floor and were able to take the stairs most of the time.

Room Tip: get a room on the lower levels so you can take the stairs and avoid the painstakingly slow elevators...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank breoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shehnaz49, General Manager at Hyatt Place Albuquerque/Uptown, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2013

Thank you for your kind comments. We appreciate your feedback.

Thank you

Shehnaz Mehta
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2013

Checked in for the end of the Balloon Fiesta. Everyone I encountered at the front desk had a smile and was very friendly. The hotel seemed to be a mixture of tourist and business guests. The hotel is in a great location. The hotel was very clean. Next door to Uptown center and a mall. The rooms were clean with plenty of towels.
Now for a few complaints. We stayed 2 nights and the large garbage cans on either side of the doors, where all of the parking is were overflowing the entire time. The safe in our room didn't work. We reported it up arrival and reported it again. Always got the same reply, waiting on the manager.
The breakfast was good. The only complaint is that the young man working the area, seemed to be in a trance and just standing around. An older lady, probably in her 80's, dropped eggs and he just stood there. Another guest cleaned up the mess before someone fell. I would definitely stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: Higher up rooms have less noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank montana2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shehnaz49, General Manager at Hyatt Place Albuquerque/Uptown, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2013

Thank you for your kind comments. We look forward to seeing you again at the Hotel.

Tahnk you

Shehnaz mehta
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Arrived on a Saturday 1 day before the end of The Ballon Fiesta 2013. Disappointed in the price hike during the Fiesta $188.00 before taxes. One bed with a hide a bed for a group of 3. Beds were comfortable. Breakfast served till 10:00am. We were at breakfast by 8:45 and not much of a selection by then. Staff not able to keep up with the amount of people it had to serve. Property is in need of a renovation but the location can't be beat.

Room Tip: Stay elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rookieranch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shehnaz49, General Manager at Hyatt Place Albuquerque/Uptown, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2013

Thank you for your comments. I am sorry that breakfast was not up to par for you. Your commnets will help us provide better service in the future.

Sorry for the inconvenience.

Shehnaz Mehta
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

This hotel was clean and outstanding. It is right across the street from great shopping and very close to I-40. The only problem I had was with the cable TV and the staff went way out of their way to get it fixed. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dogmom58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shehnaz49, General Manager at Hyatt Place Albuquerque/Uptown, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2013

Thank you for your kind comments. We truly appreciate your business and look forward to hosting your stay with us again soon.

Thank you

Shenaz Mehta
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2013

The hotel itself was fine, although the elvators are slow and the in-room TV system is weird. Also, the in-room coffemaker had grounds from a previous occupant. The location is good with easy freeway access, and numerous shopping/dining options a short walk away.

I was there for several days on business and finished up early, so called the desk to check out a day early. I was told there'd be an early check-out fee, equalling one nights stay. My travel coordinator contacted them, and was basically told that, since theyre usually fully booked, they didn't care if they lost our business.

Hyatt Gold Passport member since '92, for all the good it did.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bruce E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shehnaz49, Manager at Hyatt Place Albuquerque/Uptown, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2013

Dear Bruce:

Thank you for your candid response. We do have an early out fee that is communicated to every guest when reservations are made. I sincerely apologize for any inconvenience that this may have caused you. We hope to be of service to you in the future.

Thank you and take care

Shehanz mehta
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

We stopped in Albuquerque while on a cross country road trip so we could go up to Sandia Peak. Chose the Hyatt for its proximity. First time I stayed at a Hyatt Place and was delighted. Room was very spacious with a separate sitting area with couch and desk. Bed very comfortable. Hot breakfast included, with real eggs and fresh fruit. Front desk staff were very courteous and helpful

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank atreg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shehnaz49, General Manager at Hyatt Place Albuquerque/Uptown, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2013

Dear atreg,

Thank you for your comments regarding Hyatt Place Albuquerque Uptown. We appreciate your feedback and are pleased that you had a very pleasant stay. We hope to see you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albuquerque hotels
Uptown
Homewood Suites by Hilton Albuquerque
Uptown
Sheraton Albuquerque Uptown
Sheraton Albuquerque Uptown
#22 of 143 in Albuquerque
1,330 reviews
Uptown
Hilton Garden Inn Albuquerque Uptown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hyatt Regency Albuquerque
#25 of 143 in Albuquerque
1,346 reviews
Hyatt Place Albuquerque Airport
#20 of 143 in Albuquerque
816 reviews
Uptown
Albuquerque Marriott
Albuquerque Marriott
#48 of 143 in Albuquerque
712 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Place Albuquerque/Uptown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Albuquerque/Uptown

Address: 6901 Arvada Ave NE, Albuquerque, NM 87110-4291 (Formerly Hyatt Place Uptown)
Location: United States > New Mexico > Albuquerque > Uptown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Business Hotel in Albuquerque
Price Range: $126 - $180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place Albuquerque/Uptown 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Place Albuquerque/Uptown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Place Uptown Hotel Albuquerque
Hyatt Place Albuquerque
Hyatt Place Hotel Albuquerque
Albuquerque Hyatt
Hyatt Albuquerque

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing