We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great evening staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hyatt Place Albuquerque/Uptown
Ranked #20 of 144 Hotels in Albuquerque
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 17, 2012

Let me start by saying that it's getting very difficult to find hotels these days that cater to a family of 5. The staff at the hyatt place uptown were so nice and understanding they got us in very quick and made sure our three girls got the top floor. We were in room 4032 on the night of July 7 th 2012. The room was clean and very spacious. My husband fell in love with the huge tv. The only complaint I have at all is that the ac unit had something wrong with it and would not stop rattling very loud, I turned it off that night. We will surely stay there again . Thanks hyatt night staff you guys are awesome

Room Tip: If you have problems getting a room because reservations say they can only hold 4 call the front des...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shannon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (662)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

557 - 563 of 662 reviews

Reviewed July 15, 2012 via mobile

I have stayed at Hyatt place many times before and am always happy to get one because of its cool and out of the box room arrangements.
We arrive and without asking they place us in a handicapped room and right by the pool.
Hummmm not so much
So I was very kind and soft spoken and told them I went through Hyatt to book this room two months ago not through some third company. I should have received a king regular room.
They were very nice and politely found me another room.

Now I was surprised at how Hyatt has allowed this hotel to go down so much. The air conditioner was poorly put together and the sofa had some sort I'd dirt on it.
Now with all that said, the hayatt place has a very unusual room arrangement with a huge sectional sofa, huge flat screen tv that swivals from one side of the room to the other, and the best desk to work on.


This Hyatt place is nestled right across from the Uptown mall with fabulous eating places. The stores all shut down at 7pm. But u can enjoy the food.
We walked across the street to the outdoor mall and strolled along after dinner.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank swalkerd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2012

This is a decent hotel in a good location. It is across the street from two of the malls and convenient walk to Trader Joes and eating facilities. I recommend it for a two to three night stay.

Room Tip: Stay on the higher floors, it is less noisey.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelRN2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shehnaz49, General Manager at Hyatt Place Albuquerque/Uptown, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to comment on our Hotel. We truly appreciate your business and look forward to hosting your stay again.

Thank you

Shehnaz mehta
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2012

Having stayed at other Hyatt Place hotels, I can say that they are not your typical hotel room. They are different in their room layout, fun and imaginative. That being said, there are a few considerations. If you are a business person, this is an excellent place to stay without any negatives. The desk layout is superb. The dilemma comes when you stay with someone else. Due to the way the sink is placed, you both need to be on the same schedule. The huge light above the sink directly faces the bed, so one person cannot sleep if the other is getting ready. Also, the fans in the bathroom are very noisy. That presents it's own problems during the night when you need to shut the door first and then turn on the light/fan. The last dilemma is storage space. There are no dressers, just cubbies. OK for one, a bit of a stretch or 2. The location is sweet. Step outside and have ABQ mall across the street, with a good selection of nice
restaurants. Bottom line - great place for one traveler, OK for two (for a night or two), and could be uncomfortable or more than that.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank smarusz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2012

I stayed here in June for six nights. The hotel is clean and modern. Great location across from the open air section of Uptown. The staff is very friendly. Decent breakfast is included. My only complaint is they don't start serving until 6:30am. I wish it was 6am. I'll stay here again when I'm in town.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pshajh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2012

Stayed here before when it was an AmeriSuites. Hyatt has mostly improved things, but overlooked a few room amenities. We first booked an ADA room because my wife likes to take baths. But after the first night we switched to a standard room, which as it turns out, also has a tub. The one in the ADA room is deeper, but both are too narrow for a good relaxing soak.
We moved from Albuquerque a couple of years ago, so we aren't interested in tourist things, and for us the Hyatt is at a great location; across the street from the Uptown center - an open mall with great shopping and lots of restaurants. It's only about a quarter mile from I-40, and close to a city bus hub. Mainly, it's a better part of town than many other hotels.
Hyatt also completely renovated the lobby area. The front desk looks more like a deli/coffee counter, but handles check-ins well, serves Starbucks coffees, has cookies and pasties, and even some beer and wine. They have good lobby seating, counter seats, some private seating areas, business room, and a food service area with one of the better complimentary breakfasts I've ever had.
I also think they have a very good staff, which will change with time, but for now they are very friendly and helpful.
Getting back to the rooms, they about twice as long (deep) as they are wide, and separated into two rooms by a very small closet on one side, and a narrow, floor-to-ceiling room-divider on the other side. The front half has a living room on one side and a "kitchenette" on the other side, with a work desk that can double as a dinner table for one. There's a mini-refrigerator and a sink, but no other way you could call it a kitchenette...no microwave oven, no dishes, no flatware.
The back half of the suite has the bedroom, enclosed toilet/shower bathroom, and a wash basin/counter area open to the bedroom. There is no dresser; only 3 drawers under the counter for storing your clothes. The bedroom side tables are just shelves mounted to the wall; no drawers there. The king bed is comfortable, except that one side is quite near the air conditioner, which is wall-mounted near the floor.
There is an entertainment center between the front and back rooms, at the end of the closet. You have to look at an angle trying to view it either from the bed or the living room couch. But it is pretty big...probably a 40-inch flat screen. And there are connections for video players, and for power plugs in the cabinet it rests on. Those connections are near the desk in the kitchen area, so there is a place to put your players. The cabinet under the TV has several cubby holes where you can put some of your stuff, but be careful - the space is about 7 inches deep, but the shelves are only 6 inches deep, so there's a space for small items to fall behind, and they fall into a space where you can't retrieve them.
Overall, I recommend the Hyatt for the location, the staff and services, and the aesthetics of the room. Just don't expect to find an actual kitchen, and the room is a bit dysfunctional.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank paintball-guy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2012

Hotel location is excellent-across the street and an easy walk from two malls, also close to various restaurants and centrally located to major city attractions. Staff was knowledgeble and attentive. The breakfast buffet area was well organized and clean. Selection was adequate & tasty, coffee was excellent, they provide real plates, cups and utensils...NO plastic...nice touch! Rooms are spacious and comfortable. The only reason I'm giving this hotel a 4 rating this time was due to a couple of minor issues that I encountered during the stay. The staff took care of them in a prompt and satisfactory manner. Definitely will stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JuniorTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albuquerque hotels
Uptown
Sheraton Albuquerque Uptown
Sheraton Albuquerque Uptown
#19 of 144 in Albuquerque
1,343 reviews
Uptown
Homewood Suites by Hilton Albuquerque
Hyatt Place Albuquerque Airport
#21 of 144 in Albuquerque
832 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Huning Highland Historic District
Hotel Parq Central
Hotel Parq Central
#3 of 144 in Albuquerque
1,765 reviews
Hotel Chaco
#1 of 144 in Albuquerque
175 reviews
Uptown
Hilton Garden Inn Albuquerque Uptown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Place Albuquerque/Uptown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Albuquerque/Uptown

Address: 6901 Arvada Ave NE, Albuquerque, NM 87110-4291 (Formerly Hyatt Place Uptown)
Location: United States > New Mexico > Albuquerque > Uptown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Business Hotel in Albuquerque
Price Range: $126 - $192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place Albuquerque/Uptown 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Place Albuquerque/Uptown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Place Uptown Hotel Albuquerque
Hyatt Place Albuquerque
Hyatt Place Hotel Albuquerque
Albuquerque Hyatt
Hyatt Albuquerque

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing