We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and close to shops & restaurants.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hyatt Place Albuquerque/Uptown
Ranked #21 of 144 Hotels in Albuquerque
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 31, 2011

I stayed here off/on for a few weeks during business in 3 different rooms and found it clean and reliable. All the double bed rooms were identical, spacious and well equipped. There's free wi-fi and breakfast included.

My only gripes are that the large LCD TV couldn't rotate more than 10-15 degrees, which makes it impossible to watch if you sit at the small desk table. Also, while they include toothpaste (first place I've stayed that does that) they don't include lotion in the room which is kinda curious since New Mexico is so hot & dry. The only other thing is if you're sensitive to light, you might want to choose a room on the opposite side of the mall, here's some spotlights on that side of the hotel that shine right into the upper floor windows.

The only other issue is that they mentioned they had my Hyatt frequent number on file the first two times I stayed there but the third time I checked and it wasn't correct. Not sure if someone was taking credit but now I have to call customer service since the hotel couldn't help me after the fact, which was annoying. So make sure you verify that when you check in!

Overall, well worth staying at.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GRANTUR1SMO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (620)
There are newer reviews for Hyatt Place Albuquerque/Uptown
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

553 - 559 of 620 reviews

Reviewed July 31, 2011

Good: helpful, friendly staff; very clean; nice atmosphere. Refrigerator, good a/c, hot water, good water pressure, 24-hour snacks.
Cons: no microwave, no bellhop, no guest laundry, no room service, very expensive snack bar.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deidrebee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2011

We stayed here for one night and really enjoyed it. This Hyatt Place met our expectations and then some. Check in was easy and fast as usual with the self service kiosk. They did have our reservation wrong, but quickly fixed it with no problems. We were by the pool, but the noise was not noticeable. The room was clean and the bed was great as usual. Parking is free and convenient. This area seems to be a spot where there's lots to do and good restaurants to eat at, all within walking distance. We wish we could've stayed longer as the temperature was a comfortable 78 degrees.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wdharrington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2011

We chose the Hyatt Place based upon all the positive reviews. We reserved a king room online. Upon arrival we were told that all king rooms were booked. Apparantly if you book through a site that is not the Hyatt Place site they will not guarantee your room request. Too boot our reservation was nonrefundable. The double beds were not going to be big enough for us so I asked the guy at the desk to keep looking. After some time he let us know that he had a king room but it was right next to the elevators. So our choice was to take a chance on a possible noisy room or go to a room that we would not be able to sleep in. We took our chances with the king room and were burned! The noise was a major problem and we got far less sleep than we needed. The room was also smaller because the elevator shaft actually takes away part of the floor space in the room. Hyatt has refused to give us compensatition for the terrible room and we will never stay at a Hyatt hotel again. Be warned that once this Hyatt Place gets hold of your money you will have no rights as a customer. The cold bottom line is all that matters to them.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank redbirdlcnm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2011

We stayed here as the first stop of a road trip from Dallas to Vegas and the place was really nice. The rooms were huge compared to the other places we stayed on the trip and the sofa bed made it possible for us to sleep six in the room comfortably. The TV was in a bit of a strange place between the two "rooms" and it made it a bit uncomfortable to watch at such an angle. No matter where you go, the Hyatt place rooms all look the same, so you know what to expect. Clean rooms, good continental breakfast, friendly staff, walking distance to mall, food and shops. I'll stay here again if ever in Albuquerque.

Room Tip: All the rooms are the same
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cb1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2011

With the exception of location, which is near the uptown shopping plaza, and across from a nice mall, this property did NOT stand out in any way.

I have been a fan on Hyatt in the past. I had never tried Hyatt Place until now. It has potential to be hip and fun. But, did not prove so.

The free breakfast was disappointing. Very little selection, and OUT OF COFFEE? Really, a staple. When one of our party went the carafes were empty, and one member of the staff was training the other on how to make Specialty Starbucks drinks (which of course, are for purchase) the empty carafes were ignored. Later I went to the breakfast statiion (about an hour later) and they were (again or still?) empty. Really Hyatt staff, put a little effort into this please.

We were locked out of the front entrance at night (no, there was no place to swipe and get in), so we had to walk around to the back entrance to get in. We would not have minded if it were not for the fact that the front desk staff was outside smoking when we were dropped off at the main entrance. He promptly ran inside, locked the front entrance, saw us attemping to get in, and would not respond. Later I noticed that the outer door, which was locked, should have been open, and the inner door (for security) would have opened with a swipe of our card.

Don't be fooled by the "fresh and ready" food market. It is a tiny cooler, with overpriced pre-packaged food, such as your choice of two or three tiny $10 lunchmeat sandwiches.

On the positive, within walking distance there are nice chain restaurants, shopping, and a trader Joe's. Also the rooms at this location were clean, and ours was somewhat quiet.

Overall, unless you get a killer price break, there are more guest friendly, well-appointed hotels in close proximity.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MickandMik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2011

Stayed 2 nights May 13-15, 2011 to attend a graduation. The hotel was directly across the street from an upscale shopping/dining complex. The hotel was immaculate with a "hip" vibe to the lobby. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. The complimentary continental breakfast was more than adequate with fresh fruit and yogurts which I enjoyed. The pool was good sized. I got a great rate right off the Hyatt website. I will not hesitate to book again.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DTierman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albuquerque hotels
Uptown
Sheraton Albuquerque Uptown
Sheraton Albuquerque Uptown
#20 of 144 in Albuquerque
1,311 reviews
Uptown
Homewood Suites by Hilton Albuquerque
Huning Highland Historic District
Hotel Parq Central
Hotel Parq Central
#2 of 144 in Albuquerque
1,685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Uptown
Hilton Garden Inn Albuquerque Uptown
Uptown
Albuquerque Marriott
Albuquerque Marriott
#50 of 144 in Albuquerque
689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Place Albuquerque/Uptown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Albuquerque/Uptown

Address: 6901 Arvada Ave NE, Albuquerque, NM 87110-4291 (Formerly Hyatt Place Uptown)
Location: United States > New Mexico > Albuquerque > Uptown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Business Hotel in Albuquerque
Price Range: $123 - $251 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place Albuquerque/Uptown 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Place Albuquerque/Uptown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Place Uptown Hotel Albuquerque
Hyatt Place Albuquerque
Hyatt Place Hotel Albuquerque
Albuquerque Hyatt
Hyatt Albuquerque

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing