We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Poor customer service, very bland stay ”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sheraton Albuquerque Uptown
Ranked #18 of 144 Hotels in Albuquerque
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Poor customer service, very bland stay ”
Reviewed May 10, 2014 via mobile

As members of the SPG program we've stayed at many Starwood properties (of all levels) throughout the USA, Australia and Europe. This Sheraton was by far the worst customer service we've ever experienced, really disappointing, especially as we had also paid for an upgrade.
Arriving at 3.30pm (for 3pm check in) we were told our room wasn't yet ready and wouldn't be ready for almost an hour. The young lady on reception didn't offer suggestions for what to do, or ask if we'd like to leave our luggage or any (normal) helpful things you would expect from reception staff.

A different staff member eventually checked us in, but didn't tell us the location of any of the facilities, or where breakfast was the following morning. We had to ask specifically for all of the questions we needed help answering.

The room was fine, large & clean and a comfortable bed. We were in a room directly next to the elevator, which was quite loud throughout the evening. Again, having paid for an upgrade I would have expected a more thoughtfully located room.

Check out was just as painful, the staff member not knowing how to work the computer system, and asking us to pay for the room we had already pre-paid prior to our stay.

All round, it was fine for a quick one night stop through Albuquerque, but based on the staffing alone, we would not stay again.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank mgnmng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Damen K, General Manager at Sheraton Albuquerque Uptown, responded to this review, May 11, 2014
Hello Meganmckean-

Thank you for your review-

Please accept my apology, for a quick overnight stay we could have done so much better. I am sorry your stay did not meet either of our expectations,

I will share your review with my team...

Yours in Hospitality,
Damen Kompanowski
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,206 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    631
    356
    138
    51
    30
See reviews for
274
283
98
417
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (235)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hereford, Arizona
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2014

Another excellent stay in one of Albuquerque's finest hotels. Staff always friendly and professional. We were upgraded to a suite. Very very comfortable. The club lounge is always inviting and the food is awesome!! Adele, who oversees the lounge service is one of the warmest and friendliest Sheraton employees we have had the pleasure of meeting!! She goes that extra mile to make you feel comfortable and relaxed. She has many stories to share but also senses when one needs quiet time. Kudos to Adele. We also enjoyed the bar lounge and its wonderful jazz music. Our stay was much too short.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 142Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Damen K, General Manager at Sheraton Albuquerque Uptown, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Hello 142Traveler-

Thanks for your great review on our hotel. I am so happy you enjoyed our club lounge and Adele one of our great ladies that work in the lounge. I always enjoy reading about our associates and how they take great care of our guest.

Yours in Hospitality,
Damen Kompanowski
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
141 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2014

Stayed at the Uptown Sheration, Albuquerque for a business conference. Rooms were clean and comfortable. The club room had a nice complementary breakfast and afternoon snacks. The hotel was busy with many groups there for meetings.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ray425
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrie C, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Albuquerque Uptown, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
Dear Ray425,

Thank you for staying with us while on business in Albuquerque. I am sorry that you caught us during a busy time, but please know that we never forget our other guests, and that we're happy to accommodate in any way that we can. Hopefully you were able to enjoy some quiet in our Club Lounge, along with your breakfast and hors d'oeuvres. The mountain view is very relaxing!

Please come back and visit us.

Warmest Regards,
Carrie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Niguel, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed May 3, 2014

After traveling for 12 hours, my husband,myself and Moses (our dog) arrived at the Sheraton Uptown at 11:30 at night. My husband and I travel (usually by air without Moses) a lot and we usually stay in very nice hotels. We needed a dog friendly hotel and the Sheraton fit the bill.
We were greeted as if we were royalty. The Night Operations Manager, Richard A. Manis, recognized we were tired and personally took care of us- he actually escorted us to our room!
Our room was very nice, very comfortable and super clean!

The Sheraton Uptown was definitely a hotel I would recommend!!! My husband and I stay in Westin's, W's, J.W. Marriott's, and Ritz Carlton's on most trips and our experience at the Sheraton Uptown was just as good if not better than most of our stays- for much less!

The staff was exceptionally friendly, the location could not have been better, the parking was free!, the hotel bar was a "happening place be", they had Starbuck's coffee in-room and the food was very good. Last but not least, the hospitality room was better than most!!! We can not say enough about the staff and the hotel. Thank you for a terrific and welcoming stay!

Room Tip: The Sheraton Uptown is located very close to the 40 and super dog friendly!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lindatg2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrie C, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Albuquerque Uptown, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
Dear lindatg2014,

You are so very welcome! And thank YOU for choosing to visit us, and for the gracious review. We take a lot of pride in our service and it's fantastic to hear when guests experienced nothing less ... including our four-legged guests.

We hope to welcome you back in the future. Please feel free to reach out to us if there's anything we can do for you.

Warmest Regards,
Carrie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
2 reviews
Reviewed May 2, 2014

My family and I were on our cross-country move when we stayed here. We showed up with no reservations and luckily they had a room. The managers made sure we were well taken care of, even though we are just regular joes.
The hotel is within walking distance of great food and shopping,but the staff will offer you a shuttle ride if you're interested.
They made us feel like family and I will not stay anywhere else in Albuquerque.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChadCielencki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrie C, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Albuquerque Uptown, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
Dear ChadCielencki,

Thank you again for all of your kind words!!

Warmest Regards,
Carrie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
2 reviews
Reviewed May 2, 2014

My family and I were on our cross-country move when we stayed here. We showed up with no reservations and luckily they had a room. The managers made sure we were well taken care of, even though we are just regular joes.
The hotel is within walking distance of great food and shopping,but the staff will offer you a shuttle ride if you're interested.
They made us feel like family and I will not stay anywhere else in Albuquerque.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChadCielencki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrie C, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Albuquerque Uptown, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
Dear ChadCielencki,

Rest assure that none of our guests are "just regular joes", but rather family as you mentioned. I love that we were able to provide you with a warm welcome to Albuquerque! Please visit us again in the future, and best of luck in your new beginnings.

Warmest Regards,
Carrie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
1 review
Reviewed May 1, 2014

We had the pleasure of staying at the Sheraton Albuquerque Uptown for 7 days and found it to be a great experience. Richard, the night manager, was so accommodating, as was all of his staff (Louis, etc.). We couldn't have asked for anything more! We'll be sure and return here, the next time we visit Albuquerque. Thanks for everything!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoAnne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrie C, Front Office Manager at Sheraton Albuquerque Uptown, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
Dear JoAnne G,

The pleasure was all ours! We know you have many choices in hotels and we're incredibly grateful that you chose ours. Richard and Louis are amazing and will be happy to welcome you back :-) Please let us know if there is anything that we can help you with.

Warmest Regards,
Carrie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albuquerque hotels
Huning Highland Historic District
Hotel Parq Central
Hotel Parq Central
#3 of 144 in Albuquerque
1,600 reviews
Albuquerque Original Townsite
Hotel Andaluz
Hotel Andaluz
#6 of 144 in Albuquerque
1,328 reviews
Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town
#12 of 144 in Albuquerque
1,638 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Uptown
Hyatt Place Albuquerque/Uptown
Hyatt Place Albuquerque/Uptown
#19 of 144 in Albuquerque
526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Albuquerque Uptown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Albuquerque Uptown

Property: Sheraton Albuquerque Uptown
Address: 2600 Louisiana Boulevard NE, Albuquerque, NM 87110
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Albuquerque > Uptown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Albuquerque
#9 Business Hotel in Albuquerque
#22 Family Hotel in Albuquerque
#23 Romantic Hotel in Albuquerque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Albuquerque Uptown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 295
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits you at the Sheraton Albuquerque Uptown. Located in the middle of the vibrant core and newly-developed Uptown Area, our hotel is the gateway to all the sights, sounds and experiences that New Mexico has to offer. We're just steps from all the variety that is Albuquerque, including the Uptown Business District, ABQ Uptown Living Center, and the Coronado Mall, which features dozens of your favorite restaurants, world-class shopping, and more. Our 295 guest rooms and suites feature contemporary styles and comforting Sheraton touches. You'll feel at home with the signature Sheraton Sweet Sleeper(R) Bed, 37" LCD television, High Speed Internet Access, ample workspace, in-room movies, and of course, fresh-brewed Starbucks(R) coffee or Tazo(R) tea for the day ahead. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheraton Albuquerque Uptown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Albuquerque Uptown Hotel Albuquerque
Albuquerque Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing