We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad, but not as fun as we'd hoped”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Nativo Lodge Albuquerque
Ranked #43 of 144 Hotels in Albuquerque
Brooklyn, New York
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Not bad, but not as fun as we'd hoped”
Reviewed December 29, 2013

We stayed here for one night. Overall it seemed a bit dated-- funny decor, reminded us of a casino hotel due to trying so hard to stay on theme. We thought the Indian themed idea might feel a bit more fun, but it just felt a bit tired. We had a room on one of the higher floors and had a nice-ish view of the Sandias (the close by hospital partially blocked the view)-- tremendous light from the sunset there! We had a nice balcony and wanted to leave the door open to have some fresh air but because there was no screen door on the balcony and bugs were coming in. All of that being said, we had a fine stay here, the room was clean, the bed was comfortable, though spotted a roach in the bathroom in the middle of the night, and the staff was nice enough. Also, for fellow Texans, there is a Taco Cabana right next to the hotel. :)

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mishaaja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan C, Interactive Marketing Coordinator at Nativo Lodge Albuquerque, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Hi mishaaja,

Thank you for letting us know about your stay in October. We, too, love seeing the sunset light up the Sandias!

I'm sorry that you experienced some issues during your stay. We appreciate hearing where we can improve.

I hope you enjoyed your visit to Albuquerque, and that you stay with us again the next time you visit.

Have a happy New Year!

Yours,
Susan C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,023 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    399
    301
    144
    94
    85
See reviews for
307
306
87
166
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (264)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lovington, New Mexico, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2013

We always stay at the Nativo Lodge when in Albuquerque which is about once a quarter or so. It is always clean and quiet. The employees are the best! On a couple occasions I've had problems getting into my room...user error...I put the key in backward both times. And both times the friendly maintenance man (same one both times) politely corrected my error without making me feel stupid. Wish I knew his name. This past week, Taunya was working triple duty covering the restaurant, bar and room service and made our dinner a delight. Jessica at the front desk tried really hard to get on of our usual rooms, but they were all occupied. So she took great care of us and even noticed that I had reservations for February and went ahead and reserved one of the rooms I like for then. The maid who was just finishing up our room when we arrived was pleasant, personable and did a great job on the room with short notice. Didn't get her name, but will do so next time!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Starla A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan C, Interactive Marketing Coordinator at Nativo Lodge Albuquerque, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Dear Starla A,

Thanks your for your continued loyalty with us and for reviewing your recent stay. We agree that people make all the difference, and our staff strive to make sure that every guest has a wonderful experience in Albuquerque. I'll pass along your kind comments to Jessica, Taunya and the rest of our staff who helped you.

I hope you have a wonderful 2014, and we look forward to hosting you again next quarter.

Yours,
Susan C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2013

I had a terrific Christmas breakfast! Thanks for the 'love' you put into those pancakes, Chef Shawn; and those were the the side dish...my advice: take a chance folks, you might be surprised what you find. Thanks Perry and Tamara for the hospitality.
The whole place really is a beautiful setting.

Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank ctefan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan C, Interactive Marketing Coordinator at Nativo Lodge Albuquerque, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Dear ctefan,

Thank you for sharing your Christmas breakfast with us and for taking the time to write about your experience.

I'll let Chef Shawn, Perry and Tamara know how much you enjoyed their pancakes and hospitality. Have a wonderful New Year, and I hope we see you again.

Yours,
Susan C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2013

We have traveled all over the country- west coast, east coast, and a 'few' places in between with 2 young kids. The kids occasionally wet the bed; MOST hotels can accommodate bodily fluids and keep a room clean. The Nativo does not. If there was a mattress pad on the bed, it must have been old and worn out (like the rest of the hotel is starting to become), because the mattress got wet. We assumed the Nativo could handle the cleaning job professionally, like every other hotel we've stayed at. Nope. All they did was put new sheets on, and no mattress protection. When I told the front desk, they said they would look into it and charge me if the mattress needed to be replaced. (Why was that their first response?) sure enough, we are now buying the hotel a new mattress, courtesy of "damaged property". I have no recourse or way to argue with them. Based on the price, I am sure it will be the nicest mattress in the hotel. One manager even had the gall to say that I should have warned the hotel that my CHILD had a problem with wetting the bed. So, be warned, check your mattresses, maybe bring your own mattress protection (you never know what you'll find!), or stay somewhere where they know how to take care of their stuff. We are going camping.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amber D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan C, Interactive Marketing Coordinator at Nativo Lodge Albuquerque, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Dear Amber D,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We appreciate hearing about every guest's experience.

I am sorry you experienced such an issue while you were here. Our General Manager is fully aware of the problem.

I hope you enjoyed seeing Albuquerque, and that you have a good New Year.

Yours,
Susan C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bielefeld, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2013

Nativo Lodge is special. It's different from other hotels because of the awesome design and decor in the lobby and the rooms. I felt really comfortable because it's not standard and soulless like most other hotels. It's conveniently located right off I-25 so it's easy to find. Everything was super clean, staff extremely friendly (apologized nicely for the sauna being closed because it had caught fire and) and the bed really comfortable. It took me a while to figure out that you almost have to tear the tap in the shower out of the wall to make it work, but after that it was perfect. At this rate, breakfast could be included, but the special offer (stay 2 nights - get 1 free) is exceptional! I fully recommend the Nativo Lodge for everyone looking for a special and welcoming place to stay in Albuquerque.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vivien0205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan C, Interactive Marketing Coordinator at Nativo Lodge Albuquerque, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Hi Vivien0205,

Thank you for your review of Nativo Lodge. We also like our wonderful, unique decor and our convenient location. We like every guest to be comfortable, so thank you for letting us know that we succeeded.

I hope you enjoyed visiting Albuquerque! We'd love to have you stay with us again when you return.

Yours,
Susan C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 12, 2013

Stepping into this hotel was like stepping in to another world,it lives up to it's name. It is beautiful,rooms are clean, staff very nice. We ate at the restaurant and staff was so nice and made us feel special.

Room Tip: Any room will be perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandra R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan C, Interactive Marketing Coordinator at Nativo Lodge Albuquerque, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Dear Sandra R.,

Thank you for taking the time to review Nativo Lodge, and thanks for the kind words about our decor and staff. I'll pass them along!

We look forward to hosting you again the next time you visit Albuquerque.

Yours,
Susan C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 12, 2013

We were very impressed with the wonderful atmosphere at the Nativo Lodge! The staff were very friendly and always went the extra mile to make our stay comfortable and easy. We loved the decor and were especially impressed that they supported local artists and craftspeople to accomplish the unique flavor found throughout the building! We would highly recommend the Nativo Lodge experience!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rimatravellor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan C, Interactive Marketing Coordinator at Nativo Lodge Albuquerque, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Dear rimatravellor,

Thank you for taking the time to review Nativo Lodge and for your kind words.

We are proud of our partnership with local Native American artists and, like you, love the work they've done. And, I'm happy to hear how our staff was able to make your stay comfortable and easy. I'll pass along your praise.

We hope you stay with us again the next time you come to Albuquerque!

Yours,
Susan C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albuquerque hotels
Comfort Suites Albuquerque
#27 of 144 in Albuquerque
294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Huning Highland Historic District
Hotel Parq Central
Hotel Parq Central
#2 of 144 in Albuquerque
1,664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nativo Lodge Albuquerque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nativo Lodge Albuquerque

Property: Nativo Lodge Albuquerque
Address: 6000 Pan American East Fwy NE, Albuquerque, NM 87109-3430
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Albuquerque
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Family Hotel in Albuquerque
#37 Business Hotel in Albuquerque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Nativo Lodge Albuquerque 3*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Travelers from all over the world stay at the Nativo Lodge to experience Native American culture through the hotel’s vibrant art, innovative technology, and cultural aspects. No other hotel achieves the unique blend of contemporary and traditional Native American atmosphere within their luxurious rooms. Conveniently located near Balloon Fiesta Park and major attractions in Albuquerque, guests can enjoy breathtaking views of the Sandia Mountains and the New Mexico landscape, and Santa Fe is just a quick 45 minutes away. Spacious rooms with private balconies, free WIFI, daily Happy Hour, and true hospitality and charm of Native American contemporary culture make staying at the Nativo Lodge a one-of-a-kind experience."Hotels supporting cultural causes." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Nativo Lodge Albuquerque reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nativo Lodge Albuquerque Hotel Albuquerque
Nativo Hotel Albuquerque
Albuquerque Nativo Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing