We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable room.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town
Ranked #10 of 144 Hotels in Albuquerque
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
483 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
“Comfortable room.”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

After checking in, I opened the room door and found that someone had been lying on the bed, a soda can on the night table! Went back to reception and received an apology- housekeeping had cleared the room-
a new room and a $20 coupon for the hotel restaurant. Enjoyed a fruit plate and green chili stew for lunch! Good location and very comfortable bed!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DeborahandAndy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gretchen G, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Dear DeborahandAndy, thank you for choosing to stay with us at Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our fantastic location, and our comfortable sleeping rooms. Being a hotel, having a convenient location and inviting guest rooms are just a couple of our top priorities. We apologize about the inconvenience towards the beginning of your stay; however, we are glad to hear our staff was quick to respond in a friendly manner. Our restaurant has a wonderful menu, and the green chili stew is definitely a favorite. Thank you for sharing your recent experience with us, and we hope to welcome you back to Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town to enjoy all that we have to offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,693 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    890
    507
    173
    69
    54
See reviews for
297
503
110
507
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (497)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NM
1 review
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Our company hosted a grand scale event for 500 people at Hotel Albuquerque's Casa Esencia (with an attached tent).

We had many elements to our event including gourmet food, speciality desserts and cocktails, live audio/visual feeds on multiple screens, event photography, a 10 piece band and a live DJ.

The event was a high profile extravaganza and had many, many, many parts to the event puzzle. The staff at Hotel Albuquerque put the pieces of the event together with ease and if a piece to the puzzle didn't fit, they made it work with their creative thinking abilities and positive mental attitudes supported by the multitude of skills that each team member brought to the table.

As you can imagine, an event with that size and scope can be stressful for a producer. The friendly staff, the beautiful room and the delicious room service created a relaxing space to unwind when the music stopped, the final guest left and the lights from the candles flickered out.

Other great features included the copious amounts of parking and the convenient proximity to Old Town.

Thank you, Hotel Albuquerque, for facilitating an event that we will remember forever!

Room Tip: Ask for top floor facing mountains!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TopProd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gretchen G, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear Top Prod, thank you for taking a moment to write a review on your event and stay here. We were thrilled in being able to host you all here and are more than happy to hear you enjoyed the event as well. Casa Esencia is one of our great event spaces, decorated to create an elegant and exciting ambiance for a party. We are glad to know that even with such a high profile and large size occasion, our staff was able to make it function effortlessly. It was definitely an event to remember for us also, and we were honored to be a part of this special affair. Thank you once more for the wonderful 5 star review, and we are looking forward to hosting you all again at Hotel Albuquerque for future events.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Illinois
Level Contributor
60 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2013

My wife and I were here for one night last week.

The best part of our stay was the bed.
The bed was really nice and perfect.

Also the front desk was super nice.

The Bad:

The Shower took 10 minutes to get warm. Once it was warm enough to shower, you needed to hurry because it would get cold again for another 5 minutes. This was not durning peak shower time either. It was around 730 or 8 pm.

The sink took forever to drain.
The bathroom lacked a fan and was pretty worn down.
The room was showing its age.
Old Zenith tube tv.

Yes its close to everything in Old Town and yes it is very clean inside and out.

But it does need a lot of updating.

I gave it a 2 because of the water and the slow drain.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Seth241
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gretchen G, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear Seth241, we appreciate you taking the time to write a review, and we are glad to hear the front desk staff was accommodating, as exceptional customer service is something we constantly strive for. We do apologize for any inconvenience you might have had during your stay with us as this is definitely not the norm and we take great pride in the style, comfort and affordability of our guestrooms and are upgrading our TV’s to Flat-screens very soon. Thank you again for providing us your feedback. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Hotel Albuquerque in the future to enjoy our excellent location and facilities.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
399 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 519 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2013

I recently spent a night here with my family, we were heading to Santa Fe but decided to spend a day in Albuquerque before heading north. We chose this hotel based on its proximity to Old Town and based on reviews we read on Trip Advisor. There are some mixed reviews for this property, but we found it to be a very nice facility. It's not a 4 star luxury property, but my experience was that it was a nice, clean, well-run hotel with some nice extras.

The decor is very Southwestern and fun, from the lobby to the rooms. As noted by many, the lobby is very pretty and well decorated. The staff was friendly and informative, giving us some good advice on restaurants and getting around in Albuquerque. The rooms weren't very large, but they were big enough and had all the amenities you would expect at a decent hotel.

We stayed on a Friday night, we were traveling with my parents so we had two rooms. My family was in an odd-numbered room, and we had a nice balcony on a higher floor that afforded a nice view of old town as well as the mountains in the distance. My parent's room was in an even-numbered room, there view was decent (a bit more industrial) but there was no balcony. On the plus side, we discovered on Saturday morning that they had a great view of hot air balloons. At one point we counted 34 across the panoramic view from their window. I doubt they fly during the week and I'm not sure what the ballooning season is, but the "balcony vs balloon" trade-off is something to think about when requesting a room.

The restaurant was decent in the hotel (we had dessert there as well as breakfast), but there are also several really good dining options within an easy walk.

I would definitely stay here again if my travels take my back to Albuquerque, and I would recommend it to friends and family (and Trip Advisor-ers).

Room Tip: Odd-numbered rooms have balconies Even-numbered rooms don't have balconies, but have weekend vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Counterweight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gretchen G, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear Counterweight, Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town during your time in Albuquerque. The hotel’s location allows us to offer two great views, one with a balcony overlooking the Old Town Plaza or a view of the Sandia Mountains, which sometimes offers a glimpse of our infamous hot air balloons. We pride ourselves in presenting the southwestern décor in a proper and well-kept manner and are happy that you enjoyed the property overall. Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of your stay and your continued recommendations. We hope to welcome you back to Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town again when your travels lead you back here, perhaps during our International Balloon Fiesta in October.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ormond Beach, Florida
1 review
Reviewed April 3, 2013

Great hotel, close to museums, restaurants, and Old Town ambiance. The hotel was a cultural oasis, yet modern and up to date and clean. We especially enjoyed the Cafe Plazuela & Cantina and our wonderful waiter, Leo. The food and service were outstanding.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JudithA590
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gretchen G, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear JudithA590, thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with us at Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town. We are so happy to hear you were able to enjoy the hotel as well as the surrounding areas. We want to provide an ambiance and service that reflects the area in which we are located and are pleased to know we were able to do so. Our Café Plazuela is a great place to enjoy a tasty meal and Leo is one of the many wonderful employees we have. Thank you once more for your five star review. We look forward to welcoming you back to Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach
Level Contributor
47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2013 via mobile

Good hotel, right off the main highway. The lobby is very nice. Drakkar at the front desk was helpful to us with where to go. Told us we could walk to get good food.
The rooms were nice, smelled a little musty. The rooms could use a few more electrical outlets. Clean bathrooms and towels, comfortable beds. Definitely would stay again.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Goldenstatenative
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2013

I just returned from a weekend at this hotel. It's a wonderful historic hotel that really cares about their guests. The staff was great, very helpful and full of personality. The rooms are good, nothing great but very clean and that's most important. It would help if they updated the tv's but hopefully that will come soon. The bathroom had a good amount of towels and Aveda products. I would have liked to have seen maybe a travel size bottle of mouthwash as well as a shower cap supplied but my guess is if I asked for it, they would have gotten it for me. Ate at the restaurant in the Lobby for lunch and the food was good. I thought the service was a tad slow seeing that there were only a few other tables taken at the time but then again, we were in a rush and the waiter was very nice so I can't fault them for that :-) The Bar is the hot spot in town and when we returned to the hotel very late Friday evening/early Saturday, the police were there apparently breaking up a fight. Unfortunately it was the same thing on Saturday night/Sunday morning. But that to me is not the hotel's fault. If anything, I was impressed how the staff was handling the disruption...very professional.

The location is a few blocks from Old Town (walkable) and that is a great place to spend a day.

All told, I would definitely stay there again on my next trip.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fkanner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albuquerque hotels
Albuquerque Original Townsite
Hotel Andaluz
Hotel Andaluz
#8 of 144 in Albuquerque
1,359 reviews
Huning Highland Historic District
Hotel Parq Central
Hotel Parq Central
#3 of 144 in Albuquerque
1,634 reviews
West Old Town
Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Econo Lodge Old Town
#11 of 144 in Albuquerque
730 reviews
Hyatt Regency Albuquerque
#29 of 144 in Albuquerque
1,185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town

Property: Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town
Address: 800 Rio Grande Blvd NW, Albuquerque, NM 87104-2007 (Formerly Sheraton Old Town Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Albuquerque
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Albuquerque
#7 Family Hotel in Albuquerque
#7 Business Hotel in Albuquerque
#14 Romantic Hotel in Albuquerque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town 3.5*
Number of rooms: 188
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Albuquerque offers New Mexican hospitality in with Albuquerque sophistication. Adorned with a historic touch of contemporary furnishings inside its territorial-style exterior, the hotel is a one-of-a-kind experience. Comfort is melded with New Mexican elegance in every one of the 188 guest rooms. The hotel offers restaurants, bars and social venues on the property to satisfy the hungry, the high-class, and the ultra-chic. As a landmark to the city, the hotel sits quaintly in the historic Old Town area, where guests can conveniently walk to several attractions, parks, museums, and shops. After one experience at the Hotel Albuquerque, you’ll feel like calling Albuquerque your home."Hotels supporting cultural causes." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotel.de, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
At Old Town Albuquerque
At Old Town Hotel Albuquerque
Hotel Albuquerque Old Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing