We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay in Albuquerque”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town
Ranked #9 of 144 Hotels in Albuquerque
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 18, 2013

This is our second stay at Hotel Albuquerque and we would continue to recommend it as a great place to stay, especially for travelers looking for a super local alternative - one with great local charm and with an excellent place to eat - to chain hotels. The room was comfortable, well-equipped and reasonable. We had breakfast in the Cafe Plazuela and found it to be a wonderful surprise for breakfast (the only meals we had there) - delicious food with fresh fruit, and lots of it per serving, with courteous, timely and professional service.

Room Tip: Get one high up with a view of the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BillandJudyS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Max M, Manager at Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2013

Thank you for staying with us again and we appreciate your review and recommendations. The local flavors in Cafe Plazuela are a favorite among travelers and locals alike. We are looking forward to your next trip to Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town and the opportunity to provide great service and wonderful meals once more. Max Mazzola

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,884)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,401 - 1,407 of 1,884 reviews

Reviewed January 15, 2013

My husband and I decided to stay here Christmas Eve. The desk clerk gave us a room upgrade as a "Christmas present." The morning of our departure, one employee chatted with me in the elevator on my way down to get a luggage cart. I had to walk across the long beautiful, stunning lobby to retrieve it. When I returned, I saw that he had been holding the elevator open for me so that I would not have to wait. Every staff member went out of their way to be friendly and helpful. The grounds and pool are lovely. The bed was extremely comfortable. The location is great for walking around historic Old Town. I highly recommend!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kirste P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HHandR, Manager at Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2013

Thank you for sharing your Christmas experience with us and others. Our pool and outdoor spaces are lovely and we are pleased you had a chance to enjoy them. The hotel prides itself on having a dedicated and friendly staff to ensure our guests are welcomed and accommodated. The short distance to Old Town makes it a perfect walk filled with entertainment and history. We are looking forward to your next trip to Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town. Max Mazzola

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2013

My husband and I bought a living social deal for this hotel because we had been looking to visit new mexico for a fun weekend trip. The hotel is nice and had some neat New Mexican decor. Great location-only a block from the old town shops and restaurants. Only a few blocks to the nearest bus stop which was helpful for getting around town since we didn't have a car for the trip. The restaurant food was yummy. We didn't check out the club, but we did see several people going in so it must have been a good time.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brittany C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Max M, Manager at Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2013

We appreciate your review and are happy to hear you enjoyed the food in our restaurant, and our Old Town location. Qbar is a local favorite so perhaps next time! There is always lots to do in Albuquerque and we look forward to welcoming you back for another fun get away. Max Mazzola

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2013

Beautiful from the moment we walked in. New Mexico charm in every detail. Our room was on a higher floor with a gorgeous view from our balcony. The room itself was decorated with wonderful rustic furniture, yet still plush and comfortable. We took advantage of the large pool area which was very clean, plenty of towels, had piped in music and thick comfy cushions on all of the loungers. Ate at the Cafe Plazuela at the hotel and enjoyed the frosty margaritas and warm, home made chips and award winning salsa. Qbar had fun latin themed music and a rowdy crowd. So close to Old Town and other attractions, never took the car out while we were there. It was great for a romantic weekend, but I can see that it would be great for families with museums, shopping and the zoo so close by.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsSKT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HHandR, Manager at Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. Our guests experience is our priority here at Hotel Albuquerque and we are so glad that you enjoyed your room, the pool, restaurant and our 'local favorite' Qbar. We appreciate you being our guest and will continue to do our very best to make each trip to New Mexico a very special one.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2013

We had a very good two day stay. Front desk was very good and very helpful. We stayed in a mini-suite and it was definitely worth the upgrade ($122) great room great views and very spacious. Great location in Old Town....excellent food in restaurant and the Q-bar was a blast-great band..music and great friendly people and the happy hour specials were also good. Only two recommendations: Upgrade to HDTV's in rooms and bars and get the carpet in the halls stretched!! Other than that we enjoyed our stay and would come again!!

Room Tip: Select a mini-suite and ask for a HDTV higher up for views....Front desk had very good advice....Sea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BillyRR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon L, Manager at Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2013

We are glad you enjoyed your stay and were able to experience QBar. It is a fun club and draws an exuberant crowd. We appreciate the recommendations and will be replacing our TV's in the near future and plan to continue to make improvements where they are most needed. Thank you for the feedback, we look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

The Hotel Albuquerque offers an excellent experience each and every time. We hold our annual holiday dinner at the hotel and are always assured the best of everything. Service is exceptional and the food is superb. Management ensures everything is beyond expectations. Everything from the decor to the room temperature is set to provide us with the most enjoyable atmosphere. We leave 100% satisfied every year and will return again in 2013 for our 21st year in a row. Our go to guy at the Hotel Albuquerque, Herman Sanchez, has always taken great care of us (all these years!)! Additonally, I highly recommend the Hotel Albuquerque for all big functions, including weddings, wedding receptions, graduation receptions, seminars, etc. I've booked the hotel for many such events over the years - - to complete satisfaction each time, as have many of my friends and family. I opt to sleep at the hotel as well whenever I attend an event there. The beautiful, comfortable rooms round out the wonderful experience.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michele L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon L, Manager at Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2013

Thank you for the great review. We are glad that you return year after year and continue to have a great experience. Herman Sanchez is a great leader and really cares about our guests. He is sensitive to their needs and wants to make sure each event is perfect. We appreciate you being our guest and we will continue to do our best to make each event special.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

We liked the room and appreciated the free wifi and parking? The staff were friendly and courteous. The place felt very in tune with the city. It was easy to walk to Old Town. I recommend it, especially for families. The room was quiet and comfortable.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
Thank Lisa E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon L, Manager at Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2013

Thank you for staying with us. Hotel Albuquerque is near many attractions that are great for families. For example, the Rio Grande Zoo, Botanic Gardens and Aquarium and several museums. We hope you and your family will have another opportunity to stay with us again to visit these points of interest. I'm sure it will make your next stay even more enjoyable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albuquerque hotels
Hotel Chaco
#1 of 144 in Albuquerque
175 reviews
Huning Highland Historic District
Hotel Parq Central
Hotel Parq Central
#3 of 144 in Albuquerque
1,765 reviews
Albuquerque Original Townsite
Hotel Andaluz
Hotel Andaluz
#8 of 144 in Albuquerque
1,436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West Old Town
Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town

Address: 800 Rio Grande Blvd NW, Albuquerque, NM 87104-2007 (Formerly Sheraton Old Town Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Albuquerque
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Albuquerque
#5 Family Hotel in Albuquerque
#7 Business Hotel in Albuquerque
#14 Romantic Hotel in Albuquerque
Price Range: $133 - $222 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town 3.5*
Number of rooms: 188
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Albuquerque offers New Mexican hospitality in with Albuquerque sophistication. Adorned with a historic touch of contemporary furnishings inside its territorial-style exterior, the hotel is a one-of-a-kind experience. Comfort is melded with New Mexican elegance in every one of the 188 guest rooms. The hotel offers restaurants, bars and social venues on the property to satisfy the hungry, the high-class, and the ultra-chic. As a landmark to the city, the hotel sits quaintly in the historic Old Town area, where guests can conveniently walk to several attractions, parks, museums, and shops. After one experience at the Hotel Albuquerque, you’ll feel like calling Albuquerque your home."Hotels supporting cultural causes." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
At Old Town Albuquerque
At Old Town Hotel Albuquerque
Hotel Albuquerque Old Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing