We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great service great time”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town
Ranked #9 of 144 Hotels in Albuquerque
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 2, 2013

we stayed three nights at the hotel, and it was a great experience. The view from our hotel room was out of this world. Hot air balloons flew by our window almost every morning....the light at night. The room was excellent, and the service was excellent. We will be back to this hotel in the coming months.

Room Tip: love the rooms on the side where youi see the mountains, and the city
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melvin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon L, Manager at Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2013

Thank you for staying with us and giving a great review of Hotel Albuquerque. We look forward to your return visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,876)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,407 - 1,413 of 1,876 reviews

Reviewed December 28, 2012

On a positive note , the hotel is beautiful, very southwestern and and has been upgraded . The location is convenient and close to Old Town, The Staff was fantastic, very friendly and helpful. The rooms were clean with a great view of the city. (However, not all rooms have refrigerators or microwaves)

On a negative note, there was no breakfast included with the room,( no continental breakfast,) and there was not even complimentary coffee , snacks or other drinks offered in the lobby for guests. (many upgraded hotels have fresh fruits ,coffee , cocoa , cookies and other snacks available around the clock for guests, even best westerns at a lower price) . No drink vouchers were offered, even holiday inns offer these.

The restaurant was nice, staff were very friendly and personable , the food was good but pricey .

Overall I would have to say it is the staff that makes this hotel worthwhile, and our stay enjoyable. otherwise I would advise an Embassy Suites or similar hotel that includes breakfast .

Room Tip: Make sure you request an upper floor with a refrigerator. Microwaves would be nice but may not be av...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Craig206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon L, Manager at Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town, responded to this reviewResponded December 29, 2012

We appreciate you completing a review and sharing your experience. I'm glad to hear the positive feedback on our staff. We have a great team who enjoy working at Hotel Albuquerque and make a difference in our guest experience. It is a nice touch to provide complimentary items to our guests. We do that often by providing coffee and cookies in our lobby. I'm sorry it was not present during your stay. We also have packages available that include breakfast. We hope you stay with us again, I know our staff will go out of their way to make your next stay perfect.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2012

We stayed here one night before flying out of Albuquerque after a trip to Santa Fe. Check in was fast and easy (although came back to bite us later). The room was average. Problems with room: 1) dark long hair was stuck all over the inside of the shower curtain; 2) drain was slow and you stood in water while showering; 3) shower release didn't work so most of the shower water still came out of spout; 4) bedside lamp did not work; 5) TV was old and you had to prop the doors open on the TV cabinet to watch it; 6) beds were very old and had no support.

But the real issue was customer service. We wanted to get some iced tea or juice and there was no where to get any (the little gift shop was closed because it was Christmas). We asked a waitress at the restaurant/bar and she told us we would have to sit in the bar to get anything. We did not want to sit at the bar and asked where we could get something or if there were vending machines. She said no, only the bar. We left the property and wandered around the area (on Christmas) in our rental car until finding an open store. We later saw in guest information that there were vending machines near the bar area, but we never saw them and the girl either didn't know or want to tell us.

We ordered room service for dinner and nearly an hour later called down again asking were our food was. The girl on the phone apologized and said it was on the way. 20 minutes later it arrived. It as delicious and they comped the meal because of the delay.

The next morning when we went to check out the man at the desk could not find our reservation and seemed confused when I asked to pay for the night in cash. Still it went okay and off we went. Later that day I received several e-mails from the hotel saying 1) our reservations had been changed; 2) we were no-shows and subject to a cancellatiion fee. HUH?

As soon as I arrived home I called the hotel and was told there was some confusion and that the manager had been working on it. No kidding! It seems the man who checked us in did something wrong. Our reservations got changed to 2 nights instead of just the one and we were noted as no-shows, which triggered the cancellation fee. The man I spoke to on the phone at first claimed I must have done something wrong when I made the reservation online. I remembered clearly making the reservation on the phone. Also I checked our original reservation receipt and it was for only 1 night, not two, and told him so. Then and only then did he admit to the error being done on their end at check-in. It seems we're okay now, but I'm watching to make sure the charge on my credit card disappears in the next few days.

We stayed at a sister property in Santa Fe and while the hotel was much nicer, guest services were horrible. This company needs to retrain their people!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon L, Manager at Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town, responded to this reviewResponded December 29, 2012

Thank you for your review. I apologize about the issues in the room. We have corrected all areas and will also be replacing the TV's in the near future. Customer service is important to us and we will continue to work with our staff to make them more knowledgeable, helpful, and courteous to our guests. Thank you for sharing your experience, we appreciate the feedback and will use it for training purposes. We hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2012

We travel to ABQ all the time but this was our first stay at this hotel. From the front desk checkin to checkout this was a great experience! Staff was attentive and helpful. The common areas were beautiful and well kept. Hotel has the ambiance of Old Town ABQ. Our room was awesome! Corner room on 9th floor had million dollar views of Sandia Peak and 180 degrees. Beautiful! Lovely SW furnishings and lots of room in Jr. Suite. A great amount of service and ambiance for a really fair price! Restaurant was excellent for breakfast and afternoon drinks. Did not have dinner here but am sure it would be done well. We will definitely return to this lovely and efficient hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for any rooms on floors 9-12. 918 was awesome! Quiet with amazing views of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bev T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon L, Manager at Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town, responded to this reviewResponded December 29, 2012

We're glad you chose to stay with us and that you had a great experience. Hotel Albuquerque is a truly unique property that embodies the culture and history of our local community as you saw in our guest rooms and common areas. We support our culture by providing a portion of the hotels room revenue to help with the construction of an alter in the Gaspari Chapel at San Felipe de Neri Church in Old Town. By staying with us, you have helped to support this cause. Thank you for the great review. We hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to Albuquerque.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2012 via mobile

Classy hotel with several good restaurants and bars on premises, short walk to all the sights and charms of old town Albuquerque. Get your shopping done here: stuff costs less than at
Santa Fe. Albuquerque also houses the National Museum of Nuclear Science and Pueblo Indian Cultural Center, both of which are a short drive from the hotel. Great place for a base camp in Albuquerque.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank APalan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon L, Manager at Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town, responded to this reviewResponded December 29, 2012

Thank you for your review. Our location is a great advantage in Old Town and a short distance to several museums and other local attractions. Thanks for staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2012

So enjoyed this hotel. Felt there was much pride by all who work here. Max was lovely at check in and I so appreciated the short walk to Old Town. Walking into Painted Sky in Old Town was a special treat. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SFBATraveler2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon L, Manager at Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town, responded to this reviewResponded December 29, 2012

Thank you for staying with us, we would enjoy having you back as our guest.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2012

I was there on a discount coupon with specials. One of the specials was "receive a bottle of New Mexico wine with each nights stay". We received a Mondavi white zinfandel and when we tried to exchange the bottles, around in circles they sent us. Later finding out it was reservation who was to get the wine to us.Very disappointing since I was excited to try the New Mexico wine. The room was spacious with great views of the city. They had Starbuck in the room!!! Coffee with some flavor, but not enough sugar and cream to go with it. Something caught my eye on the floor, I wish it had not. Instantly grossed out. Along the floor board it looked like it had never been vacuumed. The underside of the toilet was gross and never looked like it had been wiped down. I had found a pubic hair on the sheets and a longer black hair, I am blond, in the folded towels.The water in the shower took forever to get warm and by the time the water was warm, the bath tub had six inches of water in it. Very slow drainage in the tub. Also, there was construction going on and could be heard until 8pm. Went into the bar for Happy Hour, the bartender was the most unattentive bartender I have ever seen. I could have run circle around him to get people served, as well as the waitress. People had ordered food and ended up pulling it off the counter where it was waiting to be picked up by the waitress. The only good thing was the happy hour had great pricing and great food, service SUCKED. Breakfast was wonderful and so was our server. The hotel was located close to the freeway, but far enough away to not hear it and close to Old Town ABQ. I bring tours to town and thought this would be a great place to bring a group, will really have to think twice...

Room Tip: The rooms on the southside of the building are good and come with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Netthejet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon L, Manager at Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town, responded to this reviewResponded December 29, 2012

We appreciate you completing a review to let us know how your stay was. I apologize that we did not have the New Mexico wine available upon your arrival. We certainly want our guests to experience a part of New Mexico the package has to offer. We are concerned about the issues you encountered and are addressing each item.
The construction you mentioned is minor vinyl replacement in our hallways as we continue to make improvements. I apologize that this was disruptive, it is our intent to complete work on unoccupied floors and during midday hours so our guests are not inconvenienced. I will personally look into this matter.
We are glad you enjoyed parts of your stay and appreciate you sharing them, such as the food and view from your room. We hold high standards when it comes to customer service so it is disappointing to hear that we did not meet those standards in our bar.
Thank you for providing feedback, we want to hear what we are doing right and what we need to improve on so we appreciate all the reviews we get as it only makes us a better hotel for our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albuquerque hotels
Hotel Chaco
#1 of 144 in Albuquerque
172 reviews
Huning Highland Historic District
Hotel Parq Central
Hotel Parq Central
#3 of 144 in Albuquerque
1,765 reviews
Albuquerque Original Townsite
Hotel Andaluz
Hotel Andaluz
#8 of 144 in Albuquerque
1,435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West Old Town
Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town

Address: 800 Rio Grande Blvd NW, Albuquerque, NM 87104-2007 (Formerly Sheraton Old Town Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Albuquerque
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Albuquerque
#5 Family Hotel in Albuquerque
#7 Business Hotel in Albuquerque
#14 Romantic Hotel in Albuquerque
Price Range: $130 - $215 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town 3.5*
Number of rooms: 188
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Albuquerque offers New Mexican hospitality in with Albuquerque sophistication. Adorned with a historic touch of contemporary furnishings inside its territorial-style exterior, the hotel is a one-of-a-kind experience. Comfort is melded with New Mexican elegance in every one of the 188 guest rooms. The hotel offers restaurants, bars and social venues on the property to satisfy the hungry, the high-class, and the ultra-chic. As a landmark to the city, the hotel sits quaintly in the historic Old Town area, where guests can conveniently walk to several attractions, parks, museums, and shops. After one experience at the Hotel Albuquerque, you’ll feel like calling Albuquerque your home."Hotels supporting cultural causes." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
At Old Town Albuquerque
At Old Town Hotel Albuquerque
Hotel Albuquerque Old Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing