We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shabby Room, not worth the price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town
Ranked #9 of 144 Hotels in Albuquerque
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 12, 2012

The outside of the hotel is alluring, but don't be fooled...the rooms are outdated and not sure anything matched when it was original...carpet stained, paint peeling...we were overcharged on the room service tab and on the restaurant tab...next morning there was NO hot water...front desk said to let it run for ten minutes but we let it run for 30 before it was tepid...all this while reviewing the "save water/the environment" by reusing your towels...

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ElBee E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon L, Manager at Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review. Hotel Albuquerque is very alluring and unique in its architecture and interior design. Our rooms are routinely inspected for any flaws so the carpet stains and peeling paint will be addressed immediately. Our Director of Facilities was aware of the hot water issue and worked quickly to fix the problem. I am sorry for any inconvenience this caused.. We always want to ensure that our guests have a great stay, so we appreciate you sharing your experience with us. I would be happy to discuss any billing concerns you may have. We never want our guests to feel that they are overcharged for services they didn't get. We hope you stay with us again. I'm sure your next stay will be better.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,864)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,431 - 1,437 of 1,864 reviews

Reviewed November 10, 2012

Right on the edge of "Old Town" Albuquerque, old style charm. Reminded me of Santa Fe. Hotel was very clean, comfortable, and decorated in old New Mexico style. Staff was friendly, helpful, and knowledgable about area attractions and shopping. Free parking was a nice bonus.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank soccermom1261
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon L, Manager at Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2012

Thank you for being our guest, we appreciate your kind review and are glad to hear that our staff was helpful in locating area attractions for you. One of the benefits in staying with us is that we provide plenty of free parking to all our guests. We hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to Albuquerque.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2012

NEVER stay at this hotel on a weekend night!
I ended up parking at a restaurant about a half mile away from the lobby. The temperature was freezing and I walked with luggage that far. No bellman, no door guy.
The front desk clerk explained that he "had a lot of functions" with the tone as if I had no right to say anything at all.
The room had NO detail--simply flat walls and a mirror on the third floor.
Wow.

Room Tip: Don't stay there. You can drive to the Old Town!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank evantorch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon L, Manager at Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2012

Thank you for completing a review. Hotel Albuquerque sits on a large lot in Old Town and although we have plenty of free parking to accommodate all our guests, some parking may seem a little farther than others. We apologize for any inconvenience this caused. We never want our guests to be inconvenienced and will work on ideas on how to prevent this in the future. We appreciate the feedback and hope you visit us again, I'm sure you will find your next stay to be extremely accommodating as our staff will ensure this.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2012

We have been to Hotel Albuquerque a number of times and really love this place for a number of reasons. If you want a taste of the real New Mexico and get a feel of the culture this is it! If you want real Mexican food in an very nice ambiance this is it! If you want rooms decorated with furniture and textiles showing the culture this is it! If you want to be 2 minutes from the old town with arts and crafts and charming environment this is it!
And do not forget to have a wonderful breakfast served by a very nice staff!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Helle33388
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon L, Manager at Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2012

Thank you for sharing your experience at Hotel Albuquerque with others. Local culture is important to us and it is our goal to provide every guest a rich authentic experience. We are glad to hear that you got a taste of New Mexico culture in the food and interior design. Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to you return visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2012

My first inclination is to rate this hotel as not a good choice for business travelers. As I think more about it, it’s hard to recommend this hotel for any traveler.

This hotel is a former Sheraton hotel, and it’s easy to see that it didn’t live up to Sheraton standards. Among the drawbacks: In my smallish- guestroom, the in-room refrigerator has been removed, leaving a gaping space in the armoire. In the same armoire is an ancient-style 30” or so tube TV, with of course no HD channels. There are no – 0 – outlets near the desk, which forced me to take the extension cord from my night stand, move the armoire out to plug it in, in order to plug in my computer. The “high speed” internet scored a lowly D+ rating on the speedtest.com speed test – maddeningly slow. I then had to move the desk again in order to open the armoire door all the way, in order to watch the ancient TV while working at the desk.

There was only one drinking glass in my room, although the in-room Starbucks coffee was a nice touch. The A/C worked fine and was quiet. The hair dryer in the bathroom was so caked with lint that it barely blew, and the shower head sprayed water outside the curtain no matter how I positioned it.

The restaurant food was good but again, a maddening detail – there’s only one modern flat screen TV in the entire bar area (the rest are poor-picture tube TVs), so catching my football game in the bar was an exercise in futility!

Service? Great in the restaurant, not so good in the hotel. At check-in I was greeted by a young man at the front desk, who was able to mutter “checking in?” “Credit card and picture ID?” “Your room is on the 10th floor.” Period. I guess hospitality training is not a requirement of the front desk staff here, although the lady working 11-7 each night was very pleasant and helpful. No newspaper delivered to the room, or option to request it.

It just seems that this hotel needs a good dose of guestroom modernization, and management attention to their guestrooms. Until it improves, I’ll be staying somewhere else.

Tip: the restaurants located near the hotel are not as good as the restaurants in the hotel. Starbucks is three blocks away – out the front of the hotel, to the right – an easy walk.

Room Tip: request a high floor, on the side of the hotel that has balconies
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Louis59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

This hotel is a very grand historic hotel, located a short walk to Old Town. The staff were amazingly polite and accommodating, catering to our every need. There is a beautiful courtyard which is a perfect place to relax in the sun, or a pool deck for lounging poolside. Beautiful view of the city or mountains too!

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ZipDr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon L, Manager at Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2012

Thank you for your review, we appreciate the great comments and hope to see you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

I stayed at Hotel Albuquerque for 4 nights recently while attending a dance (tango) festival and workshop weekend. The hotel more than lived up to my expectation. It's location in Old Town is near several galleries, boutique shops, restaurants, and two major museums. It is also within walking distance (1/2 mile) to the Rio Grande River where there are loads of walking and biking paths.

But the hotel room is the important topic here. The room was attractive, clean and nicely appointed. We especially liked the dramatic vies (even from the 3rd floor) and small balcony typical of most rooms; very sweet. The staff was especially friendly--and that includes everyone right down to the housekeeping staff. Although not featured in the literature, the courtyard with its covered arcade table seating, arbor, and lawn surrounded by rosemary and jasmine shrubs, was a wonderful retreat with a glass of wine after attending workshops all afternoon. I highly recommend this hotel.

The Hotel Albuquerque has two bars. The dressy Q-Bar is an attractive, adult lounge which attracts hip locals to dj'd dance parties on the weekends. A more casual, cozy bar is located in the restaurant and stocks a small, but worthy, wine menu.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DONALD R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon L, Manager at Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2012

We appreciate you taking the time to complete a review. Our location is great and gives our guests a variety of attractions to visit, all within walking distance. Old Town Plaza is the best and holds alot of history with it's unique shops and the oldest building in the city. The San Felipe de Neri Church which Hotel Albuquerque is currently helping to support the construction of an alter in the chapel by donating a portion of room revenue. Thank you for stayng with us and helping to support this cultural cause.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albuquerque hotels
Hotel Chaco
#1 of 144 in Albuquerque
158 reviews
Huning Highland Historic District
Hotel Parq Central
Hotel Parq Central
#3 of 144 in Albuquerque
1,750 reviews
Albuquerque Original Townsite
Hotel Andaluz
Hotel Andaluz
#8 of 144 in Albuquerque
1,432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West Old Town
Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town

Address: 800 Rio Grande Blvd NW, Albuquerque, NM 87104-2007 (Formerly Sheraton Old Town Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Albuquerque
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Albuquerque
#5 Family Hotel in Albuquerque
#7 Business Hotel in Albuquerque
#14 Romantic Hotel in Albuquerque
Price Range: $119 - $201 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town 3.5*
Number of rooms: 188
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Albuquerque offers New Mexican hospitality in with Albuquerque sophistication. Adorned with a historic touch of contemporary furnishings inside its territorial-style exterior, the hotel is a one-of-a-kind experience. Comfort is melded with New Mexican elegance in every one of the 188 guest rooms. The hotel offers restaurants, bars and social venues on the property to satisfy the hungry, the high-class, and the ultra-chic. As a landmark to the city, the hotel sits quaintly in the historic Old Town area, where guests can conveniently walk to several attractions, parks, museums, and shops. After one experience at the Hotel Albuquerque, you’ll feel like calling Albuquerque your home."Hotels supporting cultural causes." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
At Old Town Albuquerque
At Old Town Hotel Albuquerque
Hotel Albuquerque Old Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing