We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Came for a wedding, stayed for the food.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town
Ranked #10 of 144 Hotels in Albuquerque
Certificate of Excellence
Beaver Creek, Colorado
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Came for a wedding, stayed for the food.”
Reviewed March 30, 2012

We drove to Albuquerque for a friend's wedding, stayed 3 nights, and drove home. Hotel Albuquerque was a very pleasant place to stay, and we had no complaints. The room was clean, service was very good. We enjoyed eating breakfast at the hotel cafe. My wife used the workout room, however the pool was closed I think because March is off-season, despite the warm temperatures and good weather.

Potential room for improvement? The tube-TV should be replaced with a new flat-screen, the rooms could use a guest valuables safe, and the business/computer center could be a little closer to the rooms and front desk, rather than way off in the convention hall.

Also, Casa Esencia was a very neat little villa for a wedding reception. Very stylish and comfortable, but the hotel should have supplied more bartenders to shorten the line for drinks.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oyp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon L, Manager at Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town, responded to this review, April 3, 2012
That is great that you were able to experience Casa Esencia. This hacienda is a historic venue where we host many special events. Wedding receptions are always special and we want to ensure that everything is perfect so I do apologize about having to wait for beverages. We appreciate your positive comments and the feedback on how we can improve and we are working to replace our TV's. We have safety deposit boxes located at the front desk but i understand the convenience of having them located in the guest rooms.
I'm sorry our pool was not open during your stay. We will be opening it soon so by the time you plan your next visit, you'll be able to enjoy a relaxing swim in this great New Mexico weather. We look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,671 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    873
    506
    171
    68
    53
See reviews for
293
495
108
500
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (494)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Honolulu
Level Contributor
149 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2012

Hotel in good location; staff friendly. However this is not a 4 or 5 star; maybe a 3.5 star hotel. Had to ask for Kleenex tissue, frig in room, extra tea and extra towels. Restaurant had good food and cold beer so this was good. Weekend was very busy with weddings and convention and meeting groups so it was noisy. A/C did not work well and was very noisy. Opened window in evenings and heard music outside at 2 a.m. until about 4 a.m. all 4 nights we stayed. That said if you get a good rate this is fine.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlohaHonolulu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon L, Manager at Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town, responded to this review, March 31, 2012
Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback you provided and will work to correct the concerns you mentioned. I apologize about the noise. Our security staff is constantly walking the entire property to ensure noise is not a problem. We are also servicing all the air conditioner units so that we are ready for the warm temperatures. Thank you for acknowledging our staff, I hope they took care of your requests immediately and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vega, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2012

We stayed 2 nights this past week here and we thoroughly enjoyed it. The beds were so comfortable, the staff so friendly and helpful. We ate at the Cafe Plazuela the first night we were there and the food was very good. The location was great - right near Old Town and the BioPark is within easy walking distance - about 2 miles to the Aquarium and Botanic Garden. There's a train there to take back and forth to the zoo. Several museums are nearby as well. We are definitely looking forward to staying again!

Room Tip: Ask for a room above the 2nd floor in order to get a balcony. We did and saw balloons floating past...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Denise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon L, Manager at Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town, responded to this review, March 28, 2012
We are happy that you enjoyed your stay, thank you for sharing with others. There are many things to do within walking distance of Old Town, guests find that a huge benefit when they stay with us. There are also many restaurants to choose from that surround us so thank you for choosing Cafe Plazuela. The fajitas are the best, they send an aroma through the lobby that gets the taste buds going. We hope you were able to try them, if not, make it a point on your next visit. We look forward to you staying with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bathurst, Australia
Level Contributor
433 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2012

We stayed for two nights at the Hotel Albuquerque in March 2012. The location of the hotel was very handy to Old Town but also to the freeways which made getting to other attractions and locations very easy. The staff were all very friendly and the bed we had was one of the most comfortable beds we have ever slept in. We had dinner and breakfasts in the cafe and everything was good. We would recommend this hotel to others.

Room Tip: A room on one of the high floors offers a great view of the city,
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SalandBrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon L, Manager at Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town, responded to this review, March 24, 2012
Thank you for your recommendation to others. Hotel Albuquerque is in a unique location in the heart of Old Town. While staying with us guests have easy access to several attractions including Museums, two Cultural Centers, an Aquarium, Botanic Gardens and the Rio Grande Zoo to name a few. There are also several restaurants within walking distance so we thank you for choosing to dine in our Cafe Plazuela.
We hope others will take your recommendation to stay with us, our staff is ready to do all they can to exceed their expectations and we look forward to your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2012

The customer service always excels at Hotel Albuquerque; however my last experience will ensure that I keep returning. I have stayed here on two different occasions in the past; imagine my surprise when the front desk person recognized me and welcomed me by name as I approached the counter on my third visit. In a time when the majority of our transactions are done over-the-phone or through email, it is always a pleasant surprise to have someone recognize your face and show that they appreciate your business.

I could speak to their great location near Old Town Albuquerque, museums, restaurants/bars, close proximity to freeway access, the spacious/clean rooms, views of the Sandias, or the comfortable beds, however the customer service will always make this hotel my favorite place to stay in Albuquerque.

Room Tip: Request a room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lt g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon L, Manager at Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town, responded to this review, March 24, 2012
Thank you for your reveiw. It is great to hear that our staff welcomed and recognized you as a frequent guest. We value your business. Customer service is very important to us and we are committed to providing the most ultimate service to all our guests. We want you to be completely satisfied throughout your stay. Thanks again and we'll see you on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
159 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2012

Recently had a family wedding here. The wedding venue, Casa Essencia, is perfect for a small group (under 100 or so). The staff were great--doing everthing they could to make things work and accommodate our needs. The food was quite good. Rooms were comfortable and clean. The onsite night club was crowded and noisy, and even the younger members of our group did not go there. But, the location is great. It is adjacent to Albuquerque's Old Town, which has shops, museums, restaurants, and bars. It is also close to the zoo, aquarium, and botanical garden, and is just a short walk from some great Route 66 sites. This is a very popular location for weddings, conventions, and other events.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grizz9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon L, Manager at Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town, responded to this review, March 21, 2012
We appreciate you taking the time to write a review. We do host many events at Hotel Albuquerque and Casa Escencia is a great venue if you are looking to have a more intimate experience. Thank you for mentioning our staff, we take great pride in working here and it reflects in the service we provide to our guests.
Our location in Old Town is ideal for many travelers. We are within walking distance to many sights that are full of history. I hope you were able to take advantage of it all, if not, please come back and see us again, there is plenty to see and we will ensure that you have the utmost experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level Contributor
132 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2012

The title just about sums it up. We really weren't expecting much for a one-night stay before our flight home, after time in a super place in Santa Fe, especially from a hotel designed as a convention center. But we were pleasantly surprised. With a good king-sized bed, a view of the Sandia, and easy walk to Old Town, the Hotel Albuquerque certainly met our needs. And we loved the Aveda shampoo, soap, etc. We were a bit concerned, after reading other reviews, that it might be noisy, especially as we were there the first night of March Madness, but we had no noise problems at all. Our only problem: the hi-speed internet was VERY slow, at all hours. I probably wouldn't book a lengthy stay, but it certainly met out needs.

Room Tip: Ask for one facing the mountains. The sunrise is spectacular.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jsinmn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon L, Manager at Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town, responded to this review, March 21, 2012
Thank you for your review. I do apologize for the slow internet service. We appreciate your comments and will work to correct this. No noise problems is good to hear. We have taken previous reviews regarding this very serious therefore making improvements to eliminate this problem. It is good to hear that our efforts are working.
Old Town and a view of the Sandia mountains certainly adds to a great stay at Hotel Albuquerque. We are pleased to hear that we met your needs and hope you will be our guest again when your travels bring you back this way.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albuquerque hotels
Huning Highland Historic District
Hotel Parq Central
Hotel Parq Central
#3 of 144 in Albuquerque
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,617 reviews
Albuquerque Original Townsite
Hotel Andaluz
Hotel Andaluz
#8 of 144 in Albuquerque
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,345 reviews
West Old Town
Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Econo Lodge Old Town
#11 of 144 in Albuquerque
4.5 of 5 bubbles 728 reviews
Nativo Lodge Albuquerque
#37 of 144 in Albuquerque
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,003 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town

Property: Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town
Address: 800 Rio Grande Blvd NW, Albuquerque, NM 87104-2007 (Formerly Sheraton Old Town Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Albuquerque
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Albuquerque
#7 Family Hotel in Albuquerque
#7 Business Hotel in Albuquerque
#14 Romantic Hotel in Albuquerque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town 3.5*
Number of rooms: 188
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Albuquerque offers New Mexican hospitality in with Albuquerque sophistication. Adorned with a historic touch of contemporary furnishings inside its territorial-style exterior, the hotel is a one-of-a-kind experience. Comfort is melded with New Mexican elegance in every one of the 188 guest rooms. The hotel offers restaurants, bars and social venues on the property to satisfy the hungry, the high-class, and the ultra-chic. As a landmark to the city, the hotel sits quaintly in the historic Old Town area, where guests can conveniently walk to several attractions, parks, museums, and shops. After one experience at the Hotel Albuquerque, you’ll feel like calling Albuquerque your home."Hotels supporting cultural causes." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
At Old Town Albuquerque
At Old Town Hotel Albuquerque
Hotel Albuquerque Old Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing