We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Howard Johnson Albuquerque Midtown
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Crossroads Motel(Albuquerque)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Econo Lodge Downtown(Albuquerque)
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Average 3/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Parq Central(Albuquerque)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
    View Hotel
    Average 3/5
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    View Hotel
    Very Good 4/5
    • Free Wifi
    • Pool
    Hotel Andaluz(Albuquerque)
    View Hotel
    Great 4.5/5
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Restaurant
    View Hotel
    Great 4.5/5
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    Reviews (979)
    Filter reviews
    979 results
    Traveler rating
    194
    259
    218
    159
    149
    Traveler type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    194
    259
    218
    159
    149
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviewsbreakfast ladyroom was cleanbiscuits and gravyshuttle servicehojouniversity
    FilterAll languages
    Updating list...
    935 - 940 of 979 reviews
    Reviewed May 19, 2007

    I booked the Plaza Inn for a 3-day stay through Priceline for $55. Since I was blind to where I was staying I had no idea what this place was like ahead of time. Here's a summary of my experience:

    (+) For the most part our room was clean
    (+) Came with a small refrigerator & microwave
    (+) Hotel staff was generally pleasant. They tried to do their jobs well, given the overall limitations of the place.
    (+) Balcony. Not much to look at but it was a good place to hang clothes to dry and it was nice option to get fresh air into the room.
    (+) Location, near the intersection of 25 & 40 was convenient, although it was a noisier place for those light sleepers.
    (+) A/C worked acceptably.
    (+) Internet worked fine.

    Did not use the pool facilities, although it appeared to be reasonably well maintained.

    Beakfast buffet options were limited. Had a waffle maker which appeared to be the best thing there. Did not really partake. Also put out cookies at night, although they were el cheapo brand.

    (-) Everything was beat to hell. Carpeting, furniture, towels were thread bare, the two ice machines I was directed to were non-functioning and the toilet handle chain kept on coming off. This hotel is in a desperate need of a major renovation. I mean major.
    (-) Room was dinky.

    Summary: For 55 bucks I got what I paid for. In spite of its dingy condition, my room was clean which is the base requirement I have and it had a couple of nice features (refrigerator, free internet). For my next stay in Albuquerque I would look for another hotel. Given the overall condition and the lack of investment in keeping the place well-maintained the potential for a really bad experience there is real.

    • Stayed: May 2007, traveled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Check in / front desk
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
      • Business service (e.g., internet access)
    2  Thank Darius K
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed May 18, 2007

    This hotel is the worst I've ever stayed at. The elevators are awful; the one near to the pool goes to the basement every time you want to go up, and the other one will go to the highest floor even if it is the farthest away. There are stains in the room all over the walls and furniture. From our mandatory trip to the basement using elevator number one, we discovered rotting food that stayed there for at least three days. During our first night we discovered a cockroach in the sink that was about 4 inches long. The lightbulb in the lamp above my bed was missing; and the fire alarm was disabled and the room smelled like marijuana smoke. It took 3 hours and 4 phone calls to receive a much needed plunger. If you are staying at this hotel because of the continental breakfast, don't bother. The breakfast consists of a juice machine, a waffle iron, and fruit loops. The phones were out of service about half the time when I needed it, and the high speed internet is barely faster than dial up. Once during our stay, the room locks on floor 3 all reset, so we had to reset the keys. Also the doors to the rooms rarely lock when you leave. Every area of the hotel has a different odor; none are pleasant. However, the complimentary popcorn was appreciated. The vending machines also do not accept dollar bills. The maids do not speak english, so good luck if you need to communicate with them (which you will, as rooms are infrequently cleaned and poorly cleaned when they are). The hotel is in a terrible location right off the highway. The balcony in our room has a rickity banister, so don't lean on it too much. The balcony does have a good view however, as you can look upon the highway (and associated beggars), and a outdoor hot tub half full of brown slime.
    The attached restaurant, JB's, is awful. Our waiter left midway through the meal, took a smoke, then left for good. I finally recieved my meal an hour after the rest of the party, after notifying the kitchen. The other orders were mostly incorrect.
    In summary, if you overlook the poor cleanliness, awful location, terrible service, and generally want a completely miserable stay, the Plaza Inn in Albuquerque is right for you.

    • Stayed: May 2007
      • Value
      • Location
      • Check in / front desk
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
      • Business service (e.g., internet access)
    5  Thank thekidder
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed May 2, 2007

    This hotel was recommended to me since the Embassy Suites, across the highway, was booked. WHAT A NIGHTMARE. The Embassy Suites, where my conference was located, seemed like the Ritz Carlton compared to this joint. The $99 / night I paid should have been more like $49 / night. The sliding glass door barely locked, my "non-smoking" room smelled like an ashtray, the joint was run by people under the age of 25, and I even found a DVD case for a XXX movie in my BED. NO JOKE. The crib they gave me for my child was unsafe w/ missing screws. The best part about staying here was leaving.

    • Stayed: April 2007, traveled on business
      • Value
      • Location
      • Check in / front desk
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
      • Business service (e.g., internet access)
    5  Thank suzieQOHIO
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed April 2, 2007

    I'm in the hotel right now....the internet works great now by the way. My company books my travel with a blessing by me....I looked on the website....it looked great....but it's not. It is a 1 or 2 star hotel right on the interstate and is very old. I had to get someone to come reclean the toilet because there were pee stains still on the bowl. I can't open my balcony door, the shower curtain is stained, the carpet is stained, and I have nail polish on my bedside table. The room doesn't stink....that is a plus. Also, I have hot and cold water, which is valuable considering I was at a WYNDHAM last week that had no cold water at night and no hot in the morning. Counting my blessings. The bar isn'treally in the hotel, you have to walk around the pool that is still under renovation to get to it. Luckily, the bartender is great, and there are many locals there that are nice. The road noise is awful from my room and I am on the 5th floor. To upgrade me to a room that is WORTH the $95 I am paying would actually cost me $175 a night. I am too tired to fight this or leave to go to a better place so I am going to stick it out, but if you have a choice, don't stay here.

    • Stayed: April 2007, traveled on business
      • Value
      • Location
      • Check in / front desk
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
      • Business service (e.g., internet access)
    4  Thank R&RExpress
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    Reviewed March 20, 2007

    This hotel looked pretty good on Hotels.com, but I was unable to find any reviews by travelers on it. So, I booked it for 1 nite at $88 because that included continental breakfast and free airport shuttle. When we arrived, we asked the front desk clerk if the shuttle could take us to the airport around 5 am as we had a 6:30 flight. We were told that the shuttle did not start running until 6:30. OK!~Strike one. What about breakfast? Not served until after we would have left. Strike two. The ride in the elevator was a little scary- it made a loud vibrating noise. The hallways were hot and pretty dark . Our room was large, and had ample furniture. Carpet was fairly new and in good condition and the bathroom looked clean. However, the tissues and toilet paper were cheap and scratchy! The balcony overlooked noisy I-25 and the city lights of Albuquerque. The sliding glass door did not lock, which made me feel a little uneasy. TV was fine, and there were a mini fridge and microwave in the room. The bed was just ok; the sheets were thin and did not stay on the bed, and the pillows were old and lumpy. The parking lot did not feel very secure, and the hotel's entry doors were difficult to maneuver with suitcases in tow. Overall, hotel was more like a $59 experience, but with some simple upgrades like nicer linens, toiletries, better paper products, and grounds maintenance it could be a good value as at $88.

    • Stayed: March 2007, traveled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Check in / front desk
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    2  Thank rhinestonecowgirlSA
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
    View more reviews