We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only okay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Howard Johnson Albuquerque Midtown
Ranked #68 of 143 Hotels in Albuquerque
Reviewed May 29, 2013

15 years ago, this may have been a nice hotel, but not so much now! There were holes in the carpet, the pillows were flat and lumpy, the 'luxurious duvet covers' were basically a giant pillow case, and there wasn't a plug for the bath tub. Additionally, the breakfast was disgusting! The eggs were inedible, as was the gravy. Our second morning, they were out of several things, including jelly. I will not stay here again, no matter how cheap, and I will caution my friends and family against staying there.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Faeriemom03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (875)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

667 - 673 of 876 reviews

Reviewed May 27, 2013

Our stay at the Plaza Inn was great. The rooms were nice the beds were comfortable and being able to control the temperature in the room was awesome. The pool was nice it was warm and fun. Being able to stand out on the balcony and see the view especially the hot air balloons in the morning was excellent. I would recommend that anyone who is staying overnight in Albuquerque stay at the Plaza Inn. As well the people that work there are amazing as well and friendly and do everything they can to get you what you ask for if they are able. Thank You Plaza Inn staff for excellent service and a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Becca S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2013

I really wish I would have read the reviews before booking here. It was extremely filthy. It smelled extremely bad. The cheap price Isn't worth it. The Pictures online look like they were taken 15 years ago. There was a roach in the breakfast area. This is the most disgusting hotel that I have evee stayed in. Lesson learned you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank gmo40095024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PlazaInn, Director of Sales at Howard Johnson Albuquerque Midtown, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2013

If a guest has a bad stay, I try to investigate their report and communicate what I find - but in cases such as this - there is no information as to who the reviewer is so I will respond in general. It is summer in Albuquerque - and you will find bugs just about everywhere - but we have the hotel PROFESSIONALLY sprayed on a two weeks schedule - which is more than . My office is right next to the breakfast area and I have never seen or had a report of "roaches" in this area. I also do not understand the complaint of the "smells" . I walk the hotel daily and as with any place where there are many people - you will experience an occassion unpleasant odor- but as for the hotel itself smelling? That I don't understand. As for reading the other reviews, I've never understood how one review can be so positive and the very next one so negative - but that seems to be the way of things - not just with our hotel - but with all of them.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Very nice staff, easy access to my training facility. Nice size room and clean. Didn't have time to see if there was a pool. Would stay again. Breakfast was good and was what to be expected for a continental breakfast.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenny H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PlazaInn, Director of Sales at Howard Johnson Albuquerque Midtown, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2013

Thank you so much for reviewing our hotel. The staff at the Plaza Inn are the most accommodating and hospitable I have ever worked with - and it is always nice to hear they are appreciated. We do get alot of individuals who are "traveling alone" - for various reasons - and the staff goes out of it's way to make sure the guests know there is someone available at all times to take care of their needs. I do hope you do have occassion to return to Albuquerque and stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2013

We thought the service was excellent. The shuttle took us anywhere and the staff were so friendly and helpful. The hotel is an older style but very clean. It's central to everywhere but not walking distance. We went to the Gathering of Nations which was excellent and caught a taxi back to hotel which cost about $15.00 with a tip.

Room Tip: Probably doesn't matter. Pool and spa on 1st floor but we were on 5th. Quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank normam854
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2013

Like others, I was a little skeptical because of the reasonable-ness of the rates. I was happily surprised. All the staff were pleasant and helpful. The room was a nice size (I was happy that it wasn't too big, as I was traveling alone), clean, and comfortable. There was a clean fridge and microwave in the room, which was very convenient. Free hot breakfast every morning. Very convenient shuttle service. If I were to return to Albuquerque, I'd happily stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kristina g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013

This is not the worst hotel I have stayed in but its in my top five. I asked for a non-smoking room and I got one. At least no one that day had smoked in it. I could smell the stale odor of cigarretts and see the burn spots on the table. There used to be a restaurant attached to the hotel but as the front desk person put it "I think it was shut down back in February". Ok no big deal because I went out and found a great Mexican-Greek Restaurant called Ceasar's. I went to use the exercise "room" only to find out that it was two barely working bikes and a bowflex type piece of equipment and oh yeah don't forget the roach. I think the roach got more of a workout than me, he was looking for a way out, I kind of felt bad for him, but then I remembered he was a good inch and half roach and was a little creeped out. Then it dawned on me why the restaurant was no longer there, I dont know if it was shut down for this reason but I think it could be a reason. I went back to my room after a bike ride and ate my meal. My room was antiquated and small but thats ok I don't take up much room. The bed spread looked like someone had been jumping on it with dirty shoes. So I didn't dig any further and just slept under a sheet on the stripped down bed. In the morning I woke up and had a visitor, another roach, this one was dead however or maybe playing dead. That was enough for me I packed up my stuff and I didn't even stop for breakfast, because I didn't know if any more visitors had been there to sample the cuisine. The best part of my experience was checking out. If possible I would give this half a circle only because of the ambiance of the property. It had a nice view and as drove away I could see hot air balloons on the horizon. I do not recommend this hotel to anyone except very eager entomologist or if you dont have enough money for Motel 6 or 8 or even a road side motel.

Room Tip: Go to a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Schuyler W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albuquerque hotels
Albuquerque Original Townsite
The Hotel Blue
The Hotel Blue
#75 of 143 in Albuquerque
368 reviews
Econo Lodge Old Town
#13 of 143 in Albuquerque
782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Roof Inn Albuquerque
#87 of 143 in Albuquerque
82 reviews
Econo Lodge East
#48 of 143 in Albuquerque
195 reviews
Huning Highland Historic District
Knights Inn Downtown Albuquerque
Knights Inn Downtown Albuquerque
#102 of 143 in Albuquerque
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Albuquerque Midtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Albuquerque Midtown

Address: 900 Medical Arts Ave NE, Off I25 & I40, Albuquerque, NM 87102-2707 (Formerly Plaza Inn Albuquerque)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Albuquerque
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Casino Hotel in Albuquerque
#7 Spa Hotel in Albuquerque
#14 Best Value Hotel in Albuquerque
Price Range: $52 - $190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Howard Johnson Albuquerque Midtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Howard Johnson ABQ Midtown-formerly Plaza Inn Abq. offers 120 Spacious Guests Rooms and Suites. We are just minutes away from UNM, Presbyterian Hospital, Heart Hospital, Kirtland AFB, Isotopes, Lobos and Downtown ABQ! We are the preferred hotel for ABQ Balloon Festival, Sporting Events and local Attractions. We are also a Pet Friendly Hotel. We offer a FREE Hot Breakfast with Omelets, Scrambled Eggs, Bacon, Sausage, french Toast, Grits, Boiled Eggs, Biscuits & Gravy & more, FREE WIFI, Freshly baked Cookies Daily from 4pm-8pm with Tea and Iced lemonade, Indoor Heated Pool and Hot Tub, Pet walking area, FREE USA Today, free shuttle, Refrigs and microwaves in EVERY Room. We have over 6 Restaurants that deliver food right to your room. Enjoy our Chess game in the lobby. We also have meeting rooms and Banquet facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Howard Johnson Albuquerque Midtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Inn Albuquerque Hotel Albuquerque
Plaza Hotel Albuquerque
Albuquerque Plaza Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing