We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Husband stayed a week for training”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Motel 6 Albuquerque - I-40 - San Mateo
Ranked #109 of 143 Hotels in Albuquerque
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Clean, spacious, comfortable room. Was nice to have the microwave and fridge in room. Was about 5 miles from his training. The area is not great to check out and didn't have good views, but he just wanted something close to class. Did feel safe. The stairwell was really smelly. Definintely was good for dog lovers, although I didn't think carrying your dog in your arms and getting breakfast holding the dog was a great thing to do. Good amount of choices for breakfast. There was a leak under the bathroom sink where it appeared to be getting moldy. Cookies at the front desk in the afternoon. Close to the big I to get around Abq easily. He wouldn't have an issue staying here again, but not for romance.

Room Tip: We were on the back side, so unsure if those in front had road noise? Was off the road a bit, but th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bloomfield_NMShearn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Quinta A, General Manager at Motel 6 Albuquerque - I-40 - San Mateo, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2013

We appreciate your feedback and are pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable stay at Albuquerque - San Mateo La Quinta. We look forward to providing you with exceptional service in the future.

With are well trained and pleasant staff we strive to make each guest 100% satisfied. As you can see 99.9% of are guest are very pleased with our hotel and staff, and we continue to try to satisfy the other .1%.

La Quinta continuously strives to create memorable moments with our guests, through people first service and clean comfortable accommodations. We stand by our commitment to serving our guests to our best ability and hope to always exceed your expectations.

We will see you soon.

Sincerely,

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (161)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

49 - 55 of 161 reviews

Reviewed August 26, 2013

We always stay here when in Albuquerque with our dog. They have a great dog-walk with pick up and disposal products at hand. They usually have dog biscuits at the counter. It is a very comfortable hotel with friendly staff and a decent, if not great, breakfast. It also has a Village Inn on the property which makes it easy if you are too road weary to go out for dinner.

Room Tip: If you want the first floor, ask for a handicapped accessible room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maxrn2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Quinta A, General Manager at Motel 6 Albuquerque - I-40 - San Mateo, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2013

We appreciate your feedback and are pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable stay at Albuquerque - San Mateo La Quinta. We look forward to providing you with exceptional service in the future.

With are well trained and pleasant staff we strive to make each guest 100% satisfied. As you can see 99.9% of are guest are very pleased with our hotel and staff, and we continue to try to satisfy the other .1%.

La Quinta continuously strives to create memorable moments with our guests, through people first service and clean comfortable accommodations. We stand by our commitment to serving our guests to our best ability and hope to always exceed your expectations.

We will see you soon.

Sincerely,

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013

This hotel was not a good LaQuina experience. It was in a bad neighborhood, and the room smelled like it was smoked in even though we requested a non smoking room. The mattress was saggy and uncomfortable. The breakfast area was not set up well. The outside areas were run down, and unkept. If I were LaQuinta I would do a complete renovation, or cut this hotel from their brand. BAD hotel. The staff was very nice though, and they did the best they could with a hotel that just is too tired to meet standards.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LisaandWayne828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Quinta A, General Manager at Motel 6 Albuquerque - I-40 - San Mateo, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2013

We truly appreciate your feedback; it is our goal to provide you with a positive, memorable experience each and every time you stay with us. We apologize that your experience was not what you expected from La Quinta.

As you see we have several great reviews. We do try to make everyone 100% satisfied, at times we do not please everyone, but we continue to try.

Your continued satisfaction and trust in La Quinta are our top priorities. We hope you will be staying with us again soon.

Sincerely,

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

The check in process was fast. Located next to a park that is pet friendly. This made it very easy to walk our dog. Room was older, but clean and neat. Free wi-if. Room spacious enough for four people and a dog plus all our luggage. Even got carry put pizza and ate in the room, but Denny's is located in the parking lot. Air conditioning lulled us to sleep and blocked out any outside noises (big storm). We were pleasantly surprised at the convenience of this hotel, especially since this is our first time traveling with our 75lb Labrador. The price was very reasonable! And includes free breakfast, nothing fancy, but good for being included.

Room Tip: If traveling with a dog, ask for first floor close to the park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dlafollette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Quinta A, General Manager at Motel 6 Albuquerque - I-40 - San Mateo, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2013

We appreciate your feedback and are pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable stay at Albuquerque - San Mateo La Quinta. We look forward to providing you with exceptional service in the future.

With are well trained and pleasant staff we strive to make each guest 100% satisfied. As you can see 99.9% of are guest are very pleased with our hotel and staff, and we continue to try to satisfy the other .1%.

La Quinta continuously strives to create memorable moments with our guests, through people first service and clean comfortable accommodations. We stand by our commitment to serving our guests to our best ability and hope to always exceed your expectations.

We will see you soon.

Sincerely,

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Stayed here on the way home after picking up some rescue dogs from the shelter in Deming. We had stayed the previous night at a very nice Fairfield in Las Cruces with two dogs, before we picked up the additional shelter pups. Pet policies are franchise dependent, and the Fairfield here didn't take dogs at all. After seeing that other hotels in the area were either gouging for pets, or had lots of restrictions (or both) we decided to give this La Quinta a shot since the dogs weren't traveling well. Neighborhood is somewhat run down, as is the hotel. Check in was no problem. Room was 'running from the cops' quality, with dirty carpets, drywall with patches everywhere, missing trim, poor lighting, etc. Seems like when you have dogs, you get the crap rooms here. Pet amenities are non-existent with the only lawn right next to a very busy street, without a fence. On one side of the hotel there is a privacy fence between the property and the highway which ends abruptly leaving you walking next to a steep embankment that drops down to the highway. This could be a disaster if your walking your dog here and trip, or they should slip they're leash. Pet rooms are in the back of the hotel, with poor lighting and where there is no lawn what so ever, leaving you to walk through the lot to get to any lawn, which as I said, is right next to a busy street without a fence. Also there is dog crap everywhere in back near the pet rooms since there is no bag dispensers, and the hotel doesn't clean up the area either. There is a Denny's in the lot, and a shopping center on the next exit with lots of typical franchises and a Super Target. Overall this hotel has a ghetto feel, with guests bar-b-queing and working on their cars in the parking lot. This franchisee needs to visit the Elk City, OK La Quinta to see how it should be done.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scott S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Quinta A, General Manager at Motel 6 Albuquerque - I-40 - San Mateo, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2013

We truly appreciate your feedback; it is our goal to provide you with a positive, memorable experience each and every time you stay with us. We apologize that your experience was not what you expected from La Quinta.

As you see we have several great reviews. We do try to make everyone 100% satisfied, at times we do not please everyone, but we continue to try.

Your continued satisfaction and trust in La Quinta are our top priorities. We hope you will be staying with us again soon.

Sincerely,

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We chose this La Quinta due to a) its location and b) it being a La Quinta. As a frequent LQ customer, I don't feel this property is quite up to standards. The neighborhood is a bit run-down and the parking lot on the back side of the property does not inspire much confidence. Additionally, the overall look of the property from the outside is quite rough.

However, on the other hand, the interior of the room was very clean and perfectly acceptable. Beds were soft and comfy and everything worked exactly as it should.

Overall, the outside & location of the property isn't quite up to typical LQ standards. But the inside is just fine and a great value for the money. In addition, it IS right off of I-40 and there are numerous dining & shopping options within a very short drive.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Didi8367
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Quinta A, General Manager at Motel 6 Albuquerque - I-40 - San Mateo, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2013

We appreciate your feedback and are pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable stay at Albuquerque - San Mateo La Quinta. We look forward to providing you with exceptional service in the future.

With are well trained and pleasant staff we strive to make each guest 100% satisfied. As you can see 99.9% of are guest are very pleased with our hotel and staff, and we continue to try to satisfy the other .1%.

La Quinta continuously strives to create memorable moments with our guests, through people first service and clean comfortable accommodations. We stand by our commitment to serving our guests to our best ability and hope to always exceed your expectations.

We will see you soon.

Sincerely,

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

If you like flies and mosquitoes in your room, ants outside eating dropped food, dirt and grime and rude front desk then this is the one star hotel for you! The front desk never mentioned the pool was broken nor anything about a discount with the Denny's in the lot! The cleaning staff was super nice but the place was dirty outside and dingy and run down just like the surrounding area. The breakfast while usual stuff only had two sitting tables and five chairs between the two tables. The Internet is spotty and they had me call the 800 number three times. The floors above us cracked and creaked and popped like scary Rice Krispies! At this level, I expect a little more.

Room Tip: Go elsewhere like one exit up near to museums and nice restaurants. Not worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MES2916
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Quinta A, General Manager at Motel 6 Albuquerque - I-40 - San Mateo, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2013

We truly appreciate your feedback; it is our goal to provide you with a positive, memorable experience each and every time you stay with us. We apologize that your experience was not what you expected from La Quinta.

As you see we have several great reviews. We do try to make everyone 100% satisfied, at times we do not please everyone, but we continue to try.

Your continued satisfaction and trust in La Quinta are our top priorities. We hope you will be staying with us again soon.

Sincerely,

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albuquerque hotels
5.4 mi away
Rodeway Inn East
Rodeway Inn East
#77 of 143 in Albuquerque
162 reviews
5.4 mi away
Suburban Extended Stay Hotel East
Suburban Extended Stay Hotel Eas...
#106 of 143 in Albuquerque
49 reviews
5.6 mi away
Econo Lodge East
Econo Lodge East
#49 of 143 in Albuquerque
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Howard Johnson Albuquerque Midtown
3.5 mi away
Studio 6 Albuquerque North
Studio 6 Albuquerque North
#84 of 143 in Albuquerque
47 reviews
5.1 mi away
Motel 6 Albuquerque North
Motel 6 Albuquerque North
#102 of 143 in Albuquerque
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Albuquerque - I-40 - San Mateo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Albuquerque - I-40 - San Mateo

Address: 2424 San Mateo Blvd NE, Albuquerque, NM 87110-4053 (Formerly La Quinta Inn Albuquerque I-40 East / San Mateo)
Location: United States > New Mexico > Albuquerque
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #109 of 143 Hotels in Albuquerque
Price Range: $41 - $101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Albuquerque - I-40 - San Mateo 2*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
friendly hotel, so no one is left out. Partake in our seasonal outdoor pool and enjoy free wifi in every guest room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Motel 6 Albuquerque - I-40 - San Mateo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn Albuquerque i-40 East Hotel Albuquerque
Albuquerque La Quinta
La Quinta Albuquerque

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing