We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sketchy location. Clean, comfy rooms.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Motel 6 Albuquerque - I-40 - San Mateo
Ranked #110 of 144 Hotels in Albuquerque
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We chose this La Quinta due to a) its location and b) it being a La Quinta. As a frequent LQ customer, I don't feel this property is quite up to standards. The neighborhood is a bit run-down and the parking lot on the back side of the property does not inspire much confidence. Additionally, the overall look of the property from the outside is quite rough.

However, on the other hand, the interior of the room was very clean and perfectly acceptable. Beds were soft and comfy and everything worked exactly as it should.

Overall, the outside & location of the property isn't quite up to typical LQ standards. But the inside is just fine and a great value for the money. In addition, it IS right off of I-40 and there are numerous dining & shopping options within a very short drive.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Didi8367
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Quinta A, General Manager at Motel 6 Albuquerque - I-40 - San Mateo, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2013

We appreciate your feedback and are pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable stay at Albuquerque - San Mateo La Quinta. We look forward to providing you with exceptional service in the future.

With are well trained and pleasant staff we strive to make each guest 100% satisfied. As you can see 99.9% of are guest are very pleased with our hotel and staff, and we continue to try to satisfy the other .1%.

La Quinta continuously strives to create memorable moments with our guests, through people first service and clean comfortable accommodations. We stand by our commitment to serving our guests to our best ability and hope to always exceed your expectations.

We will see you soon.

Sincerely,

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (160)
There are newer reviews for Motel 6 Albuquerque - I-40 - San Mateo
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

53 - 59 of 160 reviews

Reviewed July 22, 2013

If you like flies and mosquitoes in your room, ants outside eating dropped food, dirt and grime and rude front desk then this is the one star hotel for you! The front desk never mentioned the pool was broken nor anything about a discount with the Denny's in the lot! The cleaning staff was super nice but the place was dirty outside and dingy and run down just like the surrounding area. The breakfast while usual stuff only had two sitting tables and five chairs between the two tables. The Internet is spotty and they had me call the 800 number three times. The floors above us cracked and creaked and popped like scary Rice Krispies! At this level, I expect a little more.

Room Tip: Go elsewhere like one exit up near to museums and nice restaurants. Not worth it!
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MES2916
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Quinta A, General Manager at Motel 6 Albuquerque - I-40 - San Mateo, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2013

We truly appreciate your feedback; it is our goal to provide you with a positive, memorable experience each and every time you stay with us. We apologize that your experience was not what you expected from La Quinta.

As you see we have several great reviews. We do try to make everyone 100% satisfied, at times we do not please everyone, but we continue to try.

Your continued satisfaction and trust in La Quinta are our top priorities. We hope you will be staying with us again soon.

Sincerely,

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A La Quinta traveler
Ocala, Florida, USA
1
Reviewed July 20, 2013

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta
Thank A La Quinta traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

First, be aware they do not have an elevator. Is not a big deal but if you can't climb stairs - it becomes important. Our 10yr old liked the pool but said it wasn't very clean. The beds were nice enough and everything seemed clean. Our A/C unit didn't work well but the room was cool enough. Overall our was fine. Nothing great.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heather F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A La Quinta traveler
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
1
Reviewed July 14, 2013

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta
Thank A La Quinta traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

Ive been reading the reviews on this site and I was thinking this hotel was going to be dirty. The service was EXCELLENT! The people at the front desk were very nice and pleasant! The room was OK, ive seen better. Breakfast was great and ive felt safe while staying here. Im coming here again :)

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Youngtravelerz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Our group of 5 stayed at this hotel in a family suite which included a separate "parents' bedroom and 2 double beds in the larger room all of which had triple sheeted beds. The suite was large, clean and included a good sized bathroom, 2 TVs, 2 air conditioners, pretty good Wifi, a fridge and microwave. There was a small closet but 2 dressers with 6 drawers each. This would be a great place to stay for many days. The pool was refreshing, especially in the great heat. The checkin and checkout were easy and the staff pleasant. The breakfast was good, the usual continental with waffles, and more than enough tables and chairs. Additionally breakfast could be eaten outside as well.

We enjoyed dinner at the Denny's right next door and were given the hotel's 10% discount. This would be a great place to base a few days of activity out of.

We're sorry that we didn't stay longer to enjoy the amenities more and would certainly return.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Char O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albuquerque hotels
Uptown
Hilton Garden Inn Albuquerque Uptown
Econo Lodge East
#47 of 144 in Albuquerque
190 reviews
Residence Inn Albuquerque
#60 of 144 in Albuquerque
230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Rodeway Inn East
#76 of 144 in Albuquerque
159 reviews
Americas Best Value Inn - Midtow...
#128 of 144 in Albuquerque
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Albuquerque - I-40 - San Mateo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Albuquerque - I-40 - San Mateo

Address: 2424 San Mateo Blvd NE, Albuquerque, NM 87110-4053 (Formerly La Quinta Inn Albuquerque I-40 East / San Mateo)
Location: United States > New Mexico > Albuquerque
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #110 of 144 Hotels in Albuquerque
Price Range: $51 - $121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Albuquerque - I-40 - San Mateo 2*
Number of rooms: 106
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Motel-6, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Motel 6 Albuquerque - I-40 - San Mateo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn Albuquerque i-40 East Hotel Albuquerque
Albuquerque La Quinta
La Quinta Albuquerque

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing