We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost Perfect”
Review of Hotel Andaluz

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Andaluz
Ranked #8 of 144 Hotels in Albuquerque
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Phoenix, AZ
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Almost Perfect”
Reviewed September 11, 2010

Beautiful hotel. The decor is modern, upscale with a southwest aesthetic. Our room was beautiful and had a great view. When we checked in we were moved to a room that would be quiet because there was an event and the staff were concerned that we would find it too noisy.

The Good: decor, upscale furnishings, great view.

The Bad: staff seemed uncomfortable with the gays...when I checked in with my partner we were offered a pull-out bed...room was set up for one man and one woman...there were male and female robes and slippers...I had to wear drag...service in lobby bar was terrible. Kind os scary walking around at night. Lots of homeless people/shady types in the vicinity of the hotel.

Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Traveller85013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,359 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    895
    282
    98
    44
    40
See reviews for
198
564
93
328
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (331)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 26, 2010

This is an incredibly beautiful hotel with excellent service and remarkably low rates. It's tempting to spend hours lounging in the lobby with its exotically appointed alcoves or reading in the artistic library. But the rooms are lovely too with large flat screen TVs and plenty of space. The location is great, within walking distance of good restaurants and about as close as you can get to the convention center. I stayed for a few days when I was in town for a meeting and came back with my husband to enjoy it again. I wish there was a Hotel Andaluz everywhere I go.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank madamson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
celluloidtrav
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 25, 2010

For the past few months our company has had a corporate account at this hotel and have been sending all of our highest VIP clientele to stay here. Absolutely wonderful service, always friendly and helpful for all of our requests, no matter what they may be. Everyone we have sent here has been blown away by the beautiful and spacious rooms as well as the hospitality. We definitely recommend this hotel to anyone wanting a fantastic place to stay in Albuquerque.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank celluloidtrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 25, 2010

Great hotel. Near downtwon. Clean and large rooms. Great staff.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DMalone62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maple Grove, Minnesota
Level Contributor
79 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2010

What a treat to stay at the Andaluz! Our annual "sister trip" concluded in ABQ. I wanted a nice hotel near downtown and the airport. Booked through their web page and used a special they had posted. There was a delay at check in and we were upgraded. I imagine all the rooms are fabulous. The weekends can be noisey, but the energy is fun. Check in service is slow, and ice is not available unless you call for it. This can be problematic at busy times. You may get service right away or wait an hour, We enjoyed cocktails on their roof-top bar (get there early to get a seat), but we loved our spacious room so much that we could not wait to go back. We had a huge bath/sink area, king bed, sofa and chairs, nice full length mirror, modern sitting stool, great desk with free internet, mini-bar,wall moounted flat creen TV. I would like to see a coffee maker in room, and self-service ice machine on the floor. (although later I found a 7 Eleven 2 blocks away). We did not dine at the Andaluz for lack of time, but a short drive to Nob Hill Area for some cute restaurants near UNM and shopping. Location is great. Valet parking service staff were friendly & fast. The self park is next door should prefer. One more thing..the Hotel is not marked on the outside very well. The building is plain,and the restaurant sign more noticable. We drove around in circles for a while. Once inside the lobby, you will definitely smile. I will be back.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CatherineB5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 24, 2010

After taking 18 months off to travel around the world and staying in over 100 different hotels, this is one of my favorites. Unlike the big expensive and impersonal hotels, this offers impeccable service and the personal touch that is so often missing in hotels now, not to mention the attention to detail in every design and amenity. I now stay there on a regular basis for work and look forward to my frequent business trips. Don't miss having a drink upstairs at the bar and check to see what events are going on during your stay.

I would highly recommend this hotel, it is fantastic!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank star081
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Cruces, New Mexico
1 review
Reviewed August 24, 2010

The hotel is an absolute gem. So much about it is special---the roof top lounge, the exquisite lobby, the music, the flowers, the library, the vegetarian menu, the beds, the art work, and the staff. All made it a very soothing experience. I could feel the past with the present in the walls!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blueazul71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albuquerque hotels
Huning Highland Historic District
Hotel Parq Central
Hotel Parq Central
#3 of 144 in Albuquerque
1,634 reviews
Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town
#10 of 144 in Albuquerque
1,693 reviews
Hyatt Regency Albuquerque
#29 of 144 in Albuquerque
1,185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Isleta Resort & Casino
#26 of 144 in Albuquerque
623 reviews
West Old Town
Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Andaluz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Andaluz

Property: Hotel Andaluz
Address: 125 2nd St NW, Albuquerque, NM 87102-3304 (Formerly Posada)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Albuquerque > Albuquerque Original Townsite
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Albuquerque
#2 Luxury Hotel in Albuquerque
#3 Business Hotel in Albuquerque
#4 Romantic Hotel in Albuquerque
#21 Family Hotel in Albuquerque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Andaluz 4*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Andaluz shines as downtown Albuquerque's only AAA 4-Diamond hotel and one of Conde Nast Traveler's 2016 Top Hotels in the World. A classic hotel that has been thoroughly updated for the 21st century with chic, modern style, Andaluz is also one of few historic hotels to hold a LEED Gold Certification for environmental sustainability. The hotel offers two award winning bars and restaurants: MAS Tapas y Vino, featuring an extensive curated wine list and a contemporary take on small plates, and Ibiza, a wonderful rooftop patio bar offering a fun, relaxing atmosphere and tempting cocktails. Conveniently located in downtown, Andaluz puts you in the center of all Albuquerque has to offer. Hotel Andaluz. Never Stay Ordinary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Hotel Andaluz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Andaluz Hotel Albuquerque

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing