We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow - what a great place”
Review of Hotel Andaluz

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Andaluz
Ranked #8 of 144 Hotels in Albuquerque
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wow - what a great place”
Reviewed April 13, 2010

The hotel had only just opened its doors and we were one of the first people to go and stay there but I was really blown away by the attention that had been thrown at this hotel. The lobby area was particularly impressive and had a very warm feeling to it. Everyone was really friendly, albeit trying a little bit too hard at times but that could be because they had only just opened. The entrance is not very impressive and you have to search to find the receptions but I would not complain about any other part of this hotel. Was a great place for us to spend our time in Albuquerque

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Intrepid71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,345 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    889
    278
    96
    44
    38
See reviews for
196
556
93
327
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (330)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City
2 reviews
Reviewed April 11, 2010

Pleasant room, excellent housekeeping, excellent restaurant; extremely helpful, pleasant staff. weekend music & dancing - all in all an excellent hotel; would definitely stay again

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ABCNewYorkCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 9, 2010

I had been to the La Posada for conferences and receptions in the past and thought it was nice, but nothing to write home to momma about. This evening, my husband and I decided to give the newly renovated, now Hotel Andaluz a shot. Heavens, but we were not disappointed! We were welcomed into a stunning lobby that had period decor meshed with rich, modern pieces. We chose the Lillian alcove out of the 6 or so private seating areas to have drinks and tapas. The drinks were very generous and the tapas were first rate. We toured the rest of the area, and wow, everything was just beautiful. The staff were all very friendly. I wish we would have had cause to stay the evening, but we surely will make it a point. Highly recommended for dining, drinking and ambiance!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aqbshop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
1 review
Reviewed April 2, 2010

We recently (March 26-28) stayed at the hotel in room 301. This is a room located by the elevators just above the lobby area that becomes the stage for the weekend entertainment. Although the room was nicely appointed, it was impossible to go to sleep before 12:45AM when the band stops playing and breaks down their equipment. It is way too noisy and the management knows this full well. They did not even offer to compensate us with an orange juice let alone a free night or meal in the restaurant for this MAJOR inconvenience. Basically, the management of the hotel is new, they are finding their way, and they need a few years to get their act together.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rcornboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2010

Beautiful hotel. Other then that we had diner in the main restaurant lucia and room service, the room service food was excellent the service wonderful. Lucia on the other hand we received old oysters and literally rotten chicken covered in seasoning and oil to mask the smell. The music from the lobby entertainment engulfed the entire hotel making conversation difficult and sleep impossible.

  • Stayed March 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank silverscreentraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
1 review
Reviewed March 29, 2010

A lovely refurbished hotel in downtown Albuquerque which is walking distance from main tourist attractions or a small taxi fare away. The rooms are large and comfortable with great dine in facilities if you are travelling alone like I was. There is a good gym across the road if needed which is included in the service. The lobby is a nice place to have a drink or to meet friends. The only problem I found with this hotel is that it was so nice I didn't want to go sight seeing as I was having a vacation inside the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EdSydney_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, OH
Level Contributor
41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2010

Stayed for 4 nights for a conference...
Positives: gorgeous hotel lobby, nicely remodeled rooms, friendly staff (except for housekeeping), VERY close to conference center

Negatives:
- Housekeeping: one day our room hadnt been cleaned and it was 6:15pm - we went to front desk to ask if they were behind (we were worried we had been forgotten). We said we didnt need a thorough cleaning, but did need some washclothes, towels. When we got back from dinner, towels had just been placed on sink (not put away), trashcans in middle of floor - we got the distinct impression that housekeeping was mad at us for ?getting them in trouble?
- Restaurant: went down to have drinks/dessert at Lucia at ~9pm. They do serve these items in the lobby but, per the menus on the little tables, they charge 18% service charge to bring them the few feet from teh restaurant to the lobby. So, we asked for a table in the resturant. The one hostess told us it would be 20 min for a table but they'd be happy to serve us in the lobby. We said no thanks that we would wait for a table. Whiel we were still standing there another hostess walked up (not hearing the previous conversation) and we told her we had been helped/were waiting for a table. She said it would be 5-10 minutes! I felt like they were trying to hoodwink us to get the 18% charge out of us.

Despite housekeeping/restaurant, room was comfortable and big enough for 3 of us (King room). We were on teh 6th floor and could still hear the lobby music (live music on weekends until ~11:30) so I imagine a lower floor would have been too loud

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LuvMyVacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albuquerque hotels
Huning Highland Historic District
Hotel Parq Central
Hotel Parq Central
#3 of 144 in Albuquerque
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,617 reviews
Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town
#10 of 144 in Albuquerque
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hyatt Regency Albuquerque
#31 of 144 in Albuquerque
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,166 reviews
Isleta Resort & Casino
#26 of 144 in Albuquerque
4.0 of 5 bubbles 608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Andaluz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Andaluz

Property: Hotel Andaluz
Address: 125 2nd St NW, Albuquerque, NM 87102-3304 (Formerly Posada)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Albuquerque > Albuquerque Original Townsite
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Albuquerque
#2 Luxury Hotel in Albuquerque
#3 Business Hotel in Albuquerque
#4 Romantic Hotel in Albuquerque
#21 Family Hotel in Albuquerque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Andaluz 4*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Andaluz shines as downtown Albuquerque's only AAA 4-Diamond hotel and one of Conde Nast Traveler's 2016 Top Hotels in the World. A classic hotel that has been thoroughly updated for the 21st century with chic, modern style, Andaluz is also one of few historic hotels to hold a LEED Gold Certification for environmental sustainability. The hotel offers two award winning bars and restaurants: MAS Tapas y Vino, featuring an extensive curated wine list and a contemporary take on small plates, and Ibiza, a wonderful rooftop patio bar offering a fun, relaxing atmosphere and tempting cocktails. Conveniently located in downtown, Andaluz puts you in the center of all Albuquerque has to offer. Hotel Andaluz. Never Stay Ordinary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Andaluz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Andaluz Hotel Albuquerque

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing