We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really good stay”
Review of Hotel Andaluz

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Andaluz
Ranked #8 of 144 Hotels in Albuquerque
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
116 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Really good stay”
Reviewed May 21, 2014

This is a really nice property in the heart of town and the rooms/décor and service was excellent. The lobby is very charming and they have a cool rooftop bar. We only spent one night in transit.We were on a road trip across the country & happened to be in town during the annual Balloon festival, which was really cool to witness, we were lucky they had one room available, however the room rate was pricey due to the event! (not complaining)

The hotel is pet friendly and that is a big plus for us as we like traveling with our canine companion and typically don't get to stay at nice places (outside of Kimpton hotels), so this was a welcome change. Def. recommend.

Room Tip: Rooms on lower floors near the elevator can get noisy weekend nights/
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PrabhuTA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andaluzmgmt, Front Office Manager at Hotel Andaluz, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
We are glad your entire family (including your canine companion) was able to enjoy their time at our hotel and we thank you for taking time to write this review. The balloon fiesta is definitely one of the more amazing events that happens in Albuquerque every year, and we are pleased you were able to enjoy it while you were driving through town.

Hopefully this year you will be back to attend the fiesta and have a green chile breakfast burrito. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,359 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    895
    282
    98
    44
    40
See reviews for
198
564
93
328
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (331)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Quebec, Canada
Level Contributor
168 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2014

We stayed two night at Andaluz hotel. Very nice lobby, pretty animated on the weekend, but that's ok, good atmosphere. The downside is that this" animation" translate into lots of noise if you have a room near the elevator...so I told the reception the next morning and they immediately moved us to another room at the end of the corridor, very quiet and we were very satisfied. Breakfast very good, we liked the rooftop bar too and the valet staff was perfect.

Room Tip: Ask for a room far far away from the elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anectine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andaluzmgmt, Front Office Manager at Hotel Andaluz, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
We appreciate the time you took to review our hotel. On the weekends we do have many events and guests so the atmosphere is definitely lively and upbeat. We also have live entertainment that we hope you were able to enjoy while you were with us. We are glad we were able to meet your needs during your stay and look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
107 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2014

Hotel Andaluz is a very beautiful old hotel, decorated in a Moroccan fusion style. There are several private areas to sit in with friends/family as well as a restaurant and separate lounge on site. The guest rooms have been upgraded and offer many amenities including comfortable bed/pillows/linens, soft robes, free wifi, a variety of lighting (including reading lights!) and Moulton Brown products.

Unfortunately we had the guests from hell in the adjoining guest room and got little sleep. Management was called 4-5 times over 9 hours and basically did nothing. I spoke to the manager the next day and her attitude was something like "pound sand" - no offer of any compensation of any sort. Would have been nice if she had at least bought us breakfast.

Valets were the best ever!

Room Tip: Be aware that this hotel has thin walls! I would suggest staying during the week (when more rooms m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kate O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andaluzmgmt, Front Office Manager at Hotel Andaluz, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Thank you for taking time to review our hotel. We are glad you found the hotel itself and the valet accommodating. We are deeply sorry to hear your night didn't go well due to the excessive noise from other guests. Our management team takes noise complaints very seriously and our goal is to make sure our guests have everything they need to have a pleasant and restful time while they are with us.

We hope you will give us another opportunity to show you the high level of hospitality that is typical of our hotel. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
114 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2014

I'm a big fan of older properties that have been meticulously renovated, and this is one of the best. As another plus, the staff is marvelous and the public rooms are welcoming. The lobby is straight out of the 30's and very unique.l I can picture Conrad Hilton and Gabor having fun here. We had the smallest room in their portfolio, and it was fine. The bathroom was tiny, but how much time do you spend there anyway.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank QuakerBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andaluzmgmt, Front Office Manager at Hotel Andaluz, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
We are so glad you enjoyed your time at our hotel and we appreciate your review. In 2009, the current owner of our hotel did a major renovation, and as stewards of such a grand hotel, our goal is to keep it fresh and updated. We love hearing from our guests that our goal is being accomplished and that our deep love of our hotel is being translated well to our guests.

Your mention of Conrad Hilton and Zsa Zsa Gabor is right on the mark, in fact, our penthouse is where they spent their honeymoon.

This year we are celebrating the 75th anniversary of the hotel and hope that you are able to make it to one of our monthly celebrations. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wicklow, Ireland
Level Contributor
144 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2014

stayed here in May 2014. The Hotel is a treasure in downtown Albuquerque, unfortunately I cannot say the same for the neighborhood. We like to be able to walk to restaurants/bars/shops etc but not in this part of the city. The room was comfortable and cool which was very welcome arriving on a hot day. The mezzanine bar was a lovely spot to unwind and the breakfast in the dining room made for a good start to the day.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gabrielle96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andaluzmgmt, Front Office Manager at Hotel Andaluz, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Thank you for taking time to review our hotel. You are among the many over the last 75 years that have enjoyed the mezzanine terrace to unwind for the day. We love opening up Ibiza for the summer months to allow our guests and locals to take in the sights of our beautiful city.
Thank you for mentioning that we are surrounded by shops and restaurants. We, along with many companies located downtown, and the Mayor of Albuquerque, are working together to create a "walkable" city. There have been many improvements so far and we are looking forward to more in the next few months.

We hope to see you again and we sincerely hope next time you come, we can improve your opinion of our downtown.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaluma
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed May 13, 2014

Such a pleasant experience start to finish, beginning with the Valet, the Bell service, the Reception
personnel, on to a marvelous choice of Tapas dishes from the restaurant and very nice service there as well. Loved the room, small but very comfortable and beautifully furnished. Delighted that the hotel is focused on environmentally responsible practices. The decorating and design work is marvelous. We will come back here at every opportunity Such an easy hotel to enjoy. Like none other we have visited in a long time.

Room Tip: Ask the reception personnel to suggest a nice room. You can hardly go wrong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KenLinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andaluzmgmt, Front Office Manager at Hotel Andaluz, responded to this review, May 25, 2014
We are so pleased that your stay went so well and we appreciate your review of our hotel. As the only Gold LEED certified hotel in Albuquerque, your mention of our GREEN practices is much appreciated. Our goal is to provide luxury for each and every one of our guests while being environmentally conscience. It seems your time in our hotel went smoothly and we are happy we were able to exceed your expectations. We hope upon every return visit we surprise you with excellence.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Cruces
Level Contributor
139 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2014 via mobile

We had a great time and will absolutely come back. Perfect location for restaurants and great nightlife in the downtown area. The outdoor terrace bar is beautiful and lots of fun. Everyone was super friendly and great service. Can't wait to come back.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JoeMed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andaluzmgmt, Front Office Manager at Hotel Andaluz, responded to this review, May 25, 2014
Thank you for taking time to review our hotel. Ibiza is definitely an ideal location to unwind after a long day of traveling. We strive for excellence and are pleased when we hit the mark with our guests. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albuquerque hotels
Huning Highland Historic District
Hotel Parq Central
Hotel Parq Central
#3 of 144 in Albuquerque
1,635 reviews
Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town
#10 of 144 in Albuquerque
1,693 reviews
Hyatt Regency Albuquerque
#29 of 144 in Albuquerque
1,185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Isleta Resort & Casino
#26 of 144 in Albuquerque
623 reviews
West Old Town
Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Andaluz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Andaluz

Property: Hotel Andaluz
Address: 125 2nd St NW, Albuquerque, NM 87102-3304 (Formerly Posada)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Albuquerque > Albuquerque Original Townsite
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Albuquerque
#2 Luxury Hotel in Albuquerque
#3 Business Hotel in Albuquerque
#4 Romantic Hotel in Albuquerque
#21 Family Hotel in Albuquerque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Andaluz 4*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Andaluz shines as downtown Albuquerque's only AAA 4-Diamond hotel and one of Conde Nast Traveler's 2016 Top Hotels in the World. A classic hotel that has been thoroughly updated for the 21st century with chic, modern style, Andaluz is also one of few historic hotels to hold a LEED Gold Certification for environmental sustainability. The hotel offers two award winning bars and restaurants: MAS Tapas y Vino, featuring an extensive curated wine list and a contemporary take on small plates, and Ibiza, a wonderful rooftop patio bar offering a fun, relaxing atmosphere and tempting cocktails. Conveniently located in downtown, Andaluz puts you in the center of all Albuquerque has to offer. Hotel Andaluz. Never Stay Ordinary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Hotel Andaluz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Andaluz Hotel Albuquerque

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing