We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Class act all the way”
Review of Hotel Andaluz

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Andaluz
Ranked #8 of 144 Hotels in Albuquerque
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Windsor, Connecticut
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Class act all the way”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

This hotel is wonderful. Everything from the room, the staff, and the beautiful decor. The room service breakfast was excellent and they have Marble Brewing beers on tap, which is a big win for me! We are from CT, and just passing through Albuqurque on our way to Pagosa Springs, CO. What an unexpected treat this was. We really enjoyed our stay here and will be back again!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CTRob64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monica S, Manager at Hotel Andaluz, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear CTRob64,
Thank you for your kind review. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your visit and had the opportunity to dine in our restaurant Lucia, soon to be called Mas. It is important to our hotel owner that we promote local businesses, so we are thrilled to hear having Marble Brewery beers was an added win for you! Thank you again for your review, we truly enjoy hearing about our guests experiences. Hope to see you back soon.

Sincerely,
Monica Sanchez
Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,360 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    896
    282
    98
    44
    40
See reviews for
198
565
93
328
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (331)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We spent a few days in Albuquerque and Santa Fe, and stayed at Hotel Andaluz. I was impressed with the architecture, is a very nice boutique hotel in downtown. Rooms are small, but it is very well located close to restaurants and bars. It has a nice bar and restaurant, food is ok.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GQtravelworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monica S, Manager at Hotel Andaluz, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear GQtravelworld,
Thank you for your review. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your visit and had the opportunity to enjoy our historic architecture. Our hotel offers 12 different room types as we understand we must cater to various travelers. I am sure we can find a room which best suites your needs on your next visit. Thank you again for your review, we hope to see you back soon!

Sincerely,
Monica Sanchez
Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
2 reviews
Reviewed September 3, 2013

The front desk and event planning manager are terrible. I went to the hotel to see about holding an event (for a local non-profit) and both provided terrible customer service. The front desk was rude, didn't look at me and the event manager was just as bad. I met with her, explained the event, and she did not appear interested in the least. She said she would call but never did. I had heard of his terrible service from other locals and I'm sad to have experienced it first hand.
I will tell others to move their events elsewhere. It seems like this behavior is condoned (bad ownership/management). There are other venues who will gladly support local non-profits. Big mistake, HUGE.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monica S, Manager at Hotel Andaluz, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Dear Mark P,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. I was disappointed to hear about the interaction you experienced with our front office and sales team as this is not indicative of our usual high guest service standards. It is very important to our hotel owner and to us as well, to support local businesses and non profit organizations. I welcome the opportunity to speak with you further about your experience. Please feel free to contact me at 505.923.9050; msanchez@hotelandaluz.com or you may also reach out to our GM John O'Hara at 505.923.9004; johara@hotelandaluz.com. Thank you again for taking the time to share your experience, we look forward to hearing from you soon.

Sincerely,
Monica Sanchez
Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed September 3, 2013

My husband and I spent our three year anniversary there and enjoyed it completely. Our room was unique and well appointed. Modern while maintaining the historic value that the first hotel of Albuquerque needs to hold on to. Staff was wonderful and even brought us drinks to our chess game in the library. The stay was like stepping into a movie with the wonderful style and character this hotel has. We would love to stay there again!

Room Tip: No pool or spa but well worth it for the stylish feel and historic value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lorriet66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monica S, Manager at Hotel Andaluz, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear lorriet66,
Congratulations! We are honored you chose to stay at our property for such a special occasion. We are also happy to hear you enjoyed your visit and that our staff made an already special occasion even more memorable for you! We hope to see you back soon for more special occasions to come.

Cheers,
Monica Sanchez
Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed one night at the Andaluz en route to canyon de Chelly and Santa Fe. When we arrived! there had been a mix up with our booking (an Internet booking), and they had no reservation for us. Despite initial reluctance to help us (it seemed) we finally persuaded the reception staff/concierge to help out, which she did beautifully, and we ended up in a lovely room. We ate in the restaurant that evening and had a delicious meal. Staff were very courteous, room clean and comfortable, and I wouldn't hesitate to go back. A sanctuary in this part of Albuquerque, which is otherwise somewhat grotty.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SusannahP2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monica S, Manager at Hotel Andaluz, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear Susannah P,
Thank you for your kind review. We are happy to hear our front office staff was able to assist with the mix up of your internet booking in order to properly accommodate you. Our restaurant Lucia is definitely a great place to dine and we are glad to hear you enjoyed your meal and our friendly staff. Thank you again for your review, we truly enjoy hearing about our guests experiences. We hope to see you back soon.

Sincerely,
Monica Sanchez
Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013

My wife and I spent our 40 anniversary at the Andaluz. We had a wonderful stay, the history was on display and yet we had all the upgrades of a first class hotel, great bathroom, workspace, fridge, great bed and attentive staff.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank randyhuber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monica S, Manager at Hotel Andaluz, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear randyhuber,
Thank you for your kind review. We are honored you chose to stay at Hotel Andaluz for such a special occasion. We hope to see you back soon for more occasions to come!

Sincerely,
Monica Sanchez
Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Faenza, Italy
Level Contributor
39 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We stayed at the Andaluz Hotel a few days ago for one night. Apart from the reception which is really cool, the room was just average. There is no coffee maker or iron in the room and the valet service is way to expensive (16 dollars for one night).
Roberta (italy)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MS-aroundtheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monica S, Manager at Hotel Andaluz, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear ms73,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. Our property offers 12 different room types, as we understand all our guests have different needs during their travels. I only wish your concerns were brought to our attention as I am sure we could have offered a room which better suited your needs. I apologize our front office staff neglected to advise you coffee makers and iron and ironing boards can be requested at any time during your stay or can be requested prior to your visit during the reservation process for added convenience. Thank you again for sharing your experience we hope to see you back soon.

Sincerely,
Monica Sanchez
Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albuquerque hotels
Huning Highland Historic District
Hotel Parq Central
Hotel Parq Central
#3 of 144 in Albuquerque
1,637 reviews
Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town
#10 of 144 in Albuquerque
1,693 reviews
Hyatt Regency Albuquerque
#29 of 144 in Albuquerque
1,186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Isleta Resort & Casino
#27 of 144 in Albuquerque
624 reviews
West Old Town
Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Andaluz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Andaluz

Property: Hotel Andaluz
Address: 125 2nd St NW, Albuquerque, NM 87102-3304 (Formerly Posada)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Albuquerque > Albuquerque Original Townsite
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Albuquerque
#2 Green Hotel in Albuquerque
#3 Business Hotel in Albuquerque
#4 Romantic Hotel in Albuquerque
#21 Family Hotel in Albuquerque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Andaluz 4*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Andaluz shines as downtown Albuquerque's only AAA 4-Diamond hotel and one of Conde Nast Traveler's 2016 Top Hotels in the World. A classic hotel that has been thoroughly updated for the 21st century with chic, modern style, Andaluz is also one of few historic hotels to hold a LEED Gold Certification for environmental sustainability. The hotel offers two award winning bars and restaurants: MAS Tapas y Vino, featuring an extensive curated wine list and a contemporary take on small plates, and Ibiza, a wonderful rooftop patio bar offering a fun, relaxing atmosphere and tempting cocktails. Conveniently located in downtown, Andaluz puts you in the center of all Albuquerque has to offer. Hotel Andaluz. Never Stay Ordinary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Andaluz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Andaluz Hotel Albuquerque

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing