We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a treat! This place is truly a gem in downtown ABQ.”
Review of Hotel Andaluz

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Andaluz
Ranked #8 of 144 Hotels in Albuquerque
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed August 23, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for my birthday weekend in May 2013. The hotel was easy to find and had valet parking. Walking in to this historic building was amazing, it was absolutely beautiful inside. After walking around a bit, I recognized it from the movie 10 Years. Check-in was a breeze and our room, a romance suite, was very nice. The room faced downtown Central Avenue, but the room was very quiet. We walked downtown for a little while, then returned to the hotel and had drinks at the outdoor bar then dinner at Lucia. Everything was perfect. It was a little pricey, but well worth it for a special day. I don't think they had a pool, but that's ok since we weren't planning on this anyway. All in all, it was a fabulous place to stay and it's easily my favorite place in Albuquerque -- can't wait to stay again!!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Smtz12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monica S, Manager at Hotel Andaluz, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2013

Dear Smtz12,
Thank you for your kind review. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your visit while indulging in Lucia and Ibiza. We are also incredibly honored to have been your choice hotel for your birthday weekend! You are correct to say "10 Years" was filmed on our property. It was definitely a fun experience. Thank you again for your kind review, we hope to see you back soon for more celebrations!

Sincerely,
Monica Sanchez
Assistant Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,432)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

926 - 932 of 1,432 reviews

Reviewed August 22, 2013

What a fun place to stay! I am sometimes leery of historic downtown hotels, as they can have a funk factor. But the folks here have done a great job of keeping the character of the place while making the rooms sleek, comfortable, and modern. The woman who checked us in gave us an upgrade, and the room was very large and comfortable. I also liked that they didn't play games with wi-fi or a silly minibar--the fridge was empty for us to use, and the wi-fi was decent and free.

We ate dinner there twice and breakfast three times, and the food was great. You can get the restaurant menu in the rooftop bar, and we enjoyed eating outside. The service was excellent and friendly. A great example of the service was when our breakfast waiter helped us with directions to a place, and even went and got one of the city maps.

One thing to know is that you can easily avoid the valet parking thing if you're out in the morning and gone during the day, as the meters apply from 8 AM to 6 PM. We found parking very close by all three evenings, so it was easy to go feed the meter at breakfast until we were ready to leave. Yes, we are cheap! So when I say this was a great value, I mean it!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mocheleros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monica S, Manager at Hotel Andaluz, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2013

Dear Mocheleros,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your visit and had the opportunity to experience Lucia's breakfast service. Our staff is always looking for ways to enhance our guests experience, we are glad to hear we were successful in doing that for you! Thank you again for your kind review. We hope to see you back soon!

Sincerely,
Monica Sanchez
Assistant Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

I recently stayed at the Andaluz for 5 nights. It's wonderful. The decor is original and interesting. The front desk staff, especially Pamela, is courteous, helpful, professional and dedicated to service. The room service personnel are also as good or better than nay I have known around the world.

The rooms are well appointed and spacious. I stayed in the alcove room featuring a queen bed. I enjoyed the privacy of the set off alcove, much like a suite with a separate bedroom.

Lucia, the restaurant has an interesting menu with some excellent preparations.
Our party enjoyed the New York strip au poivre. It was cooked as requested and was flavorful and tender. The scallops were seared rare with a green chile buerre blanc (on special request by me) adding a uniquely New Mexican touch. Other entrees included the pork chop that was a little overcooked but with nice flavor and a Salmon special encrusted with pinon and dressed also with the green chile buerre blanc.

Appetizers were calamari, crab claws and mussels, all of which were flavorful in ways that were unexpected. We consumed them with great relish.
The Caesar salad was hearts of romaine with tasty dressing.

The hotel is located in the heart of downtown Albuquerque so if you are adventurous you can partake of the local youthful nightlife. There are several excellent watering holes and tasty local food trucks serving everything from pizza to Frito Pie... ask for Christmas!
B
ack to the hotel and compliments also to the valet staff, friendly quick and efficient.

The hotel lobby is lined on one side with Casbahs, arched recesses separated by curtains that allow a comfortable and relaxed setting for several people to enjoy beverages or meals.

I used to stay at the usual chain hotels in Albuquerque, the Marriott or the Sheraton, but from now on I will stay at the Andaluz. Access from I-25 is easy and the place is centrally located near the convention center and the various downtown federal and state buildings.

Once again thanks to Pamela and all the staff for an enjoyable and charming hotel experience in downtown Albuquerque.

Room Tip: I really enjoyed the corner room with the alcove
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cstarz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monica S, Manager at Hotel Andaluz, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2013

Dear cstarz,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your 5 night visit and had the opportunity to indulge in Lucia and our private casbahs in the lobby. We are also proud to read your positive comments regarding our staff members, such as Pamela. Our staff truly enjoys creating not only positive experiences but memorable ones as well. Thank you again for your review, we are excited to have you back as a frequent guest! See you soon.

Sincerely,
Monica Sanchez
Assistant Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Historic. Hilton's first hotel. A real gem! Very "green" without being pretentious. Everything has a different slant, i.e., reception is in a small room off the lobby and motion sensors in the room that turn lights on/off, cabanas in lobby. Helpful, courteous staff. Sea bass entrée at Lucia restaurant was exceptional.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank K F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monica S, Manager at Hotel Andaluz, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2013

Dear K F,
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are glad you enjoyed your visit and had the opportunity to learn about our green initiatives as a Gold LEED certified hotel. We hope to see you back soon!

Sincerely,
Monica Sanchez
Assistant Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

This is a wonderful old historic hotel that has been completely renovated. The room was spacious and comfortable. The rooftop bar was outstanding. The restaurant had an excellent breakfast. This hotel is modern yet very quaint with lots of interesting décor.

Room Tip: a mountain view is nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mragan22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monica S, Manager at Hotel Andaluz, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2013

Dear Mragan22,
Thank you for your review. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your visit and had the opportunity to enjoy Ibiza and Lucia . I agree, Lucia offers a wonderful breakfast! We hope to see you back soon!

Sincerely,
Monica Sanchez
Assistant Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

Hotel Andaluz is a must-stay if you're in downtown Albuquerque. The hotel is conveniently located - close to the freeway, and close to several restaurants and businesses in the downtown area. The lobby is gorgeous and highly stylized with a hybrid of ABQ/Mediterranean decor and several cabana sitting rooms that can be rented out for meals or happy hour. The reception desk was quite helpful and attentive. Check in and checkout were a breeze. Don't expect a traditional reception desk at Andaluz, it's much more concierge-like.

Our room was clean and modern with funky decor. I like that the hotel is environmentally conscious - auto-lights and A/C when no one is in the room, low-flow toilets with half-flush option, etc. I was very pleased to see that the hotel is pet-friendly but not pet-ridden. Several guests had their dogs with them and the carpet throughout the hotel was pet hair free. Be aware that the only parking available at the hotel is valet. This is fine for most - especially if it's included with your stay. It worked out well for us and the valets were great.

Overall, I'd say Andaluz was an amazing find. Next time we'll have to check out the restaurant and rooftop bar.

Room Tip: We had a corner king room right by the elevators, which I would not suggest booking! Rooms #01 and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KM_NV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monica S, Manager at Hotel Andaluz, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2013

Dear KM_NV,
Thank you for your kind review. We are happy to hear you had the opportunity to enjoy the details which make our hotel so unique and special. We look forward to having you back for dinner in Lucia and a cocktail in Ibiza!

Sincerely,
Monica Sanchez
Assistant Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

I can only say wonderful things about Hotel Andaluz. I was married there a few days ago and not only was I extremely impressed but so were my guests. The entire process of celebrating and planning our wedding could not have been easier thanks to the amazing staff! Every single employee was knowledgeable, polite and very sincere.

Room Tip: Any of their rooms are very comfortable and beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jlvice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monica S, Manager at Hotel Andaluz, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2013

Dear jlvice,
Thank you for your kind review. We are honored to have been your choice hotel for such an important life event. We are pleased to hear you and your guests enjoyed your time with us and that our staff made an already special event even more memorable for you, your family & friends. Congratulations! Here is to many happy years to come!

Sincerely,
Monica Sanchez
Assistant Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albuquerque hotels
Huning Highland Historic District
Hotel Parq Central
Hotel Parq Central
#3 of 144 in Albuquerque
1,750 reviews
Hotel Chaco
#1 of 144 in Albuquerque
158 reviews
Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town
#9 of 144 in Albuquerque
1,864 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hyatt Regency Albuquerque
#25 of 144 in Albuquerque
1,363 reviews
Sandia Resort & Casino
#31 of 144 in Albuquerque
520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Andaluz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Andaluz

Address: 125 2nd St NW, Albuquerque, NM 87102-3304 (Formerly Posada)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Albuquerque > Albuquerque Original Townsite
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Albuquerque
#2 Luxury Hotel in Albuquerque
#3 Business Hotel in Albuquerque
#4 Romantic Hotel in Albuquerque
Price Range: $172 - $265 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Andaluz 4*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Andaluz shines as downtown Albuquerque's only AAA 4-Diamond hotel and one of Conde Nast Traveler's 2016 Top Hotels in the World. A classic hotel that has been thoroughly updated for the 21st century with chic, modern style, Andaluz is also one of few historic hotels to hold a LEED Gold Certification for environmental sustainability. The hotel offers two award winning bars and restaurants: MAS Tapas y Vino, featuring an extensive curated wine list and a contemporary take on small plates, and Ibiza, a wonderful rooftop patio bar offering a fun, relaxing atmosphere and tempting cocktails. Conveniently located in downtown, Andaluz puts you in the center of all Albuquerque has to offer. Hotel Andaluz. Never Stay Ordinary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Andaluz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Andaluz Hotel Albuquerque

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing