We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Classic and elegant with an old world feel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Andaluz

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Andaluz
Ranked #7 of 144 Hotels in Albuquerque
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Byron Center, Michigan
Level Contributor
82 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Classic and elegant with an old world feel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013 via mobile

Have stayed at this hotel previously and enjoy the boutique feel of this hotel. Staff is friendly and accommodating. Some of the rooms are quite small but the large ones with the double sinks are fantastic! The restaurant has a delicious menu for breakfast, lunch and dinner!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrsadiaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monica S, Manager at Hotel Andaluz, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
Dear mrsadiaz,
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We appreciate your patronage! We are so glad to hear your visits with us have been filled with positive experiences and interactions. We look forward to your next visit!
Thank you again.

Sincerely,
Monica Sanchez
Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,329 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    881
    272
    94
    44
    38
See reviews for
193
549
91
326
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (328)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Bernardino, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2013

This was an excellent experience for me and my wife. The historic nature of the hotel was combined with fun elements, great music and the kindest of staff - I must disagree with the previous posting as we found this hotel better than most 5 Star hotels we have stayed in in Chicago and New York at a fraction of the cost.

We will return!

Room Tip: Spa and pool are across the street complimentary at NM Sports and Wellness
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kev M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monica S, Manager at Hotel Andaluz, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
Dear Kev M,
Thank you for your kind review. We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your visit and are looking forward to your return!
Thank you again, we truly appreciate hearing about our guest's experiences.

Sincerely,
Monica Sanchez
Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

My boyfriend and I booked a room at the Hotel Andaluz, looking forward to spending our last night together before three months apart.(my boyfriend is from England, not a local) We both smoke and really appreciated that Adaluz had a rooftop bar we could smoke on. When we arrived the receptionist was helping another patron, normally no problem. We were not acknowledged for 15 minutes, the patron had well been checked in to her room and they were just chit chatting....but we had not received eye contact or a hello. When she finally did acknowledge us, we asked for their BEST queen room and asked about the bar hours. She informed us that the bar was only open in the winter Thurs-Sat. We were there on a Wednesday. Not only did she not suggest another place for us to go, she wasn't apologetic. She acted smug. Like too bad for you.
The next insult came when we got to our room. Our premium room,(300$ per night), had a stain on the comforter and the room was located next to the elevator and appeared to be a handicap room----not a problem, but not what we needed/asked for. All night long we could hear every conversation and every person that came up and down the elevator. NEXT: We were determined to have a great evening despite the rudeness we experienced in the lobby. We brought a great bottle of wine and went downstairs to ask for a bottle opener, the receptionist sighed heavily and said, I guess I can look for one. Then my boyfriend asked if the hotel provide a shuttle to town as we would like to get a bite to eat. She scoffed saying, no we don't have a shuttle but YOU can call a taxi.
We made the best of the night taxi and all...when we got our car in the morning from the valet it was frigid and not running.
We are not high class folk. We like to be treated well and do the same for others. We were truly shocked by the horrific "treatment" we received. We would not return here if the room was free.

Room Tip: get a room at Hotel Parq Central
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Crow R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andaluzmgmt, Manager at Hotel Andaluz, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Thank you for the opportunity to respond to your post about the Hotel Andaluz. We are confused about your comments however as the hotel does not have a room rate at or above $300 per night during this period? We have researched our management logs and do not have any information of such concerns being brought to our attention during your visit and only wish we had the chance to address your feedback in real time. I am confident we would have swiftly addressed your comments. We would welcome speaking with you further to fully understand this information as it is not indicative of the Andaluz focus on exceptional service to our guests each and every time .

I can be reached at 505-923-9050 or msanchez@hotelandaluz.com.

Sincerely,
Monica Sanchez
Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midwest
Level Contributor
138 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

What a wonderful hotel!! The room was spacious, clean and the bed so comfortable that I actually slept better here than at home!! The valet service was awesome as well. The hotel was centrally located downtown. The check in/check out process was smooth.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tentmaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monica S, Manager at Hotel Andaluz, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Dear tentmaker,
Thank you for your kind review. We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your visit! We hope to see you back real soon.

Sincerely,
Monica Sanchez
Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2013

Old-style classic and elegant Southwest decor expertly fused with contemporary detailing. Placing individual entertaining / chill-out casbahs on the perimeter of the main lobby is a stroke of genius. There's a gorgeous library/business center with working kiva, in addition to complimentary computers and printer. Room included a small fridge/wine cooler; free Wi-Fi, and a desk with an expandable slide-out top with multiple electrical outlets for charging purposes. Walking distance to many downtown attractions. Close to the airport. Service was top notch.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mark J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monica S, Manager at Hotel Andaluz, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Dear Mark J,
Thank you for your kind review. We are thrilled to hear you had the opportunity to experience the various outlets our property has to offer. We are glad your stay was memorable and only hope to see you back soon! Thank you again.

Sincerely,
Monica Sanchez
Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
245 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

We really had great expectations for this hotel: great price, looked trendy and modern without sacrificing amenities, and friendly people. But the shower heads had such a low water pressure that taking a shower was an arduous and frustrating process. Otherwise, I'd give the hotel five stars. One of their main priorities is an effort to be "green", so I understand their desire to save water, but when it comes at the expense and alienation of guests, maybe they should rethink the shower heads.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank courtney9384
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monica S, Manager at Hotel Andaluz, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear Courtney S,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. While this is a new issue, we have installed 4 new shower heads for testing in order to ensure we continue to receive the highest level of feedback from our valued guests. We are glad to hear however, that your overall stay was pleasant.
We hope to see you back soon!

Sincerely,
Monica Sanchez
Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Level Contributor
49 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

This was a very comfortable hotel with a very cozy decor. The rooms are very clean and a reasonable size at least the one I stayed in on the sixth floor. The plumbing needs some upgrading since one of the night I woke up from the noise the pipes were making in the wall thinking it's a fire alarm although this only happened once. The restaurant and bar are very nice and offer a good selection and you can have access to a nearby fitness center. Staff is very courteous and helpful. The lobby has a very relaxing environment and can also accommodate for private sections. Each section is decorated differently. Certainly worth at least a visit for dinner or some drinks. They have some killer Jalapeno Cucumber margaritas in the mezzanine lobby.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AMontazami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monica S, Manager at Hotel Andaluz, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Dear Arambo,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your visit and had the opportunity to experience the hotel's multiple outlets. I have brought your concerns with the plumbing to our engineering department to research, as this is not an issue which has arisen prior. However, we are glad to hear you enjoyed the comforts of your guest room.
Thank you again for your feedback, we hope to see you back soon!

Sincerely,
Monica Sanchez
Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albuquerque hotels
Huning Highland Historic District
Hotel Parq Central
Hotel Parq Central
#3 of 144 in Albuquerque
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,602 reviews
Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town
#12 of 144 in Albuquerque
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hyatt Regency Albuquerque
#32 of 144 in Albuquerque
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,144 reviews
Isleta Resort & Casino
#26 of 144 in Albuquerque
4.0 of 5 bubbles 595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Andaluz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Andaluz

Property: Hotel Andaluz
Address: 125 2nd St NW, Albuquerque, NM 87102-3304 (Formerly Posada)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Albuquerque > Albuquerque Original Townsite
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Albuquerque
#1 Luxury Hotel in Albuquerque
#3 Business Hotel in Albuquerque
#4 Romantic Hotel in Albuquerque
#21 Family Hotel in Albuquerque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Andaluz 4*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Andaluz shines as downtown Albuquerque's only AAA 4-Diamond hotel and one of Conde Nast Traveler's 2016 Top Hotels in the World. A classic hotel that has been thoroughly updated for the 21st century with chic, modern style, Andaluz is also one of few historic hotels to hold a LEED Gold Certification for environmental sustainability. The hotel offers two award winning bars and restaurants: MAS Tapas y Vino, featuring an extensive curated wine list and a contemporary take on small plates, and Ibiza, a wonderful rooftop patio bar offering a fun, relaxing atmosphere and tempting cocktails. Conveniently located in downtown, Andaluz puts you in the center of all Albuquerque has to offer. Hotel Andaluz. Never Stay Ordinary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Andaluz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Andaluz Hotel Albuquerque

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing