We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Andaluz

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Andaluz
Ranked #9 of 146 Hotels in Albuquerque
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
84 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Great hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

After spending the previous night in an average hotel, we decided to splurge a bit and stay here. In reality, the cost was very reasonable and well worth the few extra dollars. The hotel is located downtown and close to restaurants and shopping. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. The room itself was amazing. Very updated furnishings and an extremely comfortable bed. I can't say enough about this great hotel. What a find!!!! Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank davidlspicer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monica S, Manager at Hotel Andaluz, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear davidlspicer,
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We are pleased to hear that your visit was pleasant and filled with positive interactions! We are looking forward to your next visit!
Thank you again, we truly enjoy hearing about our guest's experiences.

Sincerely,
Monica Sanchez
Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,234 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    811
    253
    90
    43
    37
See reviews for
178
516
85
299
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (302)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
Level Contributor
89 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

I stayed here a number of times when it was called La Posada so I was looking forward to see it after the renovation. I was thrilled with the way it has been preserved and enhanced, and the rooms are very well appointed. Central location is excellent and the staff was very helpful. We highly recommend.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank GavinF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monica S, Manager at Hotel Andaluz, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Dear GavinF,
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are glad to hear you had a pleasant stay. I'm sure it was fun remembering what the La Posada looked like and comparing it to what it looks like now as the Hotel Andaluz. As I’m sure you noticed, the owner did an amazing job at preserving the history. Thank you again for your kind review, we hope to see you back soon!

Sincerely,
Monica Sanchez
Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holyoke, Massachusetts, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Seasoned business traveler always looking for cute boutique style hotels...love this place. History, local flavor, comfort, huge cool factor, nice restaurant, awesome staff (love the valet and Justin) and coffee service in the lobby at 5 am! If you like Kimptons you will LOVE Hotel Andaluz.

Room Tip: mountain view was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cynthia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monica S, Manager at Hotel Andaluz, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Dear Cynthia T,
Thank you for your review. We are thrilled to hear, as an experienced traveler, that we were able to WOW you! We hope to see you on many more business trips to come. Safe travels, see you back soon!

Sincerely,
Monica Sanchez
Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

We actually stayed here the last two nights of our honeymoon which we spent mostly in Taos and Southern Colorado. We were scheduled to fly out of Albuquerque and decided to stay here for two nights.I cannot say enough about the service at Hotel Andaluz. Everyone was exceedingly friendly and helpful from staff members offering to help, holding doors, or just saying hello. Lauren at the front desk (fellow Jerseyan!) was especially nice and helpful.

The indoor courtyard is beautiful with some semi-private seating areas adjacent to the bar. Unfortunately, we did not take advantage because we got downstairs too late one night and we already had enough to drink the second night.

We stayed in the Zen Den which is a great room. Spacious, nice furniture, king bed, glass shower. A bit pricey for Albuquerque in November, but hey, that's how it goes I guess.

The last night, we went to Lucia, the restaurant located in the hotel. Great decision. I will review that separately.

Overall, the hotel is fantastic. Downtown Albuquerque is a little sketchy, but then again, all of Albuquerque seems a little sketchy, so don't let that be a deterrent.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank akissner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monica S, Manager at Hotel Andaluz, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Dear akissner,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us! We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your visit and other outlets of the property. We are also very honored that you chose to stay with us during your honeymoon.
Thank you again for taking the time to write such a kind review. We hope to see you back soon!

Sincerely,
Monica Sanchez
Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

We have stayed at the Hotel Andaluz many times—it's a beautiful hotel with great rooms, clean, and beautifully decorated, recently renovated. In the past service has been hit and miss. However, our recent reservation and front desk experience was our best yet. David Brown helped us make our reservation on the phone - was friendly, responsive, got us a great deal which is really nice since we're "regulars." Checking in today with David again was quick, easy, and helpful and he was humorous and playful which we love. Thanks!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monica S, Manager at Hotel Andaluz, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Dear Lisa B,
Thank you for your kind review. I must say we definitely enjoy David as much as you did! He is a riot and makes us all laugh on a daily basis. I am so glad to hear you also got to experience this first hand!
Thank you again for your review, we truly enjoy hearing about our guest experiences. We will see you next time!

Sincerely,
Monica Sanchez
Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona, United States
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Spent 3 nights at the Hotel Andaluz for a conference held at the convention center. The hotel is within walking distance of the convention center. The studio room was modern, clean and the staff were first rate. The hotel has a history and art to take in, the outside patio appeared to be a great place to hang out, enjoy friends and a drink. The restaurant had a nice variety of choices, good and offered at a fair price. The Andaluz is close to Old Town, though to far to walk. The Andaluz has an upscale unique feel to it..very relaxing.

Dislikes: Parking, and many items such as coffee pots, irons have to be requested.

Room Tip: Elevator noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 6jellybeans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monica S, Manager at Hotel Andaluz, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Dear 6jellybeans,
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are thrilled to hear you had the opportunity to experience multiple outlets of the hotel, while learning about our history and enjoying some local art work. We hope to see you back soon!

Sincerely,
Monica Sanchez
Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

This beautiful old hotel (the 4th built by Conrad Hilton) has been completely renovated and it preserves the best of the old while layering on the best of the new. In the public spaces, elevators, and even in the rooms, you'll find lovely and unique details including murals, woodwork, and archways that were part of the original design. Every single new element has been carefully chosen so that the artwork, lighting, and furnishings are all unusual and very aesthetically pleasing. While this is a green hotel it has none of the crunchy granola sensibility that you sometimes find in sustainable properties. The quality of the air is lovely and the scent of the toiletries devine. While we had a small room and bathroom we didn't mind because overall this hotel was such a pleasure to stay at. Service was helpful and accomodating. Our favorite feature: The little alcoves (all different) off the lobby where you could relax and have a drink in private.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SashaHodes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monica S, Manager at Hotel Andaluz, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Dear SashaHodes,
Thank you for your review! We are so pleased you had the opportunity to learn about our history and appreciate the architecture and green initiatives our hotel has to offer.
I would have to agree with you, the private casbahs are definitely one of my favorite parts as well, it gives our lobby a unique feature.
Thank you again for taking the time to review our hotel. We hope to see you back soon!

Sincerely,
Monica Sanchez
Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albuquerque hotels
Huning Highland Historic District
Hotel Parq Central
Hotel Parq Central
#2 of 146 in Albuquerque
4.5 of 5 stars 1,483 reviews
Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town
#15 of 146 in Albuquerque
4.0 of 5 stars 1,492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hyatt Regency Albuquerque
#28 of 146 in Albuquerque
4.0 of 5 stars 971 reviews
West Old Town
BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Andaluz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Andaluz

Property: Hotel Andaluz
Address: 125 2nd St NW, Albuquerque, NM 87102-3304 (Formerly Posada)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Albuquerque > Albuquerque Original Townsite
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Albuquerque
#3 Business Hotel in Albuquerque
#4 Romantic Hotel in Albuquerque
#21 Family Hotel in Albuquerque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Andaluz 4*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Albuquerque's iconic hotel and only one of three historic GOLD LEED certified hotels in the U.S. As a Four Diamond AAA hotel and winner of the 2010 Lifestyle Hotel of the Year by the BLLA, Hotel Andaluz has become the city's social and cultural epicenter. Our downtown Albuquerque hotel embraces you with redefined hospitality, historic significance, environmentally responsible design and luxurious amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Andaluz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Andaluz Hotel Albuquerque

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing