We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely”
Review of Hotel Andaluz

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Andaluz
Ranked #7 of 144 Hotels in Albuquerque
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
glasgow
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“lovely”
Reviewed September 26, 2012

stayed three nights here, great hotel and facilities although wifi signal not functioning , downtown area a bit strange but bus right outside takes you to old town or nob hill and gold street cafe round the corner great. bar was lovely as well to sit outside and see sun go down

Room Tip: rooms opposite bar terrace quieter - neeeded at weekend
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anniegirlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monica S, Manager at Hotel Andaluz, responded to this review, September 29, 2012
Dear anniegirlie,
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are glad to hear you were able to not only experience the hotel but our unique downtown area. Nob Hill and Old Town are definitely must sees when one visits Albuquerque! I'm thrilled you had the opportunity to experience both! Thank you again for your kind review, we look forward to your return.

Sincerely,
Monica Sanchez
Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,387 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    917
    286
    97
    46
    41
See reviews for
207
572
94
336
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (339)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012

One of my favorite hotels I ever stayed in. Such amazing design blending the historic architecture with morrocan and modern NM design. The lobby was STUNNING - so great that they kept the bones of this historic structure. I loved all the little alcoves to hang out in, especially the one with the living wall. I LOVED the fabulous library and sitting area - amazing design with a great assorted of books - art, food, travel, etc. The food at the restaurant was excellent and the rooftop bar was really nice - great design, also had good food and some decent views. The rooms were really nice - had a living room adjacent to the bedroom and bathroom was really nice. Even beter this is a Gold LEED certified hotel, so in addition to staying in a fabulous place, you can minimize impacts to the environment at the same time. I was able to get a room for the government contractor rate since I was there for a conference, so the rate was really reasonable. The only negative was the wireless was a bit tempermental while I was there.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank egallerie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monica S, Manager at Hotel Andaluz, responded to this review, September 29, 2012
Dear egallerie,
Thank you for sharing such a kind review. We are glad to hear you had the opportunity to experience multiple outlets of the hotel while taking in all the history and architecture. I would have to agree with you, the alcove with the living wall is also one of my favorites! We hope to see you back soon!

Sincerely,
Monica Sanchez
Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2012

This is a very pleasant hotel with nice decor and pretty good service. But - the location is downtown and not near anything much of interest, and we were a little surprised at the parking costs. Be sure to get a room on the far side from the night club. Even up on the top floors, if you're over the club, you're going to hear it.

Room Tip: Upper floor, opposite side of the night club balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ajweigl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monica S, Manager at Hotel Andaluz, responded to this review, September 29, 2012
Dear Tinger17,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are please to hear you enjoyed the hotel decor and had some positive interactions with our staff. Should you decide to stay with us again, please keep in mind that our 24 hour concierge experts would gladly assist in customizing daily events for you during your visit. There are many things to do in the in the greater downtown area such as, visiting our Old Town, taking a Trolley or Ghost Tour, biking and running trails along the Rio Grande along with museums, shopping and much more.
Thank you again for taking the time to review our hotel. We hope to see you back soon!

Sincerely,
Monica Sanchez
Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2012

We stayed at the Andaluz while celebrating our anniversary and thoroughly enjoyed the experience. We dined at Lucia one night and went upstairs afterwards to the rooftop lounge to continue the evening. Our room was not huge, but well organized and very comfortable. All the staff we encountered were friendly, helpful and always courteous.
There are several excellent restaurants within walking distance along Central, east of the train station which we also explored while staying in the area.
I wouldn't hesitate to go back!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KT32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monica S, Manager at Hotel Andaluz, responded to this review, September 22, 2012
Dear KT32,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us! We are honored to hear you chose to celebrate your anniversary at our property and had such a wonderful experience. Congratulations! And here's to many more anniversaries to come!

Sincerely,
Monica Sanchez
Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2012

Andaluz is a locally owned hotel with stunning decor, artwork, architecture. I don't see arches very often in Boston, and I must say I find them to be very romantic - they were everywhere in Andaluz. The restaurant, Lucia, as well as the bar, Ibiza, both had an aura of sophistication (and mystery!). Overall, I was in Albuquerque for a week, and this was the only hotel that actually exceeded expectations. You MUST stay here!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anooprerna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monica S, Manager at Hotel Andaluz, responded to this review, September 15, 2012
Dear Anooprerna,
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are thrilled to hear your stay was filled with positive interactions, and truly honored that you chose us to be your host hotel for the week. We look forward to seeing you back soon!

Sincerely,
Monica Sanchez
Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2012

Beautiful spaces, well appointed room in a hotel centrally located. After a very long day traveling thru desert it was nice to return to civilization when we pulled up and had a friendly doorman help us to our room. We were able to have our dog in the room and although we did not eat in the restaurant downstairs it looked very nice.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelmom028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monica S, Manager at Hotel Andaluz, responded to this review, September 15, 2012
Dear travelmom028,
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are so happy to hear you had a positive experience and thrilled that you chose to share it with us! We look forward to your return and maybe next time around you will have an opportunity to experience Lucia!

Sincerely,
Monica Sanchez
Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2012

Hotel Andaluz is gorgeous hotel. The staff was very kind. Be sure to read about their renovation. I thought it was interesting. Be sure to hit the bar or better yet the lounge suites (all a different theme) for a fabulous Happy Hour. The bacon wrapped dates are out of this world and were are favorite. The drinks were all very yummy. We tried most of them! They also had a singer and pianist on Thursday evening. The beds were very comfortable as were the pillows. The complimentary soaps and lotions are in large containers as to not be wasteful. All of them had a lovely smell and felt wonderful. I didn't use their shampoo and conditioner but my Mom did and we both bought products to bring home. The also gave us a fabulous military discount. If we go back to ABQ we will be staying with them for sure!

Room Tip: We had 2 different rooms and they were both wonderful so not sure you can pick a bad room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SpaDiva73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monica S, Manager at Hotel Andaluz, responded to this review, September 15, 2012
Dear SpaDiva73,
Thank you for your kind words. We are so happy to hear your stay was filled with positive expereinces in not only your room but in other outlets of the hotel. I agree! The bacon wrapped dates are out of this world!
We hope to see you back soon.

Sincerely,
Monica Sanchez
Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albuquerque hotels
Huning Highland Historic District
Hotel Parq Central
Hotel Parq Central
#2 of 144 in Albuquerque
1,664 reviews
Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town
#9 of 144 in Albuquerque
1,737 reviews
Hyatt Regency Albuquerque
#28 of 144 in Albuquerque
1,244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West Old Town
Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn
Isleta Resort & Casino
#24 of 144 in Albuquerque
669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Andaluz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Andaluz

Property: Hotel Andaluz
Address: 125 2nd St NW, Albuquerque, NM 87102-3304 (Formerly Posada)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Albuquerque > Albuquerque Original Townsite
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Albuquerque
#1 Luxury Hotel in Albuquerque
#3 Business Hotel in Albuquerque
#4 Romantic Hotel in Albuquerque
#21 Family Hotel in Albuquerque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Andaluz 4*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Andaluz shines as downtown Albuquerque's only AAA 4-Diamond hotel and one of Conde Nast Traveler's 2016 Top Hotels in the World. A classic hotel that has been thoroughly updated for the 21st century with chic, modern style, Andaluz is also one of few historic hotels to hold a LEED Gold Certification for environmental sustainability. The hotel offers two award winning bars and restaurants: MAS Tapas y Vino, featuring an extensive curated wine list and a contemporary take on small plates, and Ibiza, a wonderful rooftop patio bar offering a fun, relaxing atmosphere and tempting cocktails. Conveniently located in downtown, Andaluz puts you in the center of all Albuquerque has to offer. Hotel Andaluz. Never Stay Ordinary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Andaluz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Andaluz Hotel Albuquerque

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing