We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love noise, stay at the Hotel Andaluz”
Review of Hotel Andaluz

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Andaluz
Ranked #9 of 144 Hotels in Albuquerque
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed March 14, 2011

Take it from folks who never write in these columns, there are many reasons not to stay at Andaluz. Minor nits: the room wasn't ready when we arrived (no problem), but we were promised a call as soon as it was ready and never got one. We returned to the hotel at 4pm and the suite we ordered was ready. We had also requested when we reserved that the sofa in the living area be turned into a bed for the kids, but were surprised to see the bed already made up at 4pm. Silly. In order to use the living room, we had to either walk across the bed all day and evening, or have housekeeping remake the sofa, and housekeeping bordered on the surly when then came back to undo their work. There were other goofs, like sending us the wrong way down one way streets to return the rental car, or a noticeable lack of help with concierge service, that at the Andaluz means the person at the front desk when he/she is free.
But, as you can see from other reviews, the noise from this hotel's own night club is atrocious. In a shade of brilliance, Andaluz has built an outdoor night club on the side of its hotel. We must assume other favorable reviews stayed there on the weekdays, because if you stay in any part of this hotel on the weekend, you will either be partying at the night club, or you will be up until 1:30am. To avoid this we asked for the top floor as far away from the club as possible, and it was still really noisy. We realized we were in trouble when we saw ear plugs already provided in the room! I just don't understand why the hotel would compromise practically all of its guests in this manner.
We could go on about other things, like that Mom and Dad ordered the suite to get the kids in a separate room only to find out that the air conditioning is only in one room. And so, either the kids were two popsicles, and the parents sweated it out in a sauna, or the doors were to be kept wide open.
In conclusion, we didn't find the level of service or surroundings that a 4 star rating would suggest. But, we were truly disappointed by the nigh club's noise that no serious hotel would put its guests through, and we see that others have replied in this column with the same complaint. If that is where the hotel is looking to generate its revenue, fair enough. But for a family that wants to go to bed at 11pm, next time, Hyatt, two blocks away. No brainer.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pwgg4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andaluzmgmt, Manager at Hotel Andaluz, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2011

We regret that we did not meet your expectations. We take comments like yours very seriously and adjust the levels of sound, types of bands and music that is played at the hotel so that the experience of our guest can only be enhanced with the entertainment we provide.

We are currently making some drastic changes to our entertainment by lowering volumes, moving music to a quieter location and overhauling our entertainment programming. We apologize also for the poor customer service you recieved and have taken the opportunity to share your comments with Housekeeping and the Front Office teams. Hotel Andaluz is committed to providing a positive experience to each of our guests. We do appreciate your comments as it allows us to better enhance and raise our service standards. If future plans have you returning to Albuquerque, please contact me directly so that we can show you some of our improvements. You can reach me at 505-923-9050 or tbyington@hotelandaluz.com. We apologize for the inconveniences and thank you for your patronage.

Sincerely,

Troy Byington
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,399)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Andaluz
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,243 - 1,249 of 1,400 reviews

Reviewed March 7, 2011

I was on the 8th floor and could hear the music from Ibiza, the dance club on the 2nd floor patio. It did not stop until just after 1 am. I was very distressed by this as I was flying out the next day and was already going to have to adjust to Eastern time and the lack of sleep certainly did not help.
So if you are staying at Hotel Andaluz over the weekend I recommend requesting a room away from the patio (the higher the floor & the lower the last 2 digits in the room number the better.) Otherwise excellent location & clean contemporary rooms.

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kimber K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2011

I spent almost two months at the Hotel Andaluz and had a wonderful experience.
The staff was polite, kind and efficient. They went above and beyond what they
needed to do. The guest rooms and public areas were always clean and the beds
were incredibly comfortable. The food was excellent. I will stay there again and
would highly recommend it to anyone going to Albuquerque.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaggieM1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2011

Beautifully decorated. Atmosphere created by the decor is very relaxing. Staff are very eager to please.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thaznaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2011

If ever you should find yourself in Albuquerque this hotel is a must. In 1939 one of the first of Conrad Hilton's hotels (and first multistorey hotel building in Albu) it has been given a brilliant makeover by the new owner. He must be a native of New Mexico to want to spend so much on this fabulous old building in the centre of the city. It is definitely part of the recent history of the place. And if you think 4 stars is going to cost a fortune just call the hotel directly and talk to them; they have specials and will beat any of those agencies on price. We stayed on a Friday night for example and got a deal. The actual hotel fit-out is truly beautiful and room service is not just coming up from a cafeteria but from Lucia's the in-house restaurant. Excellent food.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank antnywallis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2011

Hotel Andaluz was on my list of places to try out, so when my daughter & I booked tickets to see "Wicked", we thought we should try it. Parking was a problem. We had two vehicles and met a friend for the day who also had a vehicle. I was surprised that we had to pay for our parking, and although valet parking was available, as we arrived, it was not offered. We had a small room since it was just the 2 of us which was fine; however, we were put in a room with a view of the roof of the lobby.... nothing nice about that! Room service breakfast was below average. Upon check out I specifically inquired about the parking policy (we had paid for one vehicle to stay parked; one to go in and out) We were told that everything had been taken care of upon our check in so we were good to go. As we were trying to get out of the parking structure, the attendant rudely informed us that we had to have a stamped ticket for the car that had been parked. We had to return to the desk in the hotel to get it stamped. Then after I drove 4 hours home, I got a phone call from the hotel informing me that I would be charged $50 for not returning the parking pass. Hmmmmm I had specifically asked and had been told we were good to go. I don't get it. When you pay for a nice place, you expect to be treated nicely. The little things do count. I'll mark this place off my list, not returning.

  • Stayed: February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank momNm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2011

Stayed in the hotel last week for 6 nights for work and its such a lovely relaxing hotel. Beautiful spacious room very comfy bed and overall a wonderful place. Would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wendylimerick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albuquerque hotels
Huning Highland Historic District
Hotel Parq Central
Hotel Parq Central
#3 of 144 in Albuquerque
1,680 reviews
Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town
#10 of 144 in Albuquerque
1,777 reviews
Hyatt Regency Albuquerque
#28 of 144 in Albuquerque
1,284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West Old Town
Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn
Isleta Resort & Casino
#25 of 144 in Albuquerque
695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Andaluz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Andaluz

Address: 125 2nd St NW, Albuquerque, NM 87102-3304 (Formerly Posada)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Albuquerque > Albuquerque Original Townsite
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Albuquerque
#2 Green Hotel in Albuquerque
#3 Business Hotel in Albuquerque
#4 Romantic Hotel in Albuquerque
#21 Family Hotel in Albuquerque
Price Range: $172 - $286 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Andaluz 4*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Andaluz shines as downtown Albuquerque's only AAA 4-Diamond hotel and one of Conde Nast Traveler's 2016 Top Hotels in the World. A classic hotel that has been thoroughly updated for the 21st century with chic, modern style, Andaluz is also one of few historic hotels to hold a LEED Gold Certification for environmental sustainability. The hotel offers two award winning bars and restaurants: MAS Tapas y Vino, featuring an extensive curated wine list and a contemporary take on small plates, and Ibiza, a wonderful rooftop patio bar offering a fun, relaxing atmosphere and tempting cocktails. Conveniently located in downtown, Andaluz puts you in the center of all Albuquerque has to offer. Hotel Andaluz. Never Stay Ordinary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Andaluz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Andaluz Hotel Albuquerque

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing