We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I expected more from Ramada”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Quality Inn University
Ranked #86 of 144 Hotels in Albuquerque
pittsburgh
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“I expected more from Ramada”
Reviewed August 10, 2010

Having stayed at Ramada's in the past and having good experiences, I was totally taken back by my stay at this hotel. The sink was dirty, the bath room was dirty, there was only 2 towels and wash cloth in the room. The carpet was dirty and when we went to bed and the linen was pulled back spiders came out of the bed linen. When telling the front desk attendant about my experience "they will try to do better next time." For me there willnot be a next time.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank azbound50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    18
    19
    12
    8
See reviews for
26
14
8
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
1 review
Reviewed May 15, 2010

My travel budget is not great so it was between the Days Inn and the Ramada (formerly the Comfort Inn). I spent a little extra on the Ramada because it was supposed to have a fitness center (an elliptical and a treadmill with a mirror to make it look bigger n pictures). The room was dirty, the bathroom was dirty, and the carpets had cigarette burns on them. There is no cable tv - only 4 local channels. Breakfast was okay - nothing special, just a typical continental breakfast. I was surprised to learn that other area hotels had free airport shuttles,but it cost me $30 roundtrip for the Ramada.
Overall, I would recommend staying at another hotel - there are many in the area.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RoadwarriorAl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Albuquerque hotels

Yorba Linda
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2006

I booked this hotel during Balloon Fiesta 2006 and was quite satisfied with the property. It is in the process of being remodeled, so some of the concerns from the previous reviews I found did not apply. The hotel is a 3 star property, but the room was clean and functional and the bedding was okay. The pillows could have been better, but that was the only item we could find fault with. Front desk staff was friendly and helpful and efficient.

The hotel is close to both the I-25 and the I-40, as well as Old Town. There are several restaurants within walking distances and there is a convenience store right next door to grab some goodies or drinks.

I did not use the pool, but several guests did and the area did appear clean and well maintained. The guests who were using the area appeared to be having a great time.

While not the best hotel in Albuquerque, this property is certainly adequate for most needs, but don't expect a 5 star property for a 2 star price.

  • Liked — Close to the park and ride for Balloon Fiesta, Old Town, and freeways
  • Disliked — The pillows were not very comfortable
  • Tips/Secrets — The Range Cafe across the street (Menaul) serves the best breakfasts!
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chele60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed March 6, 2006

I've stayed here a few times. The last time was 1/2/06 on a quick business trip. The rates through the hotel were only $49. So for the money, I thought the place was fine. There was wireless high speed internet which was a surprise. The place was a value. The front desk friendly. The bed was ok, the bathroom ok and the TV was fine with it seemed like a lot of channels. I Liked the room. Nothing fancy but for the price, no major complaints except for that I slept late and the housekeeping was a bit overzealous in getting me out at check out time, but she probably wanted to go home as well, so I tried to hurry and understand. I've seen nicer Comfort Inns but not at this price. The next step up hotel was in the $60 range and I just didn't want to pay anymore for one night.

  • Stayed January 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX
Level 6 Contributor
269 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 333 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2005

I booked a room at the Midtown Comfort Inn (Menaul at University) online at a discount, so it was a good bargain at $50 or so, but this motel has some real maintenance problems: slow drains, stained carpets, old bedspread, a running toilet. The staff was friendly, though, and changed rooms for me and let me print my airline boarding pass at their terminal downstairs. Still, not very clean or professionally maintained for a Comfort Inn.

Helpful?
3 Thank LuckyWest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2005

Spent one night at the Comfort Inn Midtown. I found the staff friendly and the room clean. Breakfast choices included waffles, bagles, toast, apples, cereal, juice, coffee, and milk. In my room the bath spigot dripped but the noise was not an issue with the bathroom door closed and I had no trouble sleeping. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank hawaiian717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albuquerque hotels
Menaul Development Area
La Quinta Inn & Suites Albuquerque Midtown
Americas Best Value Inn - Midtow...
#107 of 144 in Albuquerque
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Candlewood Suites Albuquerque
#57 of 144 in Albuquerque
206 reviews
MCM Elegante Hotel
#81 of 144 in Albuquerque
445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn University

Property: Quality Inn University
Address: 2015 Menaul Blvd NE, Albuquerque, NM 87107-1716 (Formerly Western Star Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Albuquerque
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #86 of 144 Hotels in Albuquerque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn University 2.5*
Number of rooms: 136
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Choice Hotels, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quality Inn University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Albuquerque
Albuquerque Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing