We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient, clean and affordable.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn
Ranked #15 of 144 Hotels in Albuquerque
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 22, 2014

The staff was very friendly and helpful. The room was immaculate, the bed super comfy. No microwave in the room, but has a fridge, iron and hair dryer. Even though the hotel is right off the interstate there is no traffic noise. The parking lot is gated and locked at night so your vehicle is secure. I have stayed at this hotel three times now and the ONLY complaint I have is the lack of a breakfast buffet. You have to order from an onsite restaurant (which you receive a $5.00 per guest voucher for a meal). Each time I hope the restaurant will get better, but I would HIGHLY advise to just toss the voucher and go get a good meal somewhere else.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Lisa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dos1, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2014

Thank you for the review. I'm glad to hear that you had a comfortable stay at our hotel. I will make sure to let my staff know that they are appreciated for their great service. I'm sorry to hear that the breakfast wasn't a great option for you and your family. I will make sure to let the department that handles that know of your concerns and advice. Thank you again and have a safe trip back to your destination.

If you need to reach us, please contact us at:
guestservicemanager@riograndeinn.com or
1 (505) 843-9500

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,813)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,202 - 1,208 of 1,813 reviews

Reviewed July 21, 2014

As far as location (proximity to I-40 and Old Town Albuquerque) and accommodations (well-appointed room, comfortable bed, clean bathroom), I was prepared to give this room an "Excellent" rating. Additionally, we were given vouchers for a sit-down breakfast in the hotel restaurant the next day which was unexpected. I thought that was "icing on the cake"! The disappointment for me and my family was the very slow breakfast service. I don't think it was because the servers didn't care so much, as implied in some reviews, but because the restaurant was understaffed. I think there were only 2-3 servers waiting on a huge roomful of people. It was so slow we contemplated leaving before our order came and I personally saw another family at a nearby table leave without having eaten. When my family's food arrived, we realized that one family member's order didn't come with the rest, so after the long wait, we had to wait some more before she got her food. The breakfast was good but am not sure if it was worth the wait. I think anyone not in a hurry in the morning would not mind eating here, but if you're on a schedule and need to be somewhere at a certain time, you may be better off eating somewhere else.

Also a smile from the lobby receptionist would have been much-welcomed after a long day of travelling. The lady who checked us in did it quickly but again, smiling to her guests would have been appreciated.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank surfnshopntravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dos1, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2014

Thank you for your thorough review. I'm sorry to hear that a welcoming smile didn't greet you and your family after a long days travel. I know that can always be a great thing to see. I also apologize for the slow service the restaurant provided I will make sure we can improve in those departments. I am happy to hear that everything else went great. Hope you continue to have great travels.

If you need to reach us, please contact us at:
guestservicemanager@riograndeinn.com or
1 (505) 843-9500

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2014

With a city as beautiful as Albuquerque, this hotel lived up to the challenge. The decor was lovely, the amenities were excellent, and our room was beautifully appointed and clean. We even had an adorable little towel animal waiting to greet us on our bed! Close to several different restaurants and walking distance to Old Town Albuquerque, we only wished we could have stayed in town longer than just one night. The bed was comfortable, and we slept very well. The love spell wore off quickly at breakfast, however. This hotel has the most complicated breakfast situation I've ever seen, and we wound up very frustrated before the food even got to our table. The waitress was in a bad mood and was barely civil to us, and when she wasn't talking to one of her tables, she was loudly reminding herself that she would be on vacation soon. The food was good, but not worth the hassle of everything else. Just go to Starbucks.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JasonnAmanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dos1, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2014

Thank you for the thorough review. I'm happy to hear everything went well with your stay at the hotel. I apologize for the trouble you had at the restaurant and breakfast situation. I will make sure to address it to the restaurant supervisor so they can speak to their staff. Hope to see you the next time you're in Albuquerque. Happy travels.

If you need to reach us, please contact us at:
guestservicemanager@riograndeinn.com or
1 (505) 843-9500

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2014

The hotel was convenient to both I40 and close to I25. Check in was easy; very nice girl at front desk. The bed was very comfortable; and the room was very clean. Free 'made or order' breakfast as well

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Elizabeth D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dos1, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2014

Thank you for the kind words and review. Couldn't say it any better. The breakfast is a great idea. Have a safe trip back to Tucson and thank you again.

If you need to reach us, please contact us at:
guestservicemanager@riograndeinn.com or
1 (505) 843-9500

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2014 via mobile

Nice, easy access to interstate and Old Town. Beds were clean and comfortable. The hallways and parking lots were littered, but we were pleased with everything else. The breakfast was very good, we used the $5 voucher included at check-in and were very satisfied with the food, though the waitress did not seem very interested in her job. Highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 48035Ladybug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dos1, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2014

Thank you for the review. I'm happy to hear that our accommodations were what you were looking for and that you enjoyed our wonderful breakfast option. Thank you for recommending our hotel. I do apologize the service the restaurant provided and I will make sure I let that department know of it. Have a great day and I hope that you choose our hotel the next time you are in Albuquerque.

If you need to reach us, please contact us at:
guestservicemanager@riograndeinn.com or
1 (505) 843-9500

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2014

For my money, this is the best place going in ABQ. My wife and I have stayed here three times and have found the staff to be particularly helpful and the rooms quite comfortable. Highly recommend a visit to the nearby Old Town Albuquerque and lunch or dinner at the St Clair Winery & Bistro next door.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank NavC130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dos1, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2014

Thank you for the kind words and nice review. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us again. We appreciate you coming back and giving us your business. Thank you for the recommendations. The Bistro is a good choice and real close to us. Hope to see you the next time you are in our area. Have a safe trip back to VA.

If you need to reach us, please contact us at:
guestservicemanager@riograndeinn.com or
1 (505) 843-9500

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2014

Rated 7 due to no microwave in the room and the excessive PET FEE. $20 per stay would be excellent for our VERY SMALL Poodle. $20 per night would definitely give me the idea I need to go back the Albuquerque Airport Best Western that charge $20 per visit.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Wayne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dos1, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2014

Thank you for your review. Sorry for having no microwave in your room. We do provide microwaves just have to let the front desk know and we can have one put in there. I do also apologize for the pet pee issue. We take guest suggestions serious and I will make sure to address the department that handles the pet fee to see if we can make that change. Thank you again. Have a wonderful day.

If you need to reach us, please contact us at:
guestservicemanager@riograndeinn.com or
1 (505) 843-9500

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albuquerque hotels
Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town
#9 of 144 in Albuquerque
1,864 reviews
Huning Highland Historic District
Hotel Parq Central
Hotel Parq Central
#3 of 144 in Albuquerque
1,752 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Chaco
#1 of 144 in Albuquerque
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn

Address: 1015 Rio Grande Blvd NW, Albuquerque, NM 87104-2031 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Albuquerque > West Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Romantic Hotel in Albuquerque
#17 Family Hotel in Albuquerque
#17 Business Hotel in Albuquerque
Price Range: $102 - $146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Full service hotel located in the Historic Old Town District with over 150 unique shops, restaurants, and art galleries nestled around the Albuquerque Plaza. The Inn is bordered by I-40 to the North, the Downtown District to the East, Route 66 to the South, and the Rio Grande River to the West. Swimming pool, hot tub, restaurant, cantina, business center, and free Wi-Fi. 100% non-smoking facility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Best Western, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Rio Grande Hotel Albuquerque
Best Western Albuquerque
Albuquerque Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing