We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Staycation!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn
Ranked #14 of 144 Hotels in Albuquerque
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Staycation!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is my favorite and I've stayed in many over my years.I use to live minnesota and when ever I would come visit my son I would stay here, now I live here and come in from time to time just to stay at this location its always so clean and so friendly, of course I do come here to see my favorite girl Krishna. She always has a warm hug and a glowing smile for me she is the highlight of this place. She makes my day. I hope you know you have an excellent employee and from the other comments I can see I'm not the only one who thinks she's just great. Always remembers what I drink and eat which makes me feel special. This hotel is like home away from home for me I would recommend this place to anyone who wants to be treated like family.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HowieKaibel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dos1, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn, responded to this review, July 6, 2014
Thank you for the review Howie. We appreciate your business and love having you stay with us. I will make sure Krishna knows that you appreciate her services. We love having her as a part of our team. She is a great worker and is always great with what she does. Thank you for noticing her great work. Hope to see you soon.

If you need to reach us, please contact us at:
guestservicemanager@riograndeinn.com or
1 (505) 843-9500
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,518 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    687
    525
    199
    74
    33
See reviews for
444
527
125
167
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kelso, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2014

This hotel is awesome. What struck us first, apart from the helpfulness of the staff, was the decor throughout the hotel it was impressive. The room did not disappoint - was large and spacious. The hotel is located towards the Old Town of Albuquerque and we had a pleasant walk into the Old Town to explore. There are a few bistros/coffee shops on the next block which were good. The pool was great and spent a few hours cooling down in it after our walk. We ate in the Restaurant within the Hotel and the food was excellent as was the breakfast the next morning. The staff couldn't do enough for us and helped us in every way possible being visitors for the first time to the USA. The hotel was great value for money.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen_Tam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dos1, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn, responded to this review, July 6, 2014
Thank you for all the kind words. Couldn't say it any better. Glad you liked our décor. It goes perfect where we are located. Happy to hear that our staff was great as expected. Hope next time you are in the states that you come and visit us again. Happy travels.


If you need to reach us, please contact us at:
guestservicemanager@riograndeinn.com or
1 (505) 843-9500
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burien, Wa.
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2014

My wife stayed at the Best western Plus Rio Grande Inn in Albuquerque, NM while attending a family reunion. The hotel filled all of our needs and the staff was very cordial. We would certainly stay there, again, when we are in the area. It will be highly recommended to family and friends. It is part of Old Town Albuquerque and its location made it very convenient to walk to the Old Town area.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank DaveEAndreaL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dos1, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn, responded to this review, July 6, 2014
Thank you for spending your family reunion with us. I'm glad you enjoyed yourselves. I appreciate the recommendations and hope to see you sometime when you are back in the area. Have a safe trip back to Washington.

If you need to reach us, please contact us at:
guestservicemanager@riograndeinn.com or
1 (505) 843-9500
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2014

Hotel was clean and staff was helpful and friendly. Slight problem with doors not opening all the time using room card. Heard other guests had same problem. Big Thanks to Krishna our waitress at breakfast. She was cheerful, answered all our questions and provided quality service with a great smile. Thanks Krishna!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank 824francineb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dos1, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn, responded to this review, July 6, 2014
Thank you for the review. Glad to hear that our staff was helpful and friendly. That's what we stride for. I do apologize for the problems you had with the doors they have been fixed since then. Krishna has been working for us for a long time and she is a great part of our team. I will make sure she is aware that she is appreciated and I will let her know that you said thank you. Have a safe and great trip.


If you need to reach us, please contact us at:
guestservicemanager@riograndeinn.com or
1 (505) 843-9500
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2014

Friendly staff. Hotel is just average, cobwebs on the corners of my room. I guess i notice the small things. Hotel lounge/bar is in need of a good cleaning also. I would think twice before staying. That`s it, my honest opinion.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Aaron M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dos1, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn, responded to this review, July 6, 2014
Thank you for the review. We take it into consideration what our guest have to say and we are always working on making our hotel even better. Sorry that we weren't up to par with your standards and I hope you do try us again.

If you need to reach us, please contact us at:
guestservicemanager@riograndeinn.com or
1 (505) 843-9500
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
114 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2014

Stayed one night on my way through Albuquerque in a standard double queen room.

Hotel is quite nice, clean and nicely appointed. Rooms are very 'New Mexico' with wood furnishings, and a slightly rustic look. Amenities in the room are nice (ProTerra products), and the hotel has everything you need for a good stay. Internet is a little slow, but not terrible. There is a business centre with printer and 2 additional computers and printer in the lobby.

Front desk staff is friendly, helpful and cheerful.

A special mention to staff member Seve who is very cheerful and polite, and helpful. He helped carry my bags and get settled. Definitely went above and beyond his call of duty. I saw him greeting all the guests that he passed genuinely - definitely a nice addition to the hotel.

The only complaint/constructive criticism I would have is the restaurant. The service is painful - slow beyond comprehension, and borderline indifferent. Individally, the staff are pleansant enough, however, as a guest who used the restaurant 3 times during my stay, each visit was worse than the previous. Getting cutlery, water, water refilled, the bill, a menu -- all of these things were painful! Staff is either unattentive, indifferent, or just plain uninterested in being there at all. For dinner, I ordered some food and then was told the cheque would come shortly after -- I wanted to order dessert, and the reaction was almost like I was being an inconvenience. Breakfast was quite busy, and several people had to wait some time to get seated. Food was decent. You get a $5 voucher that can be exchanged in kind, or there are a handful of items on the menu (which are reasonable choices that include full egg breakfast) that are priced at $5 making breakfast 'free'. Again, though, service was not there - food was dropped off - no cutlery...I asked....still no cutlery until I got up to get it myself. The servers were all cheery and friendly to their credit, just a bit too wrapped up in the fact it was busy.

Overall, a great spot to stay - would return, but would probably eat elsewhere.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellerDavy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dos1, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn, responded to this review, July 6, 2014
Thank you for the thorough review and kind words. I'm glad you enjoyed yourself and loved the décor. Happy to hear that my staff was friendly and helpful as expected. Seve is a great part of our housekeeping team and I will make sure he's knows that he's appreciated for his great customer service. Sorry to hear that you had a bad experience with the restaurant. I will make sure to let the head of that department know so they can work on having better service. Thanks again. Happy travels.

If you need to reach us, please contact us at: guestservicemanager@riograndeinn.com or 1 (505) 843-9500
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona, United States
Level Contributor
41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2014

Nice hotel with an on site restaurant. Rooms are clean and comfortable. Shuttle service was nice as no need to rent a car. Restaurant is understaffed so be prepared to wait but food and price not bad.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vicky S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dos1, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Thank you for the review and kind words. We are glad that we were able to provide you with comfortable accommodations while you were here. Also I am always glad to hear that we provided great service. Have a safe trip back to Arizona.

If you need to reach us, please contact us at:
guestservicemanager@riograndeinn.com or
1 (505) 843-9500
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albuquerque hotels
Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town
#12 of 144 in Albuquerque
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,642 reviews
Huning Highland Historic District
Hotel Parq Central
Hotel Parq Central
#3 of 144 in Albuquerque
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Albuquerque Original Townsite
Hotel Andaluz
Hotel Andaluz
#7 of 144 in Albuquerque
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,329 reviews
Econo Lodge Old Town
#11 of 144 in Albuquerque
4.5 of 5 bubbles 717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn
Address: 1015 Rio Grande Blvd NW, Albuquerque, NM 87104
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Albuquerque > West Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Romantic Hotel in Albuquerque
#17 Business Hotel in Albuquerque
#19 Family Hotel in Albuquerque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Full service hotel located in the Historic Old Town District with over 150 unique shops, restaurants, and art galleries nestled around the Albuquerque Plaza. The Inn is bordered by I-40 to the North, the Downtown District to the East, Route 66 to the South, and the Rio Grande River to the West. Swimming pool, hot tub, restaurant, cantina, business center, and free Wi-Fi. 100% non-smoking facility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Best Western, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Rio Grande Hotel Albuquerque
Best Western Albuquerque
Albuquerque Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing