We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not like the others”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn
Ranked #15 of 144 Hotels in Albuquerque
Certificate of Excellence
Albuquerque, United States
2 reviews
“Not like the others”
Reviewed July 23, 2013

I was very disappointed to find out that I had to pay to have breakfast at your hotel. I was given a voucher, but I still had to pay $5.00. In this modern area, it is very rare to come across a quality hotel that does not provide a free breakfast; AND I stayed at your hotel for business reason in the past, mandatory, and you provided light snacks during the social hour in your small bar area. I was looking forward to have a light dinner snack this time and nothing was provided. Overall, it looks like you are taking away some basic things that can make your hotel more enjoyable and financially motivate me to stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dos1, Director of Sales at Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
We are glad to see an Albuquerque resident spend a night away from home and at our hotel. We do provide a happy hour and light snacks during the week as that is when the vast majority of our corporate guests travel for business. Our weekend guests are usually here for leisure and like to dine in Old Town and experience the atmosphere of the cantinas around the plaza.

Regarding a free breakfast and quality hotels, most if not all limited service hotels provide a complimentary breakfast. Although, we are part of the Best Western family, a brand associated with limited service hotels, we are actually a full-service hotel with a restaurant, bar, conference space and catering services. As you probably know, most full service hotels with restaurants do not offer a complimentary breakfast. Think of Albuquerque's full service hotels located in the downtown and uptown neighborhoods. I won't mention their names as they don't need the free advertising but they are all quality hotels with brands that command rates much higher than ours who do not provide a complimentary breakfast or complimentary parking (we do!) or complimentary Wi-Fi (we do!). We believe that $5 for a full hot meal cooked to order and served by our wait staff is a fair deal but we will continue to listen to our customers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,662 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    757
    575
    217
    77
    36
See reviews for
489
579
138
187
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013 via mobile

I had the pleasure of staying here on two different occasions and let me say both times were a treat! The staff was very accomodating and when we asked for a room change so we could watch our bikes it was gladly given.

The beds were amazing. Once I got into mine I never wanted to leave it. In fact we left a couple hours after originally planned just because of the comfy beds.

Second trip my group went to the resturaunt. It was really good. The salsa for the chips needs some work as it was a bit mild for us. They have a wide selection of food from Mexican to Italian and everyone was pleased with their orders. I believe our waiter Was Shannon and he did an outstanding job. We were a loud obnoxious group and he served us well. I had the big burrito and let me say I can see why it is a local favorite.

Thanks for a great stay looking forward to staying here again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShrekGFFG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dos1, Director of Sales at Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Thanks for the feedback. I agree with the salsa being too mild but I believe they prepare it that way just to be on the safe side of the majority of folks' "heat' tolerance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kyle
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

The Best Western is a good hotel and I think that you get your monies worth. At the one in Albuquerque N.M. they didn't even offer morning breakfast. All the rest gave breakfast and it was great. Thanks Best Western

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank linda s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dos1, Director of Sales at Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Thank you for sharing your thoughts.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Navajo, New Mexico
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 18, 2013

Great place to stay. The staff is always professional and friendly, the accommodations are top rate, and the location to Old Town allows for many trips back and forth. Which means lots of shopping so bring your credit cards/checkbook. This was my second stay and I will be back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Phyllis G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dos1, Director of Sales at Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Thank you for the kind words and we're glad to hear that you will be back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nevada
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Hotel staff was very friendly for our late check-in. She was ready with all paperwork and helped us get to our room quickly. Room was very clean and beds were comfy. Lots of towels. the kids were able to easily connect to internet. I would skip the restaurant next time as the service was slow and food so-so.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Jenifer J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dos1, Director of Sales at Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Sorry to hear about the restaurant service. Feel free to contact us and let us know if the slow service occurred during breakfast, lunch or dinner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County, California
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2013

Room smelled stale, neighborhood didn't feel safe, phone and TV didn't work right. The air conditioner did work though. I would rank this as a 2 star hotel not a 3 star and I would not recommend staying here.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CAcouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dos1, Director of Sales at Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Sorry to hear that you would not recommend to stay here. I hope you reported the problems to the desk so we could fix the issues with your TV and phone. We do not want future guests to experience the same issue and we are unable to determine what room you occupied from your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olathe, Kansas
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 13, 2013

Beds are uncomfortable and the room had a funky smell (water damage, mold or previously allowed smoking???) but the ladies at the front desk were friendly and efficient. I can usually sleep for a solid 8 hours, but barely made it 5 in that awful bed. The parking lot is very difficult to get in and out of because they shut the main gate after a certain time (10 pm?) so the only way in and out is the narrow driveway by the lobby. The room was clean enough, but nothing noteworthy.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the property look directly onto a very busy freeway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NurseLadybug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dos1, General Manager at Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
I am sorry to learn that you did not get a good sleep due to the firmness of the mattress. We do have Serta Presidential Plush mattresses that have received many good reviews from many of our guests. Some guests have gone so far as to ask what they are and how to find this style to purchase. I fully realize that everyone has very unique firmness preferences and I apologize for missing the mark in your case. We do close the side entrance gates @ 10 PM simply to provide better security in our parking lot. The traffic in and out of the hotel normally is at a minimum at this time. We appreciate your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albuquerque hotels
Huning Highland Historic District
Hotel Parq Central
Hotel Parq Central
#2 of 144 in Albuquerque
1,666 reviews
Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town
#9 of 144 in Albuquerque
1,740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Albuquerque Original Townsite
Hotel Andaluz
Hotel Andaluz
#7 of 144 in Albuquerque
1,388 reviews
Econo Lodge Old Town
#11 of 144 in Albuquerque
759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn

Property: Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn
Address: 1015 Rio Grande Blvd NW, Albuquerque, NM 87104 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Albuquerque > West Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in Albuquerque
#17 Romantic Hotel in Albuquerque
#19 Family Hotel in Albuquerque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Full service hotel located in the Historic Old Town District with over 150 unique shops, restaurants, and art galleries nestled around the Albuquerque Plaza. The Inn is bordered by I-40 to the North, the Downtown District to the East, Route 66 to the South, and the Rio Grande River to the West. Swimming pool, hot tub, restaurant, cantina, business center, and free Wi-Fi. 100% non-smoking facility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Best Western, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Rio Grande Hotel Albuquerque
Best Western Albuquerque
Albuquerque Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing