We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Get Away to Albuquerque” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn
Ranked #14 of 144 Hotels in Albuquerque
Certificate of Excellence
Write a Review

1,261 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    562
    434
    172
    67
    26
See reviews for
360
421
109
145
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Fe, NM
Level Contributor
119 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

Recently my boyfriend and I stayed at the Best Western Plus Rio Grande in Albuquerque. We really liked the location of the motel as it was close to Old Town, the biopark, the zoo as well as various businesses and restaurants on Central Avenue. We had a room on the north side of the motel which was next to the freeway. We could hear the noise of the trucks from this room.
I would recommend staying in a room on the south side of this motel. This motel has plenty of rooms, probably over 100. The room was clean and the wi-fi worked great. There is a restaurant in the motel, but we didn't use it. We would probably stay here again, but in a room on the south side.

Room Tip: Get a room on the south side as it will probably eliminate the sound from the freeway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Soledad2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dos1, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Thank you for taking the time and posting a review of our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niceville, Florida
Level Contributor
61 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

We arrived late here and parking was tight. Easy to find, literally yards from the interstate. The room was nice and clean, bathroom was small but big enough. The girl at the desk directed my wife to an excellent pizza delivery (Pizza 9). We would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank The_Chuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dos1, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Thank you for taking the time and posting a review of our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

I stayed in this Best Western hotel on a trip across America. The hotel was nicely decorated in South Western style. Staff at reception could not have been more helpful.My bedroom was nicely appointed and very comfortable.
Breakfast, which was part of the package, was served in the restaurant . There was a good selection of food. The waiting staff could have been a little quicker.
The hotel is within 10-15 minutes walking distance of the Old Town and the hotel has a shuttle service which can be used to go further afield.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WeeNell30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dos1, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Thank you for taking the time and posting a review of our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santa monica
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

highlights: breakfast-must try the Eggs Mornay!, Decor is a colorful new mexican style and features the work of local artist. Rooms: quiet, comfortable and well appointed. easy to find location.
lowlights: would like to have had the local newspaper

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thewaynester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dos1, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Thank you for taking the time and posting a review of our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Croton-on-Hudson, New York, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

I was in Albuquerque for a conference and chose to stay at this hotel instead of the conference hotel downtown due to it's proximity to Old Town, major roads and attractions. I am so happy that I made that decision. My four day stay turned into six days as a result of superstorm Sandy (I am from New York). I got to know the hotel staff and the neighborhood as a result of my extended stay and availed myself of some of the handy features such as a laundrymat on my floor and the excellent business center. The food in the hotel restaurant is homemade and is very reasonable priced. There is a different delicious soup everyday. It is a short walk to Old Town and there is a Starbucks across the street. The only thing that I found inconvenient was a lack of stair access between the lobby and the floors. There were only firestairs that led directly outside. A small thnig that would not bother most people.... The pool and spa looked clean and inviting though I never had time to try them. I am returning to Albuquerque with my husband in June for a wedding and we will stay here.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maeve Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dos1, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Thank you for taking the time and posting a review of our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

The staff were extremely helpful and kind, the room were very clean and in good order. In fact everything was very clean and in great order. I can highly recommend this Inn for a great stay while in NM.

Room Tip: Always ask to see the room before check-in
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Quirt_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dos1, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Thank you for taking the time and posting a review of our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albuquerque hotels
Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town
#13 of 144 in Albuquerque
4.0 of 5 stars 1,439 reviews
Huning Highland Historic District
Hotel Parq Central
Hotel Parq Central
#2 of 144 in Albuquerque
4.5 of 5 stars 1,440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Albuquerque Original Townsite
Hotel Andaluz
Hotel Andaluz
#8 of 144 in Albuquerque
4.5 of 5 stars 1,177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn
Address: 1015 Rio Grande Blvd NW, Albuquerque, NM 87104-2031
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Albuquerque > West Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in Albuquerque
#17 Romantic Hotel in Albuquerque
#19 Family Hotel in Albuquerque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Full service hotel located in the Historic Old Town District with over 150 unique shops, restaurants, and art galleries nestled around the Albuquerque Plaza. The Inn is bordered by I-40 to the North, the Downtown District to the East, Route 66 to the South, and the Rio Grande River to the West. Swimming pool, hot tub, restaurant, cantina, business center, and free Wi-Fi. 100% non-smoking facility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Odigeo, Priceline, Travelocity, Best Western + Iniative and HotelTravel.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Rio Grande Hotel Albuquerque
Best Western Albuquerque
Albuquerque Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing