We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly hotel in great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn
Ranked #15 of 143 Hotels in Albuquerque
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 9, 2012

I stayed in this Best Western hotel on a trip across America. The hotel was nicely decorated in South Western style. Staff at reception could not have been more helpful.My bedroom was nicely appointed and very comfortable.
Breakfast, which was part of the package, was served in the restaurant . There was a good selection of food. The waiting staff could have been a little quicker.
The hotel is within 10-15 minutes walking distance of the Old Town and the hotel has a shuttle service which can be used to go further afield.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WeeNell30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dos1, Director of Sales at Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2012

Thank you for taking the time and posting a review of our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,768)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,507 - 1,513 of 1,768 reviews

Reviewed November 22, 2012

highlights: breakfast-must try the Eggs Mornay!, Decor is a colorful new mexican style and features the work of local artist. Rooms: quiet, comfortable and well appointed. easy to find location.
lowlights: would like to have had the local newspaper

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank thewaynester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dos1, Director of Sales at Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2012

Thank you for taking the time and posting a review of our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2012

I was in Albuquerque for a conference and chose to stay at this hotel instead of the conference hotel downtown due to it's proximity to Old Town, major roads and attractions. I am so happy that I made that decision. My four day stay turned into six days as a result of superstorm Sandy (I am from New York). I got to know the hotel staff and the neighborhood as a result of my extended stay and availed myself of some of the handy features such as a laundrymat on my floor and the excellent business center. The food in the hotel restaurant is homemade and is very reasonable priced. There is a different delicious soup everyday. It is a short walk to Old Town and there is a Starbucks across the street. The only thing that I found inconvenient was a lack of stair access between the lobby and the floors. There were only firestairs that led directly outside. A small thnig that would not bother most people.... The pool and spa looked clean and inviting though I never had time to try them. I am returning to Albuquerque with my husband in June for a wedding and we will stay here.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maeve Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dos1, Director of Sales at Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2012

Thank you for taking the time and posting a review of our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2012

The staff were extremely helpful and kind, the room were very clean and in good order. In fact everything was very clean and in great order. I can highly recommend this Inn for a great stay while in NM.

Room Tip: Always ask to see the room before check-in
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Quirt_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dos1, Director of Sales at Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2012

Thank you for taking the time and posting a review of our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2012

we come from Aberdeen Scotland we stayed in this hotel a couple of years ago and it was a grand place to stay then and it still is today the staff are very friendly and helpfull, the hotel is not far from the old town 5 to 10 minutes were there are plenty to see also plenty of restaurtantsbut the food in the hotel was pretty good aswell the room service was excellent the room was very clean and plenty space there is also a lovely swinning pool outside good place to stay we will go back and stay there

Room Tip: its a nice hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank susie146
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dos1, Director of Sales at Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2012

Thank you for taking the time and posting a review of our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2012 via mobile

The rooms in the Rio Grande open to indoor hallways, giving a more upscale, hotel feel to the property. The room was clean and nicely decorated. The king bed was magnificent and rivals the dreamy beds found in more expensive hotels. We found high quality soaps and shampoos which is always a nice surprise. The swimming pool is outdoors and too cold for swimming in October.
Others have mentioned the lack of a breakfast, which is a hallmark of BW lodging, especially a Plus. Though this property adheres to the Best Western guidelines to qualify for Plus status, most customers don't understand that the unremarkable on-site cafe satisfies the "availability of a meal" requirement set by BW Corporate. It is damaging to the Best Western brand to substitute a mediocre cafe where the food is an additional fee, versus the usual complimentary breakfast customers have come to expect. If a free breakfast is important, then I would check out the other 2 BW properties in Albuquerque. If not, then the Rio Grande is a lovely place to stay.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ShowLowBecky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dos1, Director of Sales at Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2012

Thank you for taking the time and posting a review of our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Had a wonderful room at this hotel. Very clean and accommodating. They had a shuttle to a local casino which was great. Located about15 minutes from the Festival Grounds but we had no trouble getting around the city

Room Tip: Can't say anything about the restaurant since we didn't eat there. Most hotels now a days g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank immrstigger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dos1, Director of Sales at Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2012

Thank you for taking the time and posting a review of our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albuquerque hotels
Huning Highland Historic District
Hotel Parq Central
Hotel Parq Central
#3 of 143 in Albuquerque
1,727 reviews
Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town
#10 of 143 in Albuquerque
1,831 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Albuquerque Original Townsite
Hotel Andaluz
Hotel Andaluz
#9 of 143 in Albuquerque
1,422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn

Address: 1015 Rio Grande Blvd NW, Albuquerque, NM 87104-2031 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Albuquerque > West Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Romantic Hotel in Albuquerque
#17 Business Hotel in Albuquerque
#19 Family Hotel in Albuquerque
Price Range: $100 - $144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Full service hotel located in the Historic Old Town District with over 150 unique shops, restaurants, and art galleries nestled around the Albuquerque Plaza. The Inn is bordered by I-40 to the North, the Downtown District to the East, Route 66 to the South, and the Rio Grande River to the West. Swimming pool, hot tub, restaurant, cantina, business center, and free Wi-Fi. 100% non-smoking facility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Best Western, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Rio Grande Hotel Albuquerque
Best Western Albuquerque
Albuquerque Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing