We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“on tour”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn
Ranked #14 of 143 Hotels in Albuquerque
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 9, 2012

we come from Aberdeen Scotland we stayed in this hotel a couple of years ago and it was a grand place to stay then and it still is today the staff are very friendly and helpfull, the hotel is not far from the old town 5 to 10 minutes were there are plenty to see also plenty of restaurtantsbut the food in the hotel was pretty good aswell the room service was excellent the room was very clean and plenty space there is also a lovely swinning pool outside good place to stay we will go back and stay there

Room Tip: its a nice hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank susie146
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dos1, Director of Sales at Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2012

Thank you for taking the time and posting a review of our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,789)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,532 - 1,538 of 1,789 reviews

Reviewed November 8, 2012 via mobile

The rooms in the Rio Grande open to indoor hallways, giving a more upscale, hotel feel to the property. The room was clean and nicely decorated. The king bed was magnificent and rivals the dreamy beds found in more expensive hotels. We found high quality soaps and shampoos which is always a nice surprise. The swimming pool is outdoors and too cold for swimming in October.
Others have mentioned the lack of a breakfast, which is a hallmark of BW lodging, especially a Plus. Though this property adheres to the Best Western guidelines to qualify for Plus status, most customers don't understand that the unremarkable on-site cafe satisfies the "availability of a meal" requirement set by BW Corporate. It is damaging to the Best Western brand to substitute a mediocre cafe where the food is an additional fee, versus the usual complimentary breakfast customers have come to expect. If a free breakfast is important, then I would check out the other 2 BW properties in Albuquerque. If not, then the Rio Grande is a lovely place to stay.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ShowLowBecky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dos1, Director of Sales at Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2012

Thank you for taking the time and posting a review of our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Had a wonderful room at this hotel. Very clean and accommodating. They had a shuttle to a local casino which was great. Located about15 minutes from the Festival Grounds but we had no trouble getting around the city

Room Tip: Can't say anything about the restaurant since we didn't eat there. Most hotels now a days g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank immrstigger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dos1, Director of Sales at Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2012

Thank you for taking the time and posting a review of our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2012

We stayed here two nights on a Route 66 bus trip.

The hotel is very nice, even though it is near the freeway there is no traffic noise.

The rooms are well decorated in Mexican style, with lovely touches like a branding on the headboards. The room wasn't massive, but it was large enough. The only let down was the coffee in the room, it was awful.

There was free wifi in the rooms and a couple of computer terminals in the lobby. There is a free shuttle service to the old town, but it really is less than a 10 min walk, as well as taking you to the airport and train station.

The staff we encountered were OK but not super friendly.

Dinner in the restaurant was good

As an alternative try St Clair Bistro which is just over the road, the food was very good

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Saral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dos1, Director of Sales at Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2012

Thank you for taking the time and posting a review of our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

My wife and I stayed here with a Contiki group as a one night stop over. The hotel was pleasant and the room was large. The bed was comfortable and the bathroom was clean and tidy. We ate dinner in the hotel restaurant and the food was nice and plentiful. Maybe it was because we were part of a tour group but the bar staff were a little surly and the wait staff just tossed the food down and ran. We would stay here again if passing through town. Overall a comfortable experience.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kiwis_can_fly_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dos1, Director of Sales at Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2012

Thank you for taking the time and posting a review of our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2012

The hotel is in an excellent location, a very short walk to the Old Town, and several other attractions and museums. It is a very well kept hotel, great decor in the lobby area as well.
Our room was large, clean and comfortable. Again all the furniture was matching and looked authentic for New Mexico, there is also a great restaurant on site and bar. Both are very reasonable and the food was great,

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sarahjaneivesane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dos1, Director of Sales at Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2012

Thank you for taking the time and posting a review of our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

Spent one night, clean room was a bit small with 2 beds, furniture, bed was comfortable, but heard some noise from the Interstate. Staff was pleasant, breakfast was ok. Low ceiling creates a cramped feeling for the lobby and restaurant, although another way to look at it is there is not a lot of wasted space in this hotel! Located on Rio Grande off I 40, not far from Old Town. Recommended, 3 and half stars

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank alashas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dos1, Director of Sales at Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2012

Thank you for taking the time and posting a review of our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albuquerque hotels
Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town
#10 of 143 in Albuquerque
1,846 reviews
Huning Highland Historic District
Hotel Parq Central
Hotel Parq Central
#3 of 143 in Albuquerque
1,736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Albuquerque Original Townsite
Hotel Andaluz
Hotel Andaluz
#8 of 143 in Albuquerque
1,425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn

Address: 1015 Rio Grande Blvd NW, Albuquerque, NM 87104-2031 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Albuquerque > West Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in Albuquerque
#17 Romantic Hotel in Albuquerque
#19 Family Hotel in Albuquerque
Price Range: $97 - $144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Full service hotel located in the Historic Old Town District with over 150 unique shops, restaurants, and art galleries nestled around the Albuquerque Plaza. The Inn is bordered by I-40 to the North, the Downtown District to the East, Route 66 to the South, and the Rio Grande River to the West. Swimming pool, hot tub, restaurant, cantina, business center, and free Wi-Fi. 100% non-smoking facility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Best Western, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Rio Grande Hotel Albuquerque
Best Western Albuquerque
Albuquerque Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing