We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great value and location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn
Ranked #14 of 146 Hotels in Albuquerque
Certificate of Excellence
berwick
Level Contributor
37 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great value and location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

Pleasant hotel just of the highway with good rooms and service, including a restaurant on site. Well appointed room with a good bed, ok bathroom. Restaurant on site has a good food selection with prices appropriate for a hotel. No free breakfast as with most BW but cost at restaurant is reasonable. Stayed three nights with restaurant meals for approx $500.00. Would recommend this hotel. Also within travelling distance to Los Alamos which is a must see.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank retiresoon2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dos1, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Thank you for taking the time and posting a review of our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,414 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    644
    490
    183
    70
    27
See reviews for
414
477
119
157
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bullhead City, Arizona
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

Originally said there were no privacy curtains. Finally found them. They are on the window side of the lightweight curtains (rather than the room side) and were hidden behind large decorative valances on the edges of the window ... And they are white to match the other curtains.

But in giving them credit for that, have to take off for water temperature control in the shower. Part way through showering, without touching the faucet, the temperature went up and down several times without me touching the faucet -- apparently being very sensitive to what other guests were doing. Having a room at the far end of the hall must make things sensitive to many of the rooms along the hall ... So my shower went from normal temp to hot, cold, normal, cold, hot, and finally back to normal as I finished. (Wasn't enough to scald, nor freeze, but still very noticeable) .

Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank T S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitehorse, Yukon
Level Contributor
258 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

Return visit for us based on location - reasonable walk to Old Town, right off interstate and a reliable choice. The rooms are spacious, clean and well appointed with comfortable beds, fridge in room - quiet and quite up to date. Service was faultless, apples provided on check-in desk. Business center to print boarding passes. No complementary breakfast in this location but the restaurant was surprisingly good - absolutely the best onion rings ever!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank muklukmary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dos1, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Thank you for taking the time and posting a review of our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

Good option if being close to the Old Town area is a top priority. The hotel is easy to access - right off 40 and Rio Grande is a key route north-south. Room was clean, with what seemed like fairly new decor. There is a nice pool.

I did have a couple of issues. I had reserved a non-smoking King several weeks in advance. I unknowingly was there for the first weekend of Balloon Fiesta. When I arrived to check in in the late afternoon I was sent to a room with 2 queens. I asked to be put into the room type that I had reserved. The immediate reaction to the fact that they did not plan to honor my reservation was a curt apology, but no other attempt to resolve the situation. Eventually, the front desk folks decided to put me in room 130, which is a King. Unfortunately, this room is located right near the exit to the parking lot where buses park and also an exit to the front of the hotel. I was woken up super early (~5-6am) both mornings by busloads of people loudly talking (actually yelling down the hall) as they left for the balloons. I'm sure this is not the first time this hotel has had balloon guests at the hotel, but no steps were taken to prevent the morning noise. Would have been great if there were signs up to remind people that some folks were sleeping. (My Do Not Disturb didn't do the trick...) or even someone from the hotel in the hall reminding guests to keep voices down. Additionally, there was also mechanical noise (AC?) off and on that might disturb light sleepers.

Would ask for a room on the second floor or higher.

Room Tip: Do not stay in room 130.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ajinNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dos1, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Thank you for taking the time and posting a review of our hotel. We consider your idea for next year's event.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
64 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012

The motel is nicely situated just a 15-20 minute walk to Old Town, the Natural History Museum, Explora, and the Albuquerque Museum of Art.

The room was mostly comfortable but the sheer drapes over the windows left the room much too light for my sleep. I took a walk to Walgreens (just beyond Old Town on Rio Grande) and had to buy an eye mask. Otherwise, everything else about the room was fine.

I did find it difficult to turn left out of the motel on to Rio Grande to get on I-40. I suggest you turn right, turn left at the first light, and then turn around in the Albuquerque Inn's parking lot.

I had breakfast in the motel restaurant once and was not impressed. Though the restaurant did not seem busy, it took a long time for my pancakes to be made and then, once they did arrive, they were warm and hard. The table, when I sat down, had a large puddle on it that my waiter didn't seem to notice and I had to ask him to wipe it down. My waiter never did bring the juice I ordered but took $1 off the bill for messing up.

Overall, a good motel -- just bring an eye mask if you like a dark room.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SanDiegan79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dos1, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Thank you for taking the time and posting a review of our hotel. Please note there are black out drapes behind the sheers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level Contributor
73 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

We frequently stay in Best Westerns when we travel, and I was happy to find this hotel within walking distance to Old Town and restaurants for such a reasonable price. For being so close to the highway, it was amazingly quiet. We were here 4 nights and were perfectly comfortable in a large room with a king bed. I did not book a rate that included breakfast, but we ended up eating breakfast each morning at their restaurant, and received a discount since we were staying there. Did not use the pool or the lounge, so cannot comment on those, but liked the St. Clair Winery Bistro that is almost next door.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SanDiegoCoco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dos1, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Thank you for taking the time and posting a review of our hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

Part of Virgin Route 66 trip. Very nice hotel, clean, tidy and friendly.

Rooms are modern and clean with no problems whatsoever. To say the hotel is next to the interstate you cannot hear a thing. Very impressive.

The pool is ok along with the jacuzzi. Clean and customer towels available. Bar is a mile away but that is not a problem. The only thing spoiling the experience round the pool and in the bar was one drunk woman who decided to talk as if she had a megaphone stuck down her throat.

Nice comnplimentary breakfast, better than most hotels on the route 66 trip.

Good hotel, nice staff, nice room, bar closed at 11 PM - little disspointing but all in all very nice.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wild87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dos1, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Thank you for taking the time and posting a review of our hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albuquerque hotels
Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town
#15 of 146 in Albuquerque
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,551 reviews
Huning Highland Historic District
Hotel Parq Central
Hotel Parq Central
#4 of 146 in Albuquerque
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Albuquerque Original Townsite
Hotel Andaluz
Hotel Andaluz
#11 of 146 in Albuquerque
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn
Address: 1015 Rio Grande Blvd NW, Albuquerque, NM 87104-2031
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Albuquerque > West Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in Albuquerque
#17 Romantic Hotel in Albuquerque
#19 Family Hotel in Albuquerque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Full service hotel located in the Historic Old Town District with over 150 unique shops, restaurants, and art galleries nestled around the Albuquerque Plaza. The Inn is bordered by I-40 to the North, the Downtown District to the East, Route 66 to the South, and the Rio Grande River to the West. Swimming pool, hot tub, restaurant, cantina, business center, and free Wi-Fi. 100% non-smoking facility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com and Priceline so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Rio Grande Hotel Albuquerque
Best Western Albuquerque
Albuquerque Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing