We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location, close to I-40 and Old Towne”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn
Ranked #15 of 144 Hotels in Albuquerque
Certificate of Excellence
Missouri
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Good Location, close to I-40 and Old Towne”
Reviewed June 19, 2011

Easy to find, close to I-40. Check in personnel could have been friendlier and helpful. Room was spacious and clean. Good rate for area. Close to Old Towne and Rte. 66. Stumbled upon the Standard Diner on Old Rte 66 east of hotel. It was featured on tv show about Diners and Drive-Ins and Dives. Did not have continental breakfast only drawback to our stay. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Millard74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,627 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    735
    564
    217
    77
    34
See reviews for
473
570
136
182
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Utah
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2011

The room was OK and the bed was comfortable. The first room we were given had a significant defect in the door and the cad wouldn't even open it. We were given another room , but I noticed several of the doors were bowed away from the frame and didn't seem secure. The front desk staff were young and inexperienced, but they tried to be helpful. It was worth it for the priceline bid we won, but I wouldn't stay for the regular rates

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UtahBrowntrout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2011

We stayed at the Best Western Rio Grande because of its location near Old Town. Probably not a good reason. When entering the building you are hit with a strong smell of cleaning solution. Then a ride up an elevator in which the ceiling shakes and rattles. The room was okay. Nothing really special. It appeared clean and was stocked as one would expect. The room was very noisy with banging doors throughout the night to entertain you. Our room faced I-40, but the noise was really not a factor. The A/C seemed to be fairly new. There is a restuarant (did not use). The staff was friendly and helpful. We found that when it is 90+ degrees you will probably drive down to Old Town anyway, so there are many other hotel choices in Albuquerque. Our stay was okay but we will probably stay elsewhere on our next trip through Albuquerque.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sage102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2011

We used to live in Albuquerque and find this the perfect place to stay when we come back to visit. It is great for the kids (pool!), has nice rooms, decent prices and is very well-located for kid-friendly activities. If you know Albuquerque you know that finding a place without crime (or noise) is basically impossible. Just be smart and don't leave your stuff in your car. Like some Best Westerns, it doesn't have breakfast, but with The Frontier Restaurant just a couple miles away, who would bother with cold fruit loops? We have stayed there 3 times and don't even bother to look for other hotels.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lesliecryan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, TN
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2011

This hotel has a great location - right off the interstate and within walking distance to shopping and restaurants. They seemed to have a crime problem, we noticed signs about not leaving valuables and they closed the parking lot gates at night. When we walked to Old Town, all the buildings had gates on the doors and windows and fences, but we did not have any problems. The Southwestern decor was cute, the rooms small. The hotel seemed fairly old, but clean and well taken care of. We booked this hotel on Priceline so we had a great price. No continental breakfast, but you got a 10% discount at their restaurant.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ConDunk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 27, 2011

We just got back from a 3 day, 4 night stay at the Best Western Rio Grande Inn. On the plus side, we had a good price and the location was excellent (10 min walk to Old Town, 15 min walk to a bus stop so we could take a bus to the rail station, 2 min walk to Starbucks). The hotel also had a shuttle that was convenient to book, although the destinations were limited, and the restaurant served good food.(although breakfast was not included in the room price)

However, the room itself was disappointing. To begin with, the TV was out of date. The colors were off, giving everything a pink hue. Plus, the hotel has just replaced the remotes with ones that are easier to disinfect. Good for cleanliness, but we couldn't get the captions off the TV or set the sleep function. Someone from maintenence did try in earnest to fix it or to find the original remote, but he was unsuccessful. Additionally, the blankets were thin and the room was noisy. We could here the guests in the next room, and between the refridgerator that sounded like it was on it's last legs and the AC that woke my husband up everytime it kicked on, we had some rough nights sleeping.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Catie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surrey, UK
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2011

Stayed here on route 66 tour travelling East to West with my 11 and 3 year old. Booked as part of a whole tour so unsure of exact room rate.

Plenty of free parking and can park nearer rooms. Huge hotel

Outdoor pool which was clean and sunny. Free towels and plenty of sunbeds. Jacuzzi.

Free internet

Hotel offers free shuttle bus within 1 mile although I used my own car as its cheap and easy to park in town. Not far from the old town of albuquerque which is a great place to spend a day or so.

Stayed at this hotel 2 nights.

Complimentary breakfast included but it was disappointing compared to the whole menu which looked amazing. Food took forever to be served so we didnt bother on the second day

Good night sleep. Good sized room. Hotel decorated in bright colours in keeping with local town

Very near interstate.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank willowhopkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albuquerque hotels
Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town
#9 of 144 in Albuquerque
1,716 reviews
Huning Highland Historic District
Hotel Parq Central
Hotel Parq Central
#3 of 144 in Albuquerque
1,652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Albuquerque Original Townsite
Hotel Andaluz
Hotel Andaluz
#7 of 144 in Albuquerque
1,372 reviews
Econo Lodge Old Town
#10 of 144 in Albuquerque
744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn

Property: Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn
Address: 1015 Rio Grande Blvd NW, Albuquerque, NM 87104 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Albuquerque > West Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Romantic Hotel in Albuquerque
#17 Business Hotel in Albuquerque
#19 Family Hotel in Albuquerque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 173
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Full service hotel located in the Historic Old Town District with over 150 unique shops, restaurants, and art galleries nestled around the Albuquerque Plaza. The Inn is bordered by I-40 to the North, the Downtown District to the East, Route 66 to the South, and the Rio Grande River to the West. Swimming pool, hot tub, restaurant, cantina, business center, and free Wi-Fi. 100% non-smoking facility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Best Western, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Rio Grande Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Rio Grande Hotel Albuquerque
Best Western Albuquerque
Albuquerque Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing