We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Crazy but good”

Annapurna’s World Vegetarian Cafe
Ranked #299 of 1,763 Restaurants in Albuquerque
Price range: $7 - $12
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Street Parking, Takeout
Description: Annapurna's World Vegetarian Cafe is a world-class Vegan~Vegetarian Restaurant with locations in Albuquerque and Santa Fe. We offer homestyle organic vegan food. There are many vegetarian restaurants in the nation, however, what differentiates Annapurna's is our ability to offer Ayurvedic vegan fresh food that is locally grown. Our organic vegan fresh food is offered with spices and vegetarian food that are made fresh daily. Eating on the go with fast foods can quickly lead to fast food addiction which, in turn, leads to severe imbalance of your physical and mental well-being. Annapurna's World Vegetarian Cafe has the cure to this everyday imbalance. It's known as the "Ayurvedic Way" or most commonly known as "The Science of Life." So when you are looking for an organic Vegan Restaurant with authentic vegetarian native foods, stop and visit Annapurna's World Vegetarian Restaurant at one of our two Vegan Restaurants in Albuquerque or Santa Fe.
Belen, New Mexico
Level Contributor
46 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Crazy but good”
Reviewed May 18, 2013

I do not believe this is a restaurant for your "average American". The most normal find on the menu is tofu scramble or a burger. I personally love this place! I usually get samosa and dal! It is so flavorful! The desserts are a little dry, I would suggest skipping out on them. But the coconut juice is to dry for! You do have to be a little opened minded because the food is creative and different. The atmosphere is very cool and Hindi like. The waitress is pretty average, nothing to complain about. I would recommend this restaurant for vegans, vegetarians, gluten intolerant and for people that are opened minded towards food,

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    22
    7
    5
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
53 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Stellar!”
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Where to begin? This is a true gem and already a real magnet to return to New Mexico sooner than later. I stopped in for breakfast and was so thrilled to find so many gluten free, delicious options. I had a tofu scramble, which for whatever reason I chose. It was outrageous - it came deliciously spiced, with 3 choices of vegetable - on the side were masala fries (wow were they killer!) a cup of chana masala (chick peas, tomato, veg and spices) a big amazing crispy chapati. All the flavors were memorable and the presentation really lovely. A cup of their fantastic chai topped off an incredible breakfast. So impressed! The place looks really unimaginative from the outside, but step inside and you instantly will appreciate the warmth, health and vibrancy offered here. I love Annapurna!!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank abstractmuse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
33 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“This is the kind of food you eat to punish yourself”
Reviewed March 12, 2013

Has the pretense of being Ayurvedic. The only reason to eat here is if you want to either punish yourself, or if you'd like to be able to tell your cool hipster friends about how you got cleansed by eating vegan swill. In all fairness after I ate there my entire lower alimentary canal was thoroughly cleansed all night, so maybe it works after all, although I dint realize the cleansing mechanism was explosive diarrhea.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bobajobabob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holland, Michigan
Level Contributor
419 reviews
227 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“It was good”
Reviewed December 28, 2012

We didn't know this was vegetarian. It was good, but the staff was too busy playing on the computer to bring the food the car for the carry out.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Paulette Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
1 review
“MICROWAVED DISGUSTING FOOD! NOT EVEN REAL INDIAN FOOD!”
Reviewed November 4, 2012

disgusting food that was not fresh and tasted nothing like indian food! i am indian and can tell you this place made everything out of cheap ingredient substitutes instead of the real fresh ingredient it is supposed to be made of! please read reviews from other indian people and youll see this place is just a disappointment. im insulted they call this food indian food because it looks and tastes nothing like it!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank S p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnnapurnaWVC, Owner at Annapurna’s World Vegetarian Cafe, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
If you would please email me (yashoda@chaishoppe.com) the details, especially the time and date of your visit. I will look into the matter and make sure that you are provided a proper replacement meal. My apologizes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Annapurna’s World Vegetarian Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Annapurna’s World Vegetarian Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing