We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Little Coffee shop with killer waffles”
Review of Java Joe's

Java Joe's
Ranked #158 of 1,769 Restaurants in Albuquerque
Neighborhood: Raynolds Addition
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Raynolds Addition
Flagstaff, Arizona
Level Contributor
276 reviews
191 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
“Nice Little Coffee shop with killer waffles”
Reviewed February 20, 2014

I don't even like coffee but went in here for the waffles, slathered in house-whipped cream and berries. Wifey said the coffee was superb and the musician playing on this Sunday morning was really good. Good hangout even if you don't like coffee.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank murphy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    26
    6
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, New Mexico, United States
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Not really”
Reviewed January 3, 2014 via mobile

Aggressive staff makes you feel unwelcome. Cold poorly cooked food. Do I need to say more? The hot cocoa was cold, the plate of eggs were cold

Helpful?
Thank Shawnkirch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
72 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Sunday morning with bad guitar”
Reviewed December 29, 2013

As far as coffee and food: Coffee was average, nothing special. Food was very good. I had the SW Bennedict. Other offerings look quite tasty.

BUT.... the atmosphere was hard to take.

I admit, maybe I'm being a curmugeon, but the "talent" the morning I went in was more appropriate to Saturday evening after I've had a few beers, instead of Sunday morning before I've had coffee. A mix of Bob Dylan and Tex-Mex, but without any skill on the guitar and only a passable voice. Also too loud.

I'm glad they let local talent play, but maybe early on the weekends they could go with something less likely to induce a worse handover.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank WiscPedalGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica
Level Contributor
37 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Casual ambiance + nice people + entertainment”
Reviewed May 18, 2013

Easy to walk-bike-drive to due to being right off Central Avenue with lots of parking. Reasonable prices, good quality, nice service, relaxed-casual ambiance, easy to wile away the afternoon. I visited on a Sunday and there was a live solo musician keeping one entertained if you sat inside. I enjoyed the perfect weather at outdoor seating and the fact that being just a nudge of the main street (Central Avenue) keeps the feel relaxing. ENJOY! SUPPORT DOWNTOWN ALBUQUERQUE AND THE NON-CHAIN STORE LOCALES.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank SMGalNewDiscoveries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pocatello, Idaho, United States
Level Contributor
102 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Mr. Seth plays there”
Reviewed March 8, 2013

This is an average coffee bar. But, they allow local talent to play and my son's teacher plays often. So, we go and have a muffin and listen to folk music, enjoy the crowd.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Susan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Java Joe's also viewed

 

Been to Java Joe's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing