We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A real gem” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mauger Estate B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Mauger Estate B&B
Ranked #3 of 15 Albuquerque B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Scotland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A real gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here just one night and would have loved to stay longer. Its a beautiful house and we couldnt have asked for more. Every detail has been thought out, from the velvet clothes hangers to the wine and nibbles in the afternoon. Excellent recommendation for a restaurant within walking distance. Breakfast at the B&B was perfect. Location - easy to walk to downtown and a bus that takes you to Nob Hill for only $1 (or $2 all day ticket).


  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank heatherbellescotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    249
    39
    6
    2
    0
See reviews for
42
156
38
42
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
246 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

This is a charming B&B in a convenient location near downtown, but in a residential area. The house oozes the old history of Albuquerque. Our room was comfortable and well appointed with a refrigerator and coffee maker. The inn has a parking lot behind it which was very convenient for carrying luggage into the house. We'll stay there again as it is so comfortable and personable.
Breakfast was lovely.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank grand old girl b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surprise, Arizona
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

We spent 2 nights at the Mauger B & B. Tammy made us feel welcome as soon as we arrived. The morning breakfasts were delicious. Our room was spacious and very comfortable. We enjoyed sitting on the large front porch and chatting with the other guests, during the afternoon wine and cheese gatherings. Tammy is very generous in sharing all of her recipes. Our room was spacious and very comfortable. There is no doubt that we will be returning to the Mauger.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jmjbrj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

Last year I stayed at the Mauger Inn for the first time and loved. When my most recent trip called for a stop in Albuquerque, I added a second day to the visit and made the Mauger Inn my home.

The experience starts with the spacious, comfortable, and inviting front porch. I comfortably sit on the porch reading a book, watching the world go by, and simply enjoy the quiet sounds of old Albuquerque.

The rooms are clean, fresh, homey, and very spacious. I have been here in the summer both time and I never get that stuffy feeling and older house could generate in the summer. I sleep like a rock and wake-up refreshed.

Then, there is the breakfast -- a wonderful dining experience. Fresh fruit, yogurt, delicious homemade granola, freshly made coffee cake or muffins, and a delicious egg casserole -- the last time was a southwestern quiche.

The proprietor, Tammy and her staff are very personable and engaging. They make it a point to get to know their guests and provide introductions if there are common interests or experiences.

If you are coming to Albuquerque, I cannot think of a better place to stay. In fact, this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SalesCooke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, v
Level Contributor
59 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

We often visit Albuquerque and often stay at the Mauger. The place has become our home away from home. The breakfasts are great. The Innkeeper will accommodate almost any kind of dietary problem. She was able to bake gluten free muffins on less than a day notice. The person who requested them said they were wonderful and requested the recipe.

The location is a (long) walk from old town but doable and it is a short distance from the town center (business district). It is very convenient to the Civic Center, has "deals" with local health clubs/fitness centers, and to the Plaza outside of the Civic Center which is a great entertainment venue.

Always super clean and friendly - never a problem. Go if you can.

Room Tip: Depends on your desires - consult the Innkeeper
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Seymour S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
615 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

This historic B&B is a good choice for families or large parties as they have some condos behind the main building that can sleep 4-5 or more. The host was charming and helpful and we enjoyed the evening wine and cheese gatherings. The townhouse had plenty of room and was a nice place to retire to after a day of sight seeing.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crawford, Colorado
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

All the goodies you expect from a 5-star hotel except for an exercise room and chlorinated swimming pool. Our room was exquisite, quiet and comfortable. Breakfast was prepared by our delightful hostess, Tammy Walden, and was as good as it gets. Next time near Albuquerque we will check in with Tammy.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Douglas G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albuquerque hotels
Albuquerque Original Townsite
Hotel Andaluz
Hotel Andaluz
#8 of 144 in Albuquerque
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,312 reviews
Huning Highland Historic District
Hotel Parq Central
Hotel Parq Central
#3 of 144 in Albuquerque
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,586 reviews
Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town
#13 of 144 in Albuquerque
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hyatt Regency Albuquerque
#31 of 144 in Albuquerque
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mauger Estate B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mauger Estate B&B

Property: Mauger Estate B&B
Address: 701 Roma Ave. NW, Albuquerque, NM 87102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Albuquerque
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Albuquerque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mauger Estate B&B 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 1897 restored Victorian B&B is very well located in Downtown ABQ. Scrumptious breakfasts, comfortable rooms and superior service make the Mauger Estate an exceptional choice. The warm and inviting atmosphere is sure to make you feel at home. Whether you like to mingle or experience a quiet retreat, this is the place! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Mauger Estate B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing