We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful B&B”
Review of Mauger Estate B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mauger Estate B&B
Ranked #4 of 13 Albuquerque B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 25, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights and thoroughly enjoyed our time. The room that we were in was actually 2 rooms - 1 with a couch and the tv and the other which appeared to be an old sunporch where the bed was. We loved the set up, as it felt more like an apartment than a hotel room. Tammy and the other employees were very friendly and were always prepared to make recommendations or answer any questions we had. The homemade breakfasts were delicious and it was nice to be able to sit outside on the front porch while eating. Wine, cheese and cookies are served from 5-7PM each day. The location was also great, as it was a very short drive to Old Town and a walkable distance to downtown. The neighborhood itself was also nice & quiet. We will definitely be staying here again if we return to Albuquerque.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (336)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

201 - 207 of 336 reviews

Reviewed May 4, 2013

I think I have stayed in and reviewed every decent hotel in ABQ with nothing better to say than "They didn't stink". The hotels in this town leave much to be desired.
Well, I have found my new home in ABQ!!! I should have stayed here from the beginning. I am an idiot. I am sorry.
That said, This is a great B&B and I have stayed in B&B's all over the world. The property itself is an historic mansion in the 'Old Town' area near downtown. It is on the corner with plenty of free parking and awesome landscaping. Very beautiful.
The common areas are smallish as most have been turned into rooms but there is an awesome veranda to enjoy the complimentary wine and snacks in the evening or just to read and enjoy the weather when it is nice. The rooms range from huge to smallish but all seem to be decorated tastefully and mostly with period pieces. My room had a flat panel TV, fridge and coffee. It was a corner room with windows so there was a nice cross breeze with them open. The sink area was a bit small for me but would probably do for most people and really, this is an old house that has been converted, some quirks are to be expected.
The breakfasts were very good, I am not a breakfast person but i always make it a point to try once and I went back the next two days they were so good.
There is free Wi-Fi throughout as well as central heat and air (swamp cooler, if you are not from the southwest this means nothing to you but it was efficient and worked well). There are ceiling fans in the rooms as well.
The property is across the street from an elementary school so there is no need for an alarm clock, all the little beasties screaming bloody murder will wake you up until the bell rings and they are sent to their cells for the day.
The owners/staff are very friendly and cheerful and offer great suggestions for whatever you want to do or eat. Take them up on it.
As I said previously, the property is in Old Town adjacent to Downtown so there are plenty of restaurants in walking distance. The closer you get to the center of the city the more you will notice the homeless. This is true of any city and I was not worried in the least. It is part of the flavor of a city.
I plan on making Brittania & W.E. Mauger Estate B&B my new home base as I am in ABQ every three weeks or so. Stay HERE. Don't make all the same mistakes I did.....

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PHXTrainer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2013

Very nice historic family B&B well located for downtown Albuquerque and Main Street Route 66.
Very comfortable bedrooms well appointed. The hosts make you most welcome and the verandah is a nice place to sit during the early evenings.
Breakfasts are prepared by the hosts and be sure to watch out for the Egg and Mushroom soufflé , quite delightful.

Room Tip: Make the effort to walk to down town Main Street where at night after dark the Route 66 strip lighti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MozartAshover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2013

Tammy and her staff are all extremely welcoming, helpful, courteous - and they can definitely cook! Breakfasts were superb, rooms were very comfortable and it was a pleasure to sit on the porch sipping and nibbling ( wine and cheese), chatting with other guests and gearing up for the short walk into Old Town for dinner. I would definitely recommend Mauger Estate B&B as a welcome respite from impersonal hotels.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2013

We stayed at this B&B for 5 nights and had a fantastic time in Albuquerque. We had everything we could possibly need to make our stay comfortable. You can book a room in the estate home, but we opted to stay in one of the townhouse apartments the have behind the property. It was perfect for us since we were traveling with an ice chest, and we could use the refrigerator and kitchen. The beds were very comfortable and the bedrooms were upstairs and quiet. The facility was equipped with anything you could need, and wifi was swift and good. The breakfasts were incredible, and were better that what we had seen at 5 star hotels in Santa Fe. There was something different every day during our 5 day stay, and the food was fresh and delicious. They also had complimentary wine, cheese, and snacks between 5 & 7 p.m., which is better than most hotels we have stayed at who usually only offer this between 4 & 5, when we are always sight seeing. So we felt like the Mauger B&B really did try to provide services that were truly beneficial and convenient to enjoy. Tammy was the hostess with the mostess....she was genuine and helpful, and she was there whenever we had a question....or needed an extra chocolate chip cookie :) Thanks for the incredible visit. If we go back to ABQ, we will stay here for sure. It is convenient to downtown sights, like the historic Kimo Theater, and there are tons of great places to grab a bite in the area which you can read on my other reviews.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank George M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Our two night stay at the historical Mauger Estate B&B in Albuquerque was a great joy.
The Mauger is professionally managed and staffed. The owners do not live in the house, so there is a better professional feel to the whole place.
Each resident gets a unique door code for the front door.
We stayed in the Safari/Africa suite on the second floor. The bedroom for this suite is technically on the outside of this brick building. It is the second floor sun porch above the breakfast room. As such it is surrounded on three sides by glass covered by wooden venetian blinds. This suite has a bathroom and then a separate shower for two people in the living room.
Breakfast is a fresh and healthy selection of fine options, and a fixed main dish (usually egg-based).
In the late afternoon there is wine and cheese for residents.
There is free ample parking behind the B&B.
The B&B is in downtown Albuquerque, but there is no city noise. It is an easy walk to Central Avenue (Route 66) downtown, and a 20 minute walk to Old Town.
This B&B has a dog during working hours. The dog is scared of balloons, which is most unfortunate in Albuquerque. All places in NM seem to have a dog.
The price was great, and as we booked just before arrival benefited from the daily discount.
This is one of the finest B&Bs we have experienced anywhere in the world.
Thank you Tammy.

Room Tip: We loved the Africa/Safari Suite for the outdoor (porch) bedroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

We choose this Inn because of its proximitry to the airport. We felt very comfortable and enjoyed our stay. The staff was incredible...putting out homemade cookies, wine, snacks in the evening, suggesting restaurants for dinner (and even calling to make our reservations), and packing us a breakfast to go since we had an early plane to catch.

We loved our room on the sunporch. Very pretty and definitely unique.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robinmariec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albuquerque hotels
Huning Highland Historic District
Hotel Parq Central
Hotel Parq Central
#3 of 143 in Albuquerque
1,736 reviews
Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town
#10 of 143 in Albuquerque
1,848 reviews
Albuquerque Original Townsite
Hotel Andaluz
Hotel Andaluz
#8 of 143 in Albuquerque
1,426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Chaco
#1 of 143 in Albuquerque
149 reviews
Huning Highland Historic District
Downtown Historic Bed & Breakfasts of Albuquerque
West Old Town
Bottger Mansion of Old Town
Bottger Mansion of Old Town
#3 of 13 in Albuquerque
438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mauger Estate B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mauger Estate B&B

Address: 701 Roma Ave NW, Albuquerque, NM 87102-2038
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Albuquerque
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Albuquerque
Price Range: $110 - $156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mauger Estate B&B 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 1897 restored Victorian B&B is very well located in Downtown ABQ. Scrumptious breakfasts, comfortable rooms and superior service make the Mauger Estate an exceptional choice. The warm and inviting atmosphere is sure to make you feel at home. Whether you like to mingle or experience a quiet retreat, this is the place! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Mauger Estate B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing