We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Getaway”
Review of Mauger Estate B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mauger Estate B&B
Ranked #4 of 13 Albuquerque B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Washington
1 review
“Perfect Getaway”
Reviewed September 27, 2011

We spent 2 nights at this historic B&B. The location is very quiet and a quick, easy drive to Old Town. The rooms are immaculate and the breakfasts fresh and delicious. The large and gracious front porch was great for relaxing or talking with other guests. All the rooms are different and interesting, and from what we saw you couldn't go wrong with any of them. They have thought of every detail from a fresh flower in the room to the ever present warm chocolate chip cookies. Wine and cheese in the evening was a special treat. Tammy has thought of every detail in making this lovely house the perfect getaway. We highly recommend the Mauger and look forward to staying there again when we are in the area.

Room Tip: We had a lovely spacious room on the third floor, but there are no elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JKSenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    269
    42
    7
    2
    0
See reviews for
49
165
41
43
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Leesburg, Florida
1 review
Reviewed September 19, 2011

I've stayed at B&Bs through Europe and the U.S. Nothing compares to the Mauger B&B. Tammy and her staff made each day of my stay memorable. The morning breakfast will keep you satisfied 'til dinner that evening. The homemade granola, breads and scones were delicious. Spotless rooms, comfortable deck and sun rooms. Easy walking distance to down town and restaurants. I've recommended Mauger to members of my Reunion and two people on my return flight home.

Room Tip: Suites have more room for moving around and are nicely decorated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheila D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviewed September 4, 2011

This B&B is in a quiet part of town about a 3 minute drive from the Plaza
and art museum. Tammy, the owner, was very helpful. Her breakfast quiche and
assortment of scones were extraordinary. We have already recommended
Mauger to friends and family.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CynAriBur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2011

What a great house! We only stayed one night and had to be at the airport long before the breakfast, but the place is just charming and the staff unbelievably friendly. We walked to Old Town and scouted it out. Loved it!

Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank VicMaticK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2011

Very interesting historic house....first house in Albuquerque ever to receive electricity, apparently. Seems like they continue to be ahead of the game in hospitality standards. Great room, great lounge area, great deck. Everything spotless, breakfast was great and they put on a little cocktail reception every evening which is a very nice touch.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Don35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 27, 2011

The Mauger Estate B&B is absolutely wonderful. We came in after a long drive day and were greeted with wine, cheese, crackers and freshly baked chocolate chip cookies. Tammy, the owner, was so pleasant and nice. She chatted with us as we relaxed and then showed us to our incredible room. It was the first floor room in the front. It was nothing we expected. It is so beautifully decorated and modern. It is the kind of room you could stay in for two weeks...with the doors to the front porch open and lounging around reading a book or napping on a pretty summer day. It was very spacious and lovingly appointed with amenities that you just know Tammy selected as if she were creating a perfect place for herself. Sadly we had to leave early the next morning, but Tammy will pack your a breakfast for the road if you want. We know we will be back!!

Room Tip: Ask for that first floor room in the front!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tkelsey64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bennington, Vermont
Level 6 Contributor
194 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2011

We visited Albuquerque for several days in May 2011. And we stayed at the Brittania & W.E. Mauger Estate B&B. A wonderful B&B! The entire facility is lovely. Our bedroom on the second floor had all the amenities: comfy queen bed; large closet; fridge; TV (which we didn't watch); windows; overhead fan; plenty of lamps; bath with shower. It was a little snug in front of the sink for me but not for my wife. Breakfasts were very substantial and delicious. There were several places to enjoy the breakfast including an outside terrace. Tammy and Linda were gracious and knowledgeable hosts. Other visitors from around the country added to the atmosphere at breakfast, sharing ideas about what to see and do. In early evening, wine and snacks were always available in the common room - a nice touch. In the evenings, after a day checking out the sights and hiking around the area - and after dinner at one of the area's restaurants - we enjoyed sitting on the front porch talking or reading. We found the neighborhood to be fairly quiet even though there is an elementary school almost across the street. Old Town Albuquerque is about 1/2 mile away - easily walked to. The B&B is located very close to downtown, literally a couple of blocks away (which may or may not be good for other visitors) - but we found this to be very convenient. The Mauger B&B is very easy to get to from the airport (maybe 5 miles or so). We'll stay here again on our next trip to Albuquerque.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vermonters210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albuquerque hotels
Huning Highland Historic District
Hotel Parq Central
Hotel Parq Central
#2 of 144 in Albuquerque
1,666 reviews
Albuquerque Original Townsite
Hotel Andaluz
Hotel Andaluz
#7 of 144 in Albuquerque
1,388 reviews
Hotel Albuquerque at Old Town
#9 of 144 in Albuquerque
1,740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hyatt Regency Albuquerque
#28 of 144 in Albuquerque
1,245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mauger Estate B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mauger Estate B&B

Property: Mauger Estate B&B
Address: 701 Roma Ave NW, Albuquerque, NM 87102-2038
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Albuquerque
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Albuquerque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mauger Estate B&B 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 1897 restored Victorian B&B is very well located in Downtown ABQ. Scrumptious breakfasts, comfortable rooms and superior service make the Mauger Estate an exceptional choice. The warm and inviting atmosphere is sure to make you feel at home. Whether you like to mingle or experience a quiet retreat, this is the place! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Mauger Estate B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing