We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Only the freshest will do”

Golden Crown Bakery
Ranked #1 of 1,763 Restaurants in Albuquerque
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $20
Cuisines: Wine Bar, Brew Pub, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Golden Crown Panaderia is a old fashion neighborhood bakery in the Albuquerque old town area. We have had the honor of not only being on the Food Network once in 2004 with the show Food Finds. We are now being featured on Diners, Drive-Ins and Dives : Guy Fieri for our pizzas. We have supplied breads and pastries to many of Albuquerque's finest restaurants and hotels including the Hyatt Hotel, Petroleum Club, Smirolls International Cuisine, Albuquerque Convention Center, Amadoes Pizza, etc. Many of our wholesale and retail customers have been using our baked good for over 25 years.We are now strictly a retail bakery with an amazing coffee bar, We server the first ever New Mexican Style pizza, Our Garden fresh salads come from our indoor garden.The Food Network has featured our New Mexico Green Chile Bread. Empanadas, Pizzas, Our Turkey Bread Sculptures. And Biscochitos. We also carry beer and wine
1 review
“Only the freshest will do”
Reviewed February 17, 2014

Not only is the staff friendly and happy, but the food is delicious! They use the freshest ingredients and take pride in doing so. The pizza makes your mouth water, and the sweets to follow only make the short drive to it's hidden spot well worth it! And now, you can order online! I just ordered pizza the other morning and picked it up later that evening!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Francesca H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
goldencrown, Owner at Golden Crown Bakery, responded to this review, February 23, 2014
What a terrific review Fran You covered virtually every aspect of what we think a customer experience should be. We have your table waiting for you the next time you come in. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

509 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    363
    115
    20
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
MIDWEST
Level Contributor
208 reviews
188 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Green chile' bread”
Reviewed February 9, 2014

Very popular with the locals (they know how to find it) we stop going thru Alb. for some of their green chile bread-makes great toast. Also wonderful empanadas which you have to take a few with you. A special Alb. location.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TRAVELL LLOVER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
goldencrown, Owner at Golden Crown Bakery, responded to this review, February 23, 2014
Thank you for your review with particular emphasis and wonderful praise of our products. The next time when you come by try our New Mexico Green chile crust for our pizza. It is the same recipe that we have for our New Mexico Green Bread.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgewood, New Mexico
1 review
“YUMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMY!”
Reviewed January 21, 2014

We had an amazing pizza for dinner! Love the atmosphere, the staff, and the laughter! Thank you for a wonderful evening!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nikki J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Alamos, NM
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Worth a Stop!”
Reviewed January 19, 2014

I live in northern NM and don't get to Albuquerque but a couple times a month. I had seen this little bakery for years without visiting until I accidentally found their Facebook page. So we finally popped in after a trip to the zoo.

The place is very old-town looking, but in a really authentic, "hole-in-the-wall" sort of way (I loved this). The aroma from the pizza (we went at about 530pm) was intoxicating. We bought several empanadas and a loaf of green chile cheese bread. The girl behind the counter was very nice and offered each of us a small biscochito. For those who do not know, biscochitos are sugar cookies made with brandy and anise seed. No,they are not "licorice cookies." The anise adds a subtle flavor (if done right) and complexity when mixed with the cinnamon and sugar on the cookie. Anyway, these were delicious, Turns out they make their empanadas with the same batter which, in my opinion, ups the ante from "fried fruit pie" to something more, something richer. We had the lemon, raspberry, blueberry and pumpkin. The raspberry was my favorite (followed closely by the lemon). We nibbled the green chile cheese bread on the way home and found it to have a lovely crisp/chewy crust and light as air inside with a lovely little bite but good flavor of green chile.

Next time, we will try their pizza; they have regular crust, but also a green chile, and a blue corn crust. All in all, worth a stop for a quick pastry and some friendly people.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank h2obabylis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
60 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“The BEST Empanadas .... and more....”
Reviewed January 14, 2014

You really need to know about this place to find it. It is slightly off the touristy routes in the middle of what seemed an industrial area but well worth the detour. We went there for lunch and were very pleasantly surprised. We shared a lemon and a sweet potato empanda which were both delicious. We heard that the cherry empanadas were also amazing. We also had an avocado sandwich that, even though simple, was very good! The bread was delicious! Even though we did not try them, the pizzas looked amazing. Staff was very helpful and friendly and it seems that they are having fun making all of these baked products. We will be back!!!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank OffTheBeatenPath2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Golden Crown Bakery also viewed

 

Been to Golden Crown Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing