We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Strange neighborhood but great food.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Slate Street Cafe

Slate Street Cafe
Reserve with OpenTable
Slate Street Cafe is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #108 of 1,778 Restaurants in Albuquerque
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Downtown
Albuquerque, NM
Level Contributor
52 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Strange neighborhood but great food.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2013

Had brunch here and really enjoyed it. Only reason we did not go back is that it is too far from our house. Lots of healthy options on menu.

Helpful?
1 Thank Austriangypsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    49
    20
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Overrated”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2013

I decided to go here for dinner last night because I had heard so many great things about it. Our food took nearly 40 minutes to come out (we were one of two couples in there). The food was fine, but nothing I would ever go back for. The service was poor; probably didn't help that we could see our waitress eating at a table behind us. I would not recommend Slate, nor would I ever go back; waste of money.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Madag18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Top Notch in Burque”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

This weekend I tried the Slate Street Cafe for the first time. It was a very welcomed surprise.

It is located in downtown Albuquerque but isn't necessarily close to anything else as far as bars and nightlife is concerned. The ambiance of the restaurant is quite nice with ample spacing between all of the tables and pleasant lighting with very nice acoustics.

I began my meal with queso fundido, which was not similar to anything I have ever tasted in Mexico. It consisted of American cheese, a bit of spices, and pinto beans. It was served with blue and red tortilla chips. Don't get me wrong, it was quite good but it was a disappointment when compared to what I had received as queso fundido in Mexico.

My main course was very, very good. It was chicken glazed with cherry sauce and came with what seemed to be basil quiche and green beans which had some onion straws on top. The smell of the chicken glazed cherry goodness was intoxicating indeed. The taste of the meal itself was spectacular and well worth the 5 star rating. For dessert I indulged in the Boston cream pie cupcake. The cream filling was very satisfying as was the chocolate gnache.

The service was quite good and I was not rushed in any aspect of the meal although my main course came out when I was about halfway through my appetizer. All in all this place is a class act and I will certainly be returning again.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Loco_Norteno_30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montana
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Do not waste your money”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

We had eaten here once before because someone told us good things about it. However when a group of seven decided to eat an early dinner with wine, the waitress added 40.00 to the bill. Even though we left a huge tip. I paid cash and even wrote an email to the owner and complained.
He did nothing....So Karma rules I learned a valuable lesson. Save your money, it's not all that

  • Visited April 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Modoms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
447 reviews
259 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 256 helpful votes
“Slight disappointment”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013

We went for an early lunch to beat the crowds and ended up having breakfast. Eggs Benedict and Ham & Cheese Omelette were just average. Service was a bit lacking as the toast to go with the omelette didn't arrive until 5 to 10 minutes after the omelette. Restaurant interior was nice enough.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Neil C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Slate Street Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Slate Street Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing