We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful buffet”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sandia Resort & Casino
Ranked #36 of 144 Hotels in Albuquerque
Reviewed July 24, 2014

I've been disappointed by the buffet before but decided to give it another chance & this was by far the worst experience yet! The mac & cheese was tasteless, the ham was way too salty, mashed potatos were runny, salisbury steak tasted like bbq sauce & the pork chops didn't look appetizing what-so-ever.The ice cream & cookies weren't up to par. Even the iced tea was gross. I wouldn't have paid $3.50 for this dinner yet they charge $13.50/person. The casino, pool, golf course, view etc. are elegant in a sense but to serve the food they do, the entire buffet kitchen staff ought to be ashamed for serving such filth.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cleab1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (500)
There are newer reviews for Sandia Resort & Casino
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

250 - 256 of 500 reviews

Reviewed July 15, 2014

After staying in a very substandard "Hotel Blue" the night before, we were completely satisfied by the clean public areas, nice ammenities, spotless room, amazing bathroom, and of course the pool. I enjoyed drinks outside while my wife enjoyed the poolside. We have stayed at sandia before, and will definately stay again. The underground parking was a plus as we just had the car washed and rain rolled in.

Room Tip: Pick a pool view, and get the golf course and mountains as an added bonus!
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Travelling_Willburry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2014

We always stay here for our quarterly trips to New Mexico for our red chilie fix. The rooms are big and spaces. The bathroom even bigger. We revived great customer service from Brandon at the front desk....a view of the fire works from our roo, was excellent.

My only compliant...is the casino is smoky. My husband loves their two dollar hamburgers at the grill.

Thanks for a wonderful time

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2014 via mobile

My company and I have stayed at many hotels before, but for many reasons, Sandia Resort was by far are most pleasant stay yet. We stayed just a couple of days and enjoyed everything from the pool, casino entertainment, incredible rooms,and lovely cuisine. Albuquerque,NM is a very beautiful city especially when you can see it from the top of the resort. Sandia has a beautiful restaurant on the 9th floor and the dinner we had was absolutely amazing! The golf course was very well maintained and we had a blast playing some holes. I hope we have the chance to stay there again! Thumbs up Sandia

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RonSmith75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2014

As soon as our plane landed in Albuquerque, the casino shuttle was there to pick us up as they had tracked our flight. Great start followed by a gorgeous room and absolutely glorious pool. You can swim towards the mountains and then hop into the hot tub at the other end. The casino was so much fun as they had all of the newer slots and lots of places to have a quick snack or free soda/water stations. At the end of the day the Council Restaurant and bar is just a wonderful place for dinner/drinks. You will be double impressed by the bartenders as they make all the drinks from "scratch" instead of cheap mixers. When was the last time your pina colada was made from real cream of coconut? We just can't wait to make another trip to Albuquerque so that we can start and end our New Mexico adventures here at the Sandia!

Room Tip: We had a mountain view
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peanutsNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2014

We spent last week at this lovely resort. Everything about it was exceptional. Very well trained staff who understand the value of genuinely friendly & efficient service. Loved staying on the quiet northeastern side of town at the base of the mountains with gorgeous views. Easy access to everything in ABQ & surrounding areas. Enjoyed it so much that we will return to the area just to stay here!

Room Tip: Best views are the upper floors facing the mountains.
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2014 via mobile

We were staying in town for JT concert and when we arrived at 6 p told that the type of room I booked 3 months before was not available. When I complained the clerk literally asked me "do u want it or not!" No apology no calm explanation just a completely rude unprofessional response. Then she proceeded to give us the worst possible room. I don't mind paying 300 bucks for a room but I expect good customer service. I won't be giving sandia casino any more of my money.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank broncosman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blujan, Front Office Manager at Sandia Resort & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2014

Dear Mr. Broncosman,

Thank you very much for the very candid response regarding your first stay at Sandia Resort & Casino! I truly apologize for the unprofessional behavior of our Front Desk staff. Yes we were sold out and do not guarantee room types, but we definitely could have handled the situation with much more tact and understanding.

I do appreciate you bringing this to our attention so we may address our shortcomings to avoid it from happening to anyone else. I would like to speak to you more about this, so could you please email me at ajohnston@sandiaresort.com when you have a free moment? Thanks.

I look forward to talking to you very soon!

Ashley Johnston
Front Office Manager
Sandia Resort & Casino

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albuquerque hotels
Isleta Resort & Casino
#25 of 144 in Albuquerque
696 reviews
Comfort Inn & Suites North
#49 of 144 in Albuquerque
273 reviews
Nativo Lodge Albuquerque
#43 of 144 in Albuquerque
1,035 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Albuquerque Original Townsite
Hotel Andaluz
Hotel Andaluz
#9 of 144 in Albuquerque
1,400 reviews
Courtyard Albuquerque
#56 of 144 in Albuquerque
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandia Resort & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandia Resort & Casino

Address: 30 Rainbow Rd NE, Albuquerque, NM 87113-2156
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Albuquerque
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Casino Hotel in Albuquerque
#4 Luxury Hotel in Albuquerque
#6 Spa Hotel in Albuquerque
#20 Romantic Hotel in Albuquerque
#33 Business Hotel in Albuquerque
Price Range: $230 - $655 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sandia Resort & Casino 4*
Number of rooms: 228
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the majestic Sandia Mountains, Sandia Resort & Casino welcomes guests to a unique Southwestern setting with outstanding service and modern comforts. Your experience begins in our enchanting guest rooms and suites, each showcasing breathtaking mountain or skyline views along with lavish bathrooms, flat-screen televisions and complimentary high-speed wired and wireless Internet access. You'll also discover the thoughtful services and amenities that have made us a stand-out destination among Albuquerque hotels, including our sparkling outdoor pool and cabanas, live entertainment, and tranquil spa. From fine dining to snacks on the go, our restaurants and lounges always deliver a memorable meal, even to your guest room, with our convenient room service offerings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Sandia Resort & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandia Casino And Resort
Sandia Hotel Albuquerque

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing