We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“top notch casino and resort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sandia Resort & Casino
Ranked #34 of 143 Hotels in Albuquerque
Reviewed October 24, 2013

Our first experience wirh Sandia was excellent. Rooms were clean, tastefully decorated and even a Keuring coffemake. There were a lot of newer slots and a great selection of machines. Staff was helpful and courteous. The higher price for the room was well worth it and highly recommend it for a great experience.

Room Tip: a higher floor room so you can see the mountains or the balloon fest park and city
See more room tips
Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank 923David
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (517)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

311 - 317 of 517 reviews

Reviewed October 18, 2013 via mobile

This was my third visit to this resort. It is a beautiful place! It is spotlessly clean. The rooms are tastefully decorated , and ample in size. Stunning local decor! The casino is just the right size, and lots of fun! The employees are very friendly and obviously enjoy working there. The rooftop restaurant is top notch! I would highly recommend this destination!!

Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
1  Thank JJMColorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

We went 2X to the buffet prior to the evening events at the Albuquerque Balloon Fiesta. Nice salad section for me and my husband enjoyed the variety of food and the crab available on Friday evening. He said the crab was great. Spotless, and our waitress was very friendly--service perfect--never had to ask--soft drinks continuously refilled without asking.

While we waited for the buffet to open, we sat in the back lobby area--it is a pretty resort with the pool area in the back of the building, facing the mountains. It would be nice to experience a stay here.

After eating, just a short drive down the hill to the balloon area.

Overall, nice!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank AvidTraveler57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

We were lucky enough (pun intended - this resort has a casino) to get a corner room. It was very spacious and had a nice view of the mesa. We are blessed to have a resort of this caliber just minutes from our home so we can "get away" and enjoy all that it offers: spa, golf, gambling, excellent restaurants. We'll be back!

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LauraSmigi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

I live in Albuquerque, NM and my husband and I will have date nights at Sandia. The rooms are fantastic and the hotel staff is excellent ! The food, either room service or at one of the many restaurants or just a $2.00 hamburger from the snack bar is great. You can dance at the bar almost every night of the week, mostly live bands and lots of fun. During the day you can enjoy, the beautiful pool, golfing, shopping or gambling. If you come out for the Balloon Fiesta in October, you can camp yourRv in the parking lot or stay at the hotel. No need to go anywhere, you can see all the balloon festivities from the hotel. Also if you are looking for a excellent spa day, try theirs it's is great. You can spend almost the whole day there!!!
Great place, great food, great times!!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013

We usually stay here and get the Birdie golf package. The golf course here is fun and has it's challenges but for us it is always a must play. The hotel itself is very nice and clean. The rooms are comfortable. I would recommend getting a room with a mountain/golf course view. The casino is always crowded and we will usually opt to go somewhere less crowded such as Santa Ana or Route 66. The resort staff is great as are the folks at the golf course. We have always enjoyed our stays here and would recommend Sandia to others. The only negative is that the buffet is less than desirable while Bien Shur is pricey but nice for a special occasion.

Room Tip: I would recommend getting a room with a mountain/golf course view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dragonass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blujan, Front Office Manager at Sandia Resort & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2013

Dear Dragonass – thank you for your recent posting on Trip Advisor. It is rewarding to see you enjoyed your stay overall but I do apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced at the Thur Shan Buffet or at our Bien Shur Restaurant. In Bien Shur, we have recently updated our dinner menu and have taken a more conservative approach with pricing, and the menu showcases a wide range of items and also prices, depending on what a diner is in the mood for. We feel this more approachable menu represents a greater value in an affordably elegant setting. Additionally, we have expanded our Lounge Food Menu, along with a newly designed wine list featuring 20 Wines for $20, so we try to remain sensitive to pricing and provide a multitude of options.
If you care to share any specific feedback regarding your experience in the Thur Shan Buffet please do not hesitate to contact me at: dkohler@sandiacasino.com so that I may better understand what happened and address your concerns.
Thank you
David Kohler
Director of Food and Beverage

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

We went here to eat at the buffet and to gamble. The line for the buffet was crazy long which we expected and were willing to wait. We got up to pay and the lady ahead of us was waiting for more of her party to show up she was on the phone with them for awhile and holding up the line the lady at register didnt care just let her talk on phone.They finally let us go up to the line we paid then the lady seating everyone was rude seating everyone else behind us first that had the same amount of people in their party. The server was incredibly rude while getting us drinks and clearing plates. My son asked for more to drink and she looked at him then turned away. We will be going to another casino next time we are in town. The servers on the casino floor are just as rude also!!!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LETITIA82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blujan, Front Office Manager at Sandia Resort & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2013

Dear Leititia82 – thank you for taking the time to post your comments regarding your recent visit to the Thur Shan Buffet. We appreciate your candid feedback and apologize for the inconveniences and frustrations you experienced. There is no excuse for rude or indifferent behavior and this is not indicative of the service we strive for at Sandia Resort & Casino. Your comments have been shared with the staff so that they can be more sensitive to projecting a more gracious and helpful attitude, and deliver the quality service that is expected. Thank you again for your constructive feedback as it allows us the opportunity to identify areas to improve upon and we take your input to heart.

David Kohler
Director of Food and Beverage

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albuquerque hotels
Isleta Resort & Casino
#24 of 143 in Albuquerque
742 reviews
Albuquerque Original Townsite
Hotel Andaluz
Hotel Andaluz
#8 of 143 in Albuquerque
1,426 reviews
Huning Highland Historic District
Hotel Parq Central
Hotel Parq Central
#3 of 143 in Albuquerque
1,736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nativo Lodge Albuquerque
#43 of 143 in Albuquerque
1,064 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandia Resort & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandia Resort & Casino

Address: 30 Rainbow Rd NE, Albuquerque, NM 87113-2156
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Albuquerque
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Casino Hotel in Albuquerque
#5 Luxury Hotel in Albuquerque
#6 Spa Hotel in Albuquerque
#20 Romantic Hotel in Albuquerque
#33 Business Hotel in Albuquerque
Price Range: $207 - $328 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sandia Resort & Casino 4*
Number of rooms: 228
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the majestic Sandia Mountains, Sandia Resort & Casino welcomes guests to a unique Southwestern setting with outstanding service and modern comforts. Your experience begins in our enchanting guest rooms and suites, each showcasing breathtaking mountain or skyline views along with lavish bathrooms, flat-screen televisions and complimentary high-speed wired and wireless Internet access. You'll also discover the thoughtful services and amenities that have made us a stand-out destination among Albuquerque hotels, including our sparkling outdoor pool and cabanas, live entertainment, and tranquil spa. From fine dining to snacks on the go, our restaurants and lounges always deliver a memorable meal, even to your guest room, with our convenient room service offerings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Sandia Resort & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandia Casino And Resort
Sandia Hotel Albuquerque

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing