We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Excellent spa, nice staff, mediocre rooms, horrible buffet” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sandia Resort & Casino

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Sandia Resort & Casino to your Saves list
Sandia Resort & Casino
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   30 Rainbow Road NE, Albuquerque, NM 87113   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #39 of 144 Hotels in Albuquerque
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Excellent spa, nice staff, mediocre rooms, horrible buffet”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for a long weekend anniversary trip with my husband. Staff was very friendly upon check in. The bedroom part of the room was clean - but our view out the window was an adobe all about 10 feet from the window itself. The shower in the bathroom looked like it had black mold growing on the floor and in between some tiles on the wall.

Ate at the buffet our first night. Doubtful we'll eat there again. First - not much selection for a Friday night. Second - the prime rib looked like it was about 2 months old. Was scared to even try it. Service at buffet was not overly the greatest. We waited in line and the hostess seated several other parties in line behind us before seating us.

Spa was wonderful tho. Very clean, very helpful staff. One of the best massages I have ever had. Playing golf at Sandia tomorrow.... Hoping its a great course!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank luv2trec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

393 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    205
    110
    33
    17
    28
See reviews for
61
165
25
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Kailua-Kona, Hawaii
Level Contributor
41 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

All the staff at Sandia from valet, shuttle, front desk, bell, housekeepers, restaurant and lounge were all excellent. Definitely shows they have pride in where they work. Rooms were extremely comfortable, well appointed and meticulously clean. The beds were to die for, comfortable, best sleep in two weeks. We had dinner one night in the main restaurant, and an event in the lounge one night, and the service was excellent. Second time we've held one there, and we'll be back. Keep up the good work, the happy staff shows that the management takes care of them.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DofSales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio Rancho, New Mexico
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

This was our first stay at this casino/resort. I signed up for the Players' Club and received a discount for a one night stay. I had read some of the older reviews from people who complained about the room, the view, the condition of the room, etc. I have no idea where those people stayed, but it could not have possibly been at this wonderful resort. Our room was absolutely beautiful! It was on the third floor and it overlooked (yes a roof, but also) the golf course and the Sandia Mountains. Being that we don't care to spend our time staring out a window all day and night, it could have been a brick wall for that matter! The room was clean, beautiful, huge and perfect. The front desk staff were very helpful and professional. The valet staff was very professional and courteous. I can't say enough great things about this place. Phenominal! I would definitely stay here again and recommend it to everyone. Thank you, Sandia, for making our anniversary spectacular! We will definitely stay here again for special occasions away from home. (Note: Sandia Casino and Resort personnel were not aware that we were celebrating our anniversary and our stay was still fabulous!).

Room Tip: I don't think you can get a bad room here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank eyelovetotraveltwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirtland, New Mexico
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

this was our 2nd stay at Sandia at it was very nice just like the 1st time we stayed there..the kids loved the pool ! the room and bathroom was very spacious... clean and well kept. I used my players card for great rates

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amarillo, TX
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Words are not enough to describe the excellence in service, cleanliness, and friendiliness that we experienced at Sandia Resort and Casino.

In fact, when I checked out, I jokingly asked the person helping me if manangement had threatened them with their lives if everything wasn't perfect for their guests.

Checking in was quick and we were met with smiles. They actually got us into our room early.
The Council Room Restaraunt had the best waitresses that we ever had. I didn't care that much for the food but I am extremely picky.
There is a little grill right off of the casino that ran $2 cheeseburger and $2 nacho specials. My husband and I had the cheeseburgers and they were really good for the price. My daughter had the nachos and she said they were good. When you'd rather spend your money gambling than eating, this was a real plus.
The gambling was good and they have a "no smoking section", as well. We didn't play bingo but it looked to always be full.
They have a wonderful spa with all kinds of services offered.
If you like a reasonable room and amenities with employees that take pride in their jobs, this is your place.

Room Tip: If you request a mountain view room you will, most likely, overlook the swimming pool and you can s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank denandvan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ringgold, Georgia
Level Contributor
288 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 257 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

We did not stay in the resort so we cannot speak to the hotel. Casino was clean and seemed bigger than it was. Attractive looking spot with a view of nearby mountains. Free parking was ample. Smoking areas appeared well ventilated but for those wanting no smoking there is a room set aside for smoke free players. Saw lots of slots with a range of pricing. We were very pleased to find penny poker machines as well as nickel, quarter, etc. Since we play for fun it was nice to have that option. Also saw a number of penny slots as well as the higher dollar games so it seems there was a decent selection. Table games were $5 and up. There were not a lot of tables but enough to keep up with the interest on the night we visited. No alcoholic beverages are served on the casino floor so only soft drinks and water are complimentary. Drinks can be bought at the bar. Small area was set up for dancing. We did not try the food at any of the venues onsite. Rewards card provided 25 dollars of 'free' play and a coupon for a discounted hotel stay but only for new members.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SPN21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We didn't stay at the hotel, so this review is only for our dinner at Bien Shur. Our boss took us to dinner at the restaurant for the business' 18th anniversary, and the hotel and restaurant are both beautiful, and very upscale. The food was reasonably good, although a little expensive. Unfortunately, the service was not very good. Our waiter (Sean) seemed distracted for most of the meal, and we had to ask twice for refills and a correction to our order. It was very busy that night, so maybe that was the reason for the delays, but for the price of the food we were hoping for better service. Maybe next time.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Samantha D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blujan, Front Office Manager at Sandia Resort & Casino, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Samantha D
Thank you for your recent feedback regarding Bien Shur restaurant. I apologize that dinner service did not flow well and we appreciate your candid feedback as it allows us the opportunity to identify areas to improve upon. Though it may have been very busy that evening, as you mention, the volume of business is no excuse for our not properly taking care of business, and we strive to deliver a quality experience through the food, the service and the ambiance. It is when all of these come together that we are able to build loyal guests and lasting relationships. I hope you will give us another chance in the future to regain your confidence in Bien Shur as I am confident that we typically do a better job than this.
Thank you again for your time and constructive input.

David Kohler
Director of Food & Beverage
Sandia Resort and Casino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albuquerque hotels
Isleta Resort & Casino
#40 of 144 in Albuquerque
3.5 of 5 stars 353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Comfort Inn & Suites North
#48 of 144 in Albuquerque
4.0 of 5 stars 209 reviews
Huning Highland Historic District
Hotel Parq Central
Hotel Parq Central
#2 of 144 in Albuquerque
4.5 of 5 stars 1,429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandia Resort & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandia Resort & Casino

Property: Sandia Resort & Casino
Address: 30 Rainbow Road NE, Albuquerque, NM 87113
Location: United States > New Mexico > Albuquerque
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Casino Hotel in Albuquerque
#5 Spa Hotel in Albuquerque
#20 Romantic Hotel in Albuquerque
#33 Business Hotel in Albuquerque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sandia Resort & Casino 3*
Number of rooms: 228
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the majestic Sandia Mountains, Sandia Resort & Casino welcomes guests to a unique Southwestern setting with outstanding service and modern comforts. Your experience begins in our enchanting guest rooms and suites, each showcasing breathtaking mountain or skyline views along with lavish bathrooms, flat-screen televisions and complimentary high-speed wired and wireless Internet access. You'll also discover the thoughtful services and amenities that have made us a stand-out destination among Albuquerque hotels, including our sparkling outdoor pool and cabanas, live entertainment, and tranquil spa. From fine dining to snacks on the go, our restaurants and lounges always deliver a memorable meal, even to your guest room, with our convenient room service offerings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Orbitz so you can book your Sandia Resort & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandia Casino And Resort
Sandia Hotel Albuquerque

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing