We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Sandio casino” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sandia Resort & Casino

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sandia Resort & Casino
Ranked #37 of 144 Hotels in Albuquerque
Certificate of Excellence
Ringgold, Georgia
Level Contributor
288 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 258 helpful votes
“Sandio casino”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

We did not stay in the resort so we cannot speak to the hotel. Casino was clean and seemed bigger than it was. Attractive looking spot with a view of nearby mountains. Free parking was ample. Smoking areas appeared well ventilated but for those wanting no smoking there is a room set aside for smoke free players. Saw lots of slots with a range of pricing. We were very pleased to find penny poker machines as well as nickel, quarter, etc. Since we play for fun it was nice to have that option. Also saw a number of penny slots as well as the higher dollar games so it seems there was a decent selection. Table games were $5 and up. There were not a lot of tables but enough to keep up with the interest on the night we visited. No alcoholic beverages are served on the casino floor so only soft drinks and water are complimentary. Drinks can be bought at the bar. Small area was set up for dancing. We did not try the food at any of the venues onsite. Rewards card provided 25 dollars of 'free' play and a coupon for a discounted hotel stay but only for new members.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SPN21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

395 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    206
    110
    34
    17
    28
See reviews for
61
165
25
54
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, New Mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We didn't stay at the hotel, so this review is only for our dinner at Bien Shur. Our boss took us to dinner at the restaurant for the business' 18th anniversary, and the hotel and restaurant are both beautiful, and very upscale. The food was reasonably good, although a little expensive. Unfortunately, the service was not very good. Our waiter (Sean) seemed distracted for most of the meal, and we had to ask twice for refills and a correction to our order. It was very busy that night, so maybe that was the reason for the delays, but for the price of the food we were hoping for better service. Maybe next time.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Samantha D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blujan, Front Office Manager at Sandia Resort & Casino, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Samantha D
Thank you for your recent feedback regarding Bien Shur restaurant. I apologize that dinner service did not flow well and we appreciate your candid feedback as it allows us the opportunity to identify areas to improve upon. Though it may have been very busy that evening, as you mention, the volume of business is no excuse for our not properly taking care of business, and we strive to deliver a quality experience through the food, the service and the ambiance. It is when all of these come together that we are able to build loyal guests and lasting relationships. I hope you will give us another chance in the future to regain your confidence in Bien Shur as I am confident that we typically do a better job than this.
Thank you again for your time and constructive input.

David Kohler
Director of Food & Beverage
Sandia Resort and Casino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
43 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

We had a room for Saturday night (25th). We decided to take our daughter swimming earlier in the day, take her home and enjoy the Casino later. First, the pool is so nice! Person that checks out the towels was very nice and helpful. Met some nice people and enjoyed the music playing. Better bring money for the food at the bar, expensive and not alot of food. :( Drinks are pricey and chincy on the liquor. Your better off getting a drink inside the bar in the casino then outdoors, service is SLOW.
Our room had a balcony looking over the pool and golf course. Rooms are updated, roomy and have very comfortable beds! The casino was so packed, even at 2 in the morning, hard to get a good machine to play. In the furture we will try to get a non-holiday weekend, but still had a great time!
Oh, I left my pillow in the room, called and a Housekeeping Supervisor (Susan) called me back and had it. She was so nice! Thanks!!! :)
We will definately be back.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Poodml
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pahoa, Hawaii
Level Contributor
58 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

My wife and I had heard about how nice the Sandia Resort was, so we decided to park our rented RV overnight in their parking lot, and use the facilities. There is a separate RV parking lot for overnight camping. No hook-ups, just a clean, well-lit parking lot with great friendly security staff. There is even a shuttle that will come to your RV and shuttle you in to the Resort with just a call! There is no charge to stay in the lot, and they encourage you to stay, because they know you'll spend some money! I hit all the bars in the resort, and all were excellent, clean, and friendly, and reasonably priced. We ate in the buffet, which was excellent. The entire Resort seemed safe and spotlessly clean. The swimming pool was amazing, with cabanas and bar. We didn't use it, as we felt we should be hotel guests to enjoy it, although we probably could have with no problem. Very friendly staff all through the large resort. Beautiful decor. I have 27 years in casino table games myself, and I can tell you this is a professional operation. A wonderful gift shop is just across the road, behind the gas station. A huge affair, and my wife dropped some cash here. We really enjoyed our time here.

Room Tip: If you come in an RV, stay in the provided RV area, complete with security and free wi-fi!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank banyannook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ranchos De Taos, New Mexico
Level Contributor
35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

I chose to stay at Sandia during a recent NM trip and was pleasantly surprised by the spacious, comfortable room, deep soaking tub and upbeat staff. Bed was perfect for deep after-gambling-wee-hours sleep. Overlooking the golf course, I had a fantastic mountain view of the Sandias. Room rate, using my players card, was reasonable.
I agree with others that the buffet quality is lacking. I wanted mostly veggies after "road food" for days and had a hard time finding green veggies on buffet. The Indian Taco at the little snack bar is great (no, no veggies!) but a fat slab of fry bread smothered in chile, cheese, lettuce & tomato...yum.
The casino is OK. The seating at the slots is dated. I found it too low for many of the machines and got a headache from craning my neck to watch the machine. By NM standards, the gaming floor is large with a good assortment of slots and table games. I also stayed at that other casino south of ABQ. Sandia was MUCH better, rooms not even comparable.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ZiaBe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmer Lake, Colorado
Level Contributor
150 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Spent 3 days and 2 nights enjoying the top rated golf course, restaurants, and casino. I'm not a gambler so all I enjoyed was the complimentary $25 you get for the Players Card sign-up, but one friends did win $400.00 plus at the craps table. The golf course was everything we could have asked for. Challenging, in great shape, beautiful views, and fair. We played twice and enjoyed the repeat as much as the first round. Great stay and play package price. The buffet was nice and the restaurant was a bit better. Decent food and better than going off to find fast food somewhere. The meal at the golf course snack bar was even better. The sweet potato fries were an added bonus. I would definitely go back and the whole experience was very positive.

Room Tip: Check the buffet schedule if you are planning on eating there before an early tee time. It was clos...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ReidArnold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level Contributor
57 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

The rack rate for casinos is nothing short of obscene -- the rooms are comparable to those of a Fairmont or a Hilton; there is no way I would ever pay $300 a night for one -- but they made us an offer we couldn't refuse, and we visited on several occasions while on the way to Phoenix.

Food and drink were almost reasonable, and a visit to Bien Shur for a drink and a gaze over the lights of ABQ is highly recommended; their signature margaritas are expensive but tasty, and if all you are going to have is one between you, not too painful. The pool has a delightful and unusual feature: three gas fire pits, where you can get warm and dry yourself out after a soak/swim. A hidden bargain was the $2 they charged for a good-sized cheeseburger, and the portions elsewhere were generous (we just split an appetizer).

The service was first-rate. The casino was poorly-ventilated, but there is a non-smoking area. The golf course was interesting, but in terrible shape. Gasoline is extremely cheap, so be sure to fill up across the street before you leave.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dissenter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albuquerque hotels
Isleta Resort & Casino
#38 of 144 in Albuquerque
3.5 of 5 stars 357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Comfort Inn & Suites North
#47 of 144 in Albuquerque
4.0 of 5 stars 210 reviews
Huning Highland Historic District
Hotel Parq Central
Hotel Parq Central
#2 of 144 in Albuquerque
4.5 of 5 stars 1,438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandia Resort & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandia Resort & Casino

Property: Sandia Resort & Casino
Address: 30 Rainbow Road NE, Albuquerque, NM 87113
Location: United States > New Mexico > Albuquerque
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Casino Hotel in Albuquerque
#5 Spa Hotel in Albuquerque
#20 Romantic Hotel in Albuquerque
#33 Business Hotel in Albuquerque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sandia Resort & Casino 3*
Number of rooms: 228
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the majestic Sandia Mountains, Sandia Resort & Casino welcomes guests to a unique Southwestern setting with outstanding service and modern comforts. Your experience begins in our enchanting guest rooms and suites, each showcasing breathtaking mountain or skyline views along with lavish bathrooms, flat-screen televisions and complimentary high-speed wired and wireless Internet access. You'll also discover the thoughtful services and amenities that have made us a stand-out destination among Albuquerque hotels, including our sparkling outdoor pool and cabanas, live entertainment, and tranquil spa. From fine dining to snacks on the go, our restaurants and lounges always deliver a memorable meal, even to your guest room, with our convenient room service offerings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your Sandia Resort & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandia Casino And Resort
Sandia Hotel Albuquerque

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing