We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Weekend of Rest & Relaxation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sandia Resort & Casino

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Sandia Resort & Casino to your Saves list
Sandia Resort & Casino
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   30 Rainbow Road NE, Albuquerque, NM 87113   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #39 of 144 Hotels in Albuquerque
Certificate of Excellence
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Weekend of Rest & Relaxation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Experienced exquisite Southwest elegance within a beautiful Indian Casino Resort. Staff was there for one reason; To make guests feel at home by catering to every need. Was greeted with pleasant smiles and have enjoyed the spacious rooms and equally elegant Southwestern decorated bathrooms accompanied with a relaxing tub and a separate step-in-shower adorned with a glass wall and door. Rooms are furnished with Keurig style coffee/tea maker, sleek mini fridge and a room safe. Felt right at home in room each time I have stayed at this fine, Five-Star hotel. You can't tell you're at a gambling casino when you're in your room. Have not had the pleasure of attending a concert in the outdoor amphitheater but maybe I will someday. Free underground or outdoor parking is available. Restaurants and fast food snack bars are located in great places and prices are very reasonable. The Casino itself is very lively, with slot machines and catching happening at all hours downstairs away from guest rooms. It's a great place to have fun and get a little R&R. Poolside has a wonderful sitting area where you can enjoy the view of the gorgeous New Mexico mountains. Will definitely stay here again, soon I hope!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank r m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

393 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    205
    110
    33
    17
    28
See reviews for
61
165
25
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
rio rancho
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Many praises to David Meeks, he went out of his way to arrange that my room was next to my friends upon my arrival. Friends and I stay often and have never been disappointed. The entertainment draw has been in the upper lounge: Karrie Simmons band. Fabulous!!!! really different atmosphere. PS won at slots jackpot now thats a good weekend.

Room Tip: mountain view is the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nancy c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
71 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

this room was amazing! Just simply perfect! The rooms are very pricy however I see why! Luckily for me I am a member of the casino so my rates were 60 dollars vs the labeled 200 .... This hotel is the absolute perfect blend of New Mexican and Native American culture! I was blow away of the perfection of this hotel and my room. The best of the best was put in the room. Romantic and fully upgraded. Just beautiful

Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank shan g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
Level Contributor
172 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I am sorry to say that this is not only my first casino review but also not a good one. While the casino is your typical smokey, loud & colorful atmosphere there is no liquor drinking at the tables only smoking & water/coffee cokes etc. The vibe was kinda like everyone was in "zombie ville." no excitement. I would say for a sure bet go & eat at Sadie's Mexican restaurant located in the back of the casino. You will not be disappointed. The food & margaritas are fantastic.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FloridaTraveller1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Socorro, New Mexico, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

My husband and I got married here. With our wedding, we stayed in a suite and had several of our guests stay in rooms too, so we got to see an array of rooms. The rooms were all beautiful and well done. But the city views aren't horrible.

The wedding and reception was held in the same room. We had contracted for 160 guests and had two ballrooms. The room wasn't set up as we had agreed when we entered the room for our rehearsal during the day. I didn't think much of it at the time as I had way too many other things on my mind. Unfortunately they set the gift table up right next to the entryway. And, sometime between the first guests arriving and when Sandia Staff dropped off our gifts in our room, gifts were stolen. (We found this out about 2 days after the wedding.) There was no evidence that it was staff related theft, or that it wasn't, but Sandia took the stance of, "It's not our fault" immediately. They didn't know what to do. So, they repeated themselves...over and over. The staff we were working with told us to talk to security and fill out an informational report. We did. They told us to not expect anything to come of it. We didn't.

The staff has been nothing but rude, and off-putting. Beth, our wedding event coordinator tried to help us, and I don't think she's at fault. However, I would not recommend this venue to anyone getting married. We had to jump through so many hoops...and this was a SIMPLE, really, really simple, wedding! I'm glad it wasn't complex!

If you go, enjoy your stay. I will never set foot in Sandia again as I don't want to get treated like a child and a thief myself. I don't appreciate that. I don't think you would like it either. Good luck.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank adknight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blujan, Front Office Manager at Sandia Resort & Casino, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Dear adknight,

Thank you so much for your candid feedback. It's with comments like yours that allow us to serve our customers better. We are saddened that your wedding reception did not meet your expectations. We at Sandia strive to exceed every guests expectations and have your stay or your event be a memorable one. Please feel free to contact our Sales Department at any time to discuss your on-going concerns.

Best Regards,
Kimberly Berry
Director of Hotel Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerrville, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Very pleasantly surprised on our resent stay!! The resort itself is located just off I-25 in NW Albuquerque. It sets all alone with the beautiful desert mountains behind it. Valet parking was free and the attendants were very nice. We arrived about 2pm and our room was ready, check-in was quick and the desk person very helpful. Our room was very spacious and clean. The bathroom was large and had a separate bath and shower. The resort is beautiful inside and out. The casino was clean with a large selection of slots and gaming tables. They even had a non-smoking slot area. I used the workout area and the spa. I highly recommend both. My wife had a pedicure and said it was one of the best she has had. We ate at the Thur Shan Buffet and the Council Room Restaurant and both had excellent service and food. Every employee at the resort we encountered greeted us and made us feel special. I highly recommend this resort and will definitely stay there again!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pueblo, CO
Level Contributor
78 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

I arrived tired and cranky after driving 5 hours thru sleet and snow from Pueblo, CO. Upon first approach, I saw that the hotel grounds were vast and meticulously maintained. Perched on a gradual slope with stunning views of the mountains and the city, make sure to request your preference upon check-in.

We valet parked upon arrival (free for hotel guests), bellmen were available. Check-in was a breeze, and I must admit that my crankiness disappeared immediately upon entering the vast, inviting, stylish, polished, and swanky lobby. The southwest decor was of good taste, there were plentiful comfy chairs to sit in for people watching, a free daily paper was available from the bell desk, a complementary computer kiosk available next to the front desk, and free wi-fi throughout the property.

The handsome, clean, and modern elevator delivered us briskly to our floor (room 840). The carpet, walls, decor were in such good condition, I believed the establishment to be brand new (factoid- not new, but recently refurbished). Our room looked out over the city, my husband would've preferred the mountain view, but my wishes trumped his, and we had a city (in the wee distance) view. The room was vast with attractive furnishings which matched the rest of the hotel (southwestern theme, but with a modern twist). I fell in love with the bathroom, huge, with granite countertops, soaking tub, separate shower with that thick, clean glass that all the fancy hotels have.

For our convenience, there was a fridge, Keurig coffee maker with a handful of k-cups (free), flat screen HD TV, iron, hair dryer (of course), plenty of hangers AND plug-ins right next to the bed on both sides. Extremely handy for charging my Kindle, camera, and cell phone. There was also one of those iPhone docking station radio/alarm clock things (not sure how they work, my cell phone has buttons - I know, totally uncool.) Another nice surprise were the FREE local phone calls. The bed linens were crisp and high quality/thread count. The pillows were oversized and fluffy, I'm not sure if there was a flat one in the closet or not (although there were extra bed linens in there).

The Casino: My husband fondly refers to me as a degenerate gambler, which I suppose I am, but that doesn't mean that I have low standards in regards to slot machines. I want lots of them, I want them new, I want drinks brought to me, and I want to play until my head is spinning with bonus rounds, triple bars, free spins, and I'm either completely broke (for the night) or winning and exhausted. That being said, the Sandia has a very comfortable casino. While I am not a smoker, I found the slots in the non-smoking casino to be pretty tight and too quiet. I like noise, ching-ching-ching, people laughing, hooting, and the such. So, I preferred to wander the main casino looking for games with 80%+ payout (look for the little white sticker near the screen for this guarantee). I had a $150/day budget and I played for hours on end! I play pennies, I bet fairly small (30-60-90), I like the thrill of the spin, I have never played so many bonus rounds! I won some each night, after a 3 day stay, I came out ahead! Sure, I didn't win any jackpots, but I'd say I gambled about 4-5 hours each day.

The Buffet: To me, the one real downer of the Sandia resort is the buffet. I should qualify my comments to follow... I am a foodie, so take what I say with a grain of salt (himalayan, pink to be precise). The food on the buffet seemed unoriginal, tired, and bland. While everything seemed "fresh," nothing was good or tasty. It's really hard to describe, nothing was "bad," but neither was anything good. The food was fairly pedestrian, maybe a step or two down from say... Golden Corral. So skip it and head into town for some traditional New Mexican fare (the Range in Bernalillo was phenomenal or Chen's Chinese in ABQ has excellent chop suey, it's on Juan Tabo just S of I-40).

Overall, this was an excellent trip. Sandia resort can compete with the likes of Wynn or Caesar's in Vegas as far as the hotel and gambling goes (slots), and the food- well, let's leave that for another review.

Room Tip: Request either city or mountain view at check-in. The higher, the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Savvypueblochick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albuquerque hotels
Isleta Resort & Casino
#40 of 144 in Albuquerque
3.5 of 5 stars 353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Comfort Inn & Suites North
#48 of 144 in Albuquerque
4.0 of 5 stars 209 reviews
Huning Highland Historic District
Hotel Parq Central
Hotel Parq Central
#2 of 144 in Albuquerque
4.5 of 5 stars 1,430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandia Resort & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandia Resort & Casino

Property: Sandia Resort & Casino
Address: 30 Rainbow Road NE, Albuquerque, NM 87113
Location: United States > New Mexico > Albuquerque
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Casino Hotel in Albuquerque
#5 Spa Hotel in Albuquerque
#20 Romantic Hotel in Albuquerque
#33 Business Hotel in Albuquerque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sandia Resort & Casino 3*
Number of rooms: 228
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the majestic Sandia Mountains, Sandia Resort & Casino welcomes guests to a unique Southwestern setting with outstanding service and modern comforts. Your experience begins in our enchanting guest rooms and suites, each showcasing breathtaking mountain or skyline views along with lavish bathrooms, flat-screen televisions and complimentary high-speed wired and wireless Internet access. You'll also discover the thoughtful services and amenities that have made us a stand-out destination among Albuquerque hotels, including our sparkling outdoor pool and cabanas, live entertainment, and tranquil spa. From fine dining to snacks on the go, our restaurants and lounges always deliver a memorable meal, even to your guest room, with our convenient room service offerings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Orbitz so you can book your Sandia Resort & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandia Casino And Resort
Sandia Hotel Albuquerque

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing