We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a good Casino to play at.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sandia Resort & Casino
Ranked #40 of 144 Hotels in Albuquerque
Marietta, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Not a good Casino to play at.”
Reviewed October 16, 2012

The building and inside are magnificent looking. Great looking Casino from outside, but the selection of slot machines are terrible. Not many machines are the "cherries" or "bar" type. The majority of them are weird machines that you don't see at every casino, or at least not as many as are here. These machines seem to be so computerized that you don't have a chance of winning anything. Entirely in favor of the house. I had a miserable time and did not stay but a few hours. I didn't see anything to play that would keep me there. Route 66 Casino is MUCH better. Don't judge a book by it's cover.

Room Tip: Don't waste your time gambling at this casino. Go to Route 66. The food is great there and you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ron c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blujan, Front Office Manager at Sandia Resort & Casino, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
We appreciate your compliments about the Sandia Resort & Casino’s architecture.
In addition, thank you for commenting about the slot machines in the Casino. I spoke to the Director of Slot Operations; he informed me we offer a diverse type of slot machines to our customers. We do have several “cherry” and “bar” slot machines throughout the Casino and in the Nonsmoking Room. Our slot machines are regulated by Sandia Tribal Gaming Commission and all pay back greater than 80%
We appreciate your patronage of the Sandia Resort & Casino and hope that you will give us another opportunity to welcome you back.

Best Regards,
Ally Lasater
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

493 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    255
    132
    48
    24
    34
See reviews for
91
194
36
67
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Maui, Hawaii
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2012

I had a nightmarish experience at this establishment and plan to contact the owner about the bad behavior of one of their transportation employers. I have never experience anything this horrible in all of my travels around the world.
This smoke filled casino doesn't pay on anything and the place is full of come ons that lead no where. Avoid this place at all costs.

Room Tip: Be very careful here. Bait and Switch is the name of the game.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gaiabest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blujan, Front Office Manager at Sandia Resort & Casino, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Thank you for your candid feedback. I would like the opportunity to speak with you personally about your experience here at Sandia. My contact information is below. So, please contact me so we may get this resolved.

Best Regards,
James Torres
Chief of Security
jtorres@sandiacasino.com
505-796-7741
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2012

We ate at the buffet right after the Annual Balloon Fiesta. The buffet was packed but now I know why. The food was excellent! So many choices with such good flavor. The staff was friendly and attentive. Great choices. We were there during the Sunday Brunch buffet. I highly recommend!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mmanaya A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lubbock,tx
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2012

This was a one night stopover on a Vegas road trip. My wife had a reduced rate offer which we were able to use despite the fact that the balloon festival started the day we left. Check in was quick and we had a fifth floor room with view of city. Got to watch balloons take off and it was really great. Room was very nice, clean and quiet. Casino was good, won more than we lost, excellent selection of machines. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Would stay here again, even at the posted rates.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Texas_Bubba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Wyoming
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2012

We were headed to Las Cruces and decided to spend the night at the Sandia Casino & Resort. If it is your first stay, you can sign up for their Casino Rewards card and get a Certificate for a night's stay for $99. Very pretty public places; the buffet is very reasonably priced and was quite good. The rooms were gorgeous with large flat screen TV. Beds and linens were so comfortable. The bathrooms were absolutely gorgeous; just like from a magazine. Had both a large soaking tub and separate large shower. Loved the accommodations.

All the people were extremely cordial and helpful.

Also with the Rewards Card, you received $25 in free play at almost any of the slot machines in the casino. I actually won some money without spending any of my own money. :) I would most definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank arby70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburg,texas
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2012

This Resort has everything and more. impecable rooms., and bathrooms are so nicely decorated and spacious They were so attentive and ready to assist you. They make you feel so welcome. Airport transportation simply the Best of the Best.

Room Tip: Exellent rooms and exellent price
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank european0101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2012

Nice rooms with friendly people at the front desk. The problem started when the TV did not work and I called down and asked for help. After about 30 minutes I called again and they said the IT guy would call right away. Two and a half hours go by and the guy calls the room at 10:15 PM about the tv and I told him no thanks I have kids sleeping.

Next problem is the pillows are horrible here. They are so tall and very firm it is like you are trying to sleep with your head 6 or 7 inches too high. Asked the front desk and they said they would have housekeeping get softer pillows.....never happened.

The smell of smoke can be bad at times due to the casino.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank oneseadawg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albuquerque hotels
Isleta Resort & Casino
#24 of 144 in Albuquerque
671 reviews
Comfort Inn & Suites North
#51 of 144 in Albuquerque
267 reviews
Albuquerque Original Townsite
Hotel Andaluz
Hotel Andaluz
#8 of 144 in Albuquerque
1,388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nativo Lodge Albuquerque
#43 of 144 in Albuquerque
1,028 reviews
Huning Highland Historic District
Hotel Parq Central
Hotel Parq Central
#3 of 144 in Albuquerque
1,667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandia Resort & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandia Resort & Casino

Property: Sandia Resort & Casino
Address: 30 Rainbow Rd NE, Albuquerque, NM 87113-2156
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Albuquerque
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Casino Hotel in Albuquerque
#4 Luxury Hotel in Albuquerque
#6 Spa Hotel in Albuquerque
#20 Romantic Hotel in Albuquerque
#33 Business Hotel in Albuquerque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sandia Resort & Casino 4*
Number of rooms: 228
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the majestic Sandia Mountains, Sandia Resort & Casino welcomes guests to a unique Southwestern setting with outstanding service and modern comforts. Your experience begins in our enchanting guest rooms and suites, each showcasing breathtaking mountain or skyline views along with lavish bathrooms, flat-screen televisions and complimentary high-speed wired and wireless Internet access. You'll also discover the thoughtful services and amenities that have made us a stand-out destination among Albuquerque hotels, including our sparkling outdoor pool and cabanas, live entertainment, and tranquil spa. From fine dining to snacks on the go, our restaurants and lounges always deliver a memorable meal, even to your guest room, with our convenient room service offerings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Sandia Resort & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandia Casino And Resort
Sandia Hotel Albuquerque

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing