We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interactive, informative museum for whole family!”

Anderson-Abruzzo International Balloon Museum
Ranked #13 of 223 things to do in Albuquerque
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Denver, Colorado, United States
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Interactive, informative museum for whole family!”
Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

This is a great museum. I brought my three children (4, 6 & 8)- all three enjoyed it. The exhibits are well laid out, lighting is beautiful and so many opportunties to actively engage the exhibits. My eight yr old loved flying and landing the balloon. We learned alot about ballooning and have cute pictures. This is a good value and engages many different ages.

Helpful?
Thank Kristee P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

491 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    295
    142
    46
    7
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Nice Visit and Informative”
Reviewed March 21, 2013

Stopped by the museum - love hot air balloons and I learned so much about the history and how they played a part in the war. I didn't realize there was so much more to these than just looking at them. Spent time walking around and did enjoy the area they had where you could actually try and control your own balloon landing on a screen by standing in the basket, using the ropes and the wind velocity that is shown. You do get scored on this. It was fun to do. If you have the time try and stop by it's well worth the time.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Vegasgram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Family fun and inexpensive”
Reviewed March 18, 2013

I loved this place. Beautifully laid out with interactive exhibits for kids and a wonderful and informative history of balloning. I hadn't realize the long history of ballon flights.
I found the gift store wonderful and really liked their balloned theme postcards.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Robsy5111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, NM
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Lots of great information”
Reviewed March 1, 2013

This gives a great comprehensive history of ballooning. Albuquerque is THE place for ballooning--largest balloon fiesta in the world. Very interesting museum.

Helpful?
Thank Austriangypsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hot Springs, Arkansas
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Fun place for hot air balloon fans”
Reviewed February 21, 2013

For just $4 ($2 for seniors 65+), you can enjoy learning about hot air ballooning, how it got started, and several of the fantastic accomplishments by early pioneers. Exhibits also include several videos, a huge model of an air ship, and sample equipment for parasailing and hang gliding. My favorite exhibit was a hot air balloon simulator which scored you on how well you "steered" your balloon. The museum building is also quite impressive and the gift shop was one of the best I've experienced -- lots of creative items at reasonable prices. You don't need a lot of time to visit this museum but it's well worth a stop.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank GoRoadie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Anderson-Abruzzo International Balloon Museum also viewed

 

Been to Anderson-Abruzzo International Balloon Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing