We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic museum with a lot of information”

Anderson-Abruzzo International Balloon Museum
Ranked #14 of 218 things to do in Albuquerque
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Rochester Hills, MI
Level Contributor
153 reviews
77 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Fantastic museum with a lot of information”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2013

We were happily surprised with this Museum. When we were there, it was free on Sunday mornings until 1:00 PM. But the quantity and quality of the exhibits on the history of ballooning are wonderful. Much more extensive than at Dayton or the Smithsonian. And gondolas from some of the recent trans-ocean flights are great to see. You can't lose with this one - an hour will probably be enough, although we spent two and a bit.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Tenormary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

474 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    284
    136
    46
    7
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Redmond, Washington
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good Family Visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

We had 2 girls, 8 and 6, and the grandparents. Interesting displays for the grandparents and myself. Good hands on activities for the girls (e.g., put the panels on a balloon, fill it with hot air and watch it rise). We spent about an hour and there were no other activities as it was the week before Thanksgiving.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank 5Carrolls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, Ohio
Level Contributor
136 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Balloon museum is great for inquiring minds”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2012

Although I visited the museum several years ago, I remain impressed by the breadth of displays presented there. They successfully meld history and science to satisfy the curious mind. Any inquisitive person visiting Albuquerque should stop-in at least once.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank kim u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Cheap but not worth the price”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

We got in for free on a Sunday afternoon and still felt like it was a waste of money. They do offer some nice family-friendly activities throughout the year, but I wouldn't go just for the museum. It's quite small.

Helpful?
1 Thank mydayscount
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“More balloons!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012

The views! The inter actives! What is not to like about this museum! Great family detination-with displays and activities that appeal to the young and the young at heart.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank MOIFA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Anderson-Abruzzo International Balloon Museum also viewed

 

Been to Anderson-Abruzzo International Balloon Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing