We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Albuquerque Airport - Univ Area
Ranked #87 of 144 Hotels in Albuquerque
Las Cruces, NM
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Horrible bedding”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2007

We stayed here two nights in April (4/12 and 4/28, two different rooms). On both occasions the mattress cover and bottom sheet came loose from the top of the bed in the middle of the night. I had to get up and remake the bed! See the attached photo. Either the bedding is so worn it won't hold, which it appears to be, and/or the housekeeping staff needs more training. In addition the ice and soft drink machines were very noisy. The staff was OK, but not anything special as to service. This place is anything but "select."

We will not stay here again. The only reason we stayed the second night is that we had booked and prepaid for the second night in order to leave our car in their parking lot (not secure) while we traveled.

  • Liked — Location adjacent to airport
  • Disliked — room...see review
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank gmhlcnm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    64
    65
    33
    26
See reviews for
49
63
19
73
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bainbridge Island Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2007

I very seldom stay in motels so it’s hard for me to compare. I asked Amanda (reservations and front desk) if the beds were truly comfortable. She said,”yes” They were. I asked for 3 rooms near each other and she had them for us. The room had a sofa, desk with good chair, small refrig. micro wave oven and the bed was great, if a little high. I was not crazy about the bathroom, it had a shower and over all very small. The whole place was very clean, the staff wonderful( Amanda a star), the restaurant was OK, and the price was fine. I’d stay again for a night or two and I’m a fairly fussy older woman.

Helpful?
3 Thank Samos1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2007

This was my first stay at a Holiday Inn Select hotel and after an uneventful stay at the Fairfield Inn during my last trip to Albuquerque, I was hoping for an "upgrade". This hotel delivered and made my stay comfortable. The bed was soft and comfy and a little high for me, but I didn't mind. Free internet access was a plus since I was staying for business. I also had a great view of the city lights at night. If you have an early morning flight and renting a car, this hotel is very convenient because it's located just down the street from the airport rental facility. If I come back to visit for business or vacation, I would definitely stay here again.

  • Liked — Convenient and comfortable
  • Disliked — Not close to attractions
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
12 Thank travelsafe2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2007

I arrived at this hotel at 1:00 a.m. after a very delayed fight from Atlanta.

During my stay I found the staff very helpful and friendly. My room was very clean and comfortable. The shuttle service to and from the airport is very good also.

You may have to spend a little more to stay here. But it really is a nice place to spend the night.

  • Liked — Property is clean and very well managed
  • Disliked — I enjoyed this hotel
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
10 Thank BjorkenD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
74 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2007

We stayed here for 1 night while in town for some medical treatments.

The front desk clerk gave us our room cards and didn't even bother to tell us what room we were in -- we had to look at the folder that card was in. Not a big deal, but she had no "customer service effort" in her. She didn't tell us anything about the facilities of hotel.

The room was a decent size with free high speed internet but no connection cord provided. I brought the wrong cord from home, but luckily was able to get the wi-fi from neighboring hotel!

The bed was very comfortable and was triple sheeted.
The bathroom was a good size, towels were good.

Great location for the airport.

Biggest problem was that our room faced the airport and air base and incoming planes - especially jets from the base. It was noisy. They did quiet down some at night.

  • Liked — clean room
  • Disliked — noise from planes;
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Debits2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2006

We had a very early flight from Albuquerque, so wanted to stay near the airport. Our stay at the Holiday Inn Select, Sunport Place, was great. We highly recommend staying there. They provide shuttle service beginning at 4 a.m. and the airport is only 1/2 mile from the hotel. The hotel is very clean and it was quiet. Ask for a 'city side' room and enjoy the view at night when the city lights are on. They have a restaurant or the shuttle will take you to an area closeby where you can choose a place to dine.

  • Liked — Location, shuttle service, and cleanliness of hotel
  • Disliked — There isn't anything that we did not like about this place.
  • Tips/Secrets — Great place to stay near the airport
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Travel Explorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2006

Holiday Inn Select hotels are among the newest in the hotel's chain, geared toward business travelers. The hotel provides a complimentary shuttle to and from the airport, which is great. The rooms have upgraded linens and toiletries and is super clean. The spacious lobby also features a full service restaurant and an adjoining bar. It's a clean, comfortable and convienent hotel!

  • Stayed May 2006
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
17 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albuquerque hotels
Hyatt Place Albuquerque Airport
#18 of 144 in Albuquerque
4.0 of 5 bubbles 662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sunport
Hilton Garden Inn Albuquerque Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Albuquerque Airport - Univ Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Albuquerque Airport - Univ Area

Property: Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Albuquerque Airport - Univ Area
Address: 1501 Sunport Place SE, Albuquerque, NM 87106
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Albuquerque
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #87 of 144 Hotels in Albuquerque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Albuquerque Airport - Univ Area 3*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Take the Virtual Tour. The new addition to Albuquerque is the contemporary, stylish and comfortable Holiday Inn Select , conveniently located near Albuquerque International Airport, off I-25 at Exit 221, and the University of New Mexico. This elegant property is close to Albuquerque International Sunport, Kirtland AFB, and Sandia National Labs. We offer 121 spacious guest rooms with spectacular views including 540sf suites with whirlpool tubs. We are a non-smoking facility and offer FREE High-Speed Internet. Our amenities include a state-of-the-art fitness center, indoor pool, 24-hour business center, and large banquet/meeting space.Look Again at the all new Holiday Inn Select Hotel Albuquerque where we offer plush pillow top mattresses and premium bedding, a refreshing shower experience & Garden Botanika shower products, & Wolfgang Puck's Coffee. Relax and enjoy an appetizing meal or your favorite drink at the Sunport Bar & Grille. Earn points and miles with Priority Club Rewards.Businesses: Kirtland AFB, Sandia National Labs, EclipseHospitals: UNM Hospital, Lovelace Sandia Health Systems, Presbyterian Hospital, VA Hospital Universities: University of New Mexico (UNM), CNM Local Attractions: Albuquerque Convention Center, Sandia Peak/Tramway, Historic Old Town, Casinos, Balloon Fiesta, Journal Pavilion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Albuquerque Airport - Univ Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Hotel And Suites Albuquerque Airport - Univ Area
Holiday Inn Albuquerque
Albuquerque Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing