We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly surprised”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Albuquerque Airport - Univ Area
Ranked #87 of 143 Hotels in Albuquerque
Reviewed May 25, 2014

This hotel was everything we could expect. The room was larger than most of our other hotel choices in NM. It was clean and comfortable while also having all amenities we wanted. The A/C unit was old and noisy. The staff were generally helpful. The breakfast selections were good and included a pancake making machine! We had not previously stayed at a Holiday Inn Express, but we will certainly do so in the future. The room rates seemed moderate to us. We had earlier in this NM vacation stayed at a Marriot chain in Albuquerque that failed, in our opinion, to meet any of our standards.

Room Tip: Our room was on the third floor. It was quiet and comfortable. The only noise was from a room air...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Francia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (257)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

132 - 138 of 258 reviews

Reviewed May 20, 2014

This is our 2nd year staying here for 2 different nights at the beginning and end of our vacation trip. The thing I like the most is how accommodating they are with airport transportation, the shuttle runs from 4:30am to midnight which works for most ABQ flights and they even picked us up at 11:55 pm. We have to drive to ABQ & fly out so we leave our vehicle here and it’s just as we left it. It costs about the same as airport parking and it sure is nice to go straight to Hotel after flight delays and all-day travel.
The Hotel is clean and looks updated, the staff was very accommodating and there is restaurant, lounge, coffee bar, store (all open limited hours). It was a little difficult to find our first time but we’ve got it now (exit freeway, left on Sunport Blvd, right lane, left on University Blvd, left on Woodward Rd) you can also see it from freeway.
Both nights our room was above front desk (on different floors), right off hall from ice/vending machines and elevator which is convenient and was unexpectedly quiet. We had a king bed with small couch (nice to have a place for the two of us to sit) and there is also a refrigerator & microwave which we always appreciate. The bed, linens and pillows were all comfortable as well as the overall feel of the room as it has most of the amenities you would want (large TV, desk, Wifi, luggage stool, closet, mirror, iron/board, coffee). The bathroom has a walk-in shower (no bathtub), decent size vanity top and obscured toilet (it’s behind big bathroom door). There is also an indoor pool & Jacuzzi area that is very nice.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RockinRobin55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sabina K, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Albuquerque Airport - Univ Area, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2014

Dear RockinRobin55,

On behalf of our entire team I would like to thank you for taking your time and reviewing your recent stay with us. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoy staying with us! For your information - if you would like a room with a tub instead of a walk in shower - our two queen rooms have a tub and our two-room Suites feature a jetted tub.

We are looking forward to serving you again in the future!

Sincerely,
Sabina Khusainova

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2014

I had read how difficult this hotel was to find. That's not exactly accurate. You can see it clearly, but the GPS instructions will lead you astray. When I came off the highway, I made the mistake of thinking the turn was a left, but it was a right. That error led me into the airport. After taking that loop, you still can't enter the hotel parking. I had to make a U turn and take that right. However, coming off the ramp, the GPS said take a left and a left. That put me back on the dead end where I did the U-Turn. You must go past the hotel before turning Left. That said, the hotel looked pretty enough when I entered. Check-in was ok, but I was too early for the grill to have opened. I had to get food off site. The room was pretty, thought the little sofa wasn't very comfortable. The clearance of the bathroom door was tight and the bathroom layout was a little odd. Huge shower but slippery floor inside. The biggest problem I had was the combination fridge/microwave. It rattled intermittently all night. I even tried turning it off, hoping that would stop the noise, but it didn't. I ended up putting the heat/AC on fan only to drown it out. I left very early in the morning and was disappointed to see the Starbuck's counter in the lobby had no one staffing it. All in all, not much different than a more basic hotel. Just disappointing, overall. I would give 2.5 but that's not an option.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ww13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Albuquerque Airport - Univ Area, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2014

Dear ww13 (ww13),

Thank you for your review and for enumerating the good, the bad and the opportunities to improve. I am delighted to hear that you liked our room and that check in was okay. Whilst I am pleased with your good reviews,I truly value the negative comments as this gives us the opportunity to improve on our service. I am sorry for the inconvenience you have encountered with the fridge and microwave, not to mention the Starbuck’s counter in the lobby with no staff. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences.

Again, thank you for your review and we hope you do choose to give us another opportunity to exceed your expectations in the future.

Kind Regards,

Charisse V.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2014 via mobile

In a 5am rush to get to the airport, Ieft my tablet on the bed in room 217. I spent a week trying to talk to the general manager and was told over and over again that he was the only one who could deal with lost and found . He was away for 4 days and on 2 hour conference calls. I go to NM quite often will never stay here again. Lock everything up and beware. This incident occurred May 4 th and I have yet to hear from manager after calling many times.
Y

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank snakegoddess45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sabina K, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Albuquerque Airport - Univ Area, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2014

Dear snakegoddess45,

I wanted to let you know, that we did find your tablet - it was turned into the General Manager's office on Tuesday, May 6th. Unfortunately we have no means to contact you as your reservation was made through Priceline and has their phone number. We tried contacting them and they would not provide us with your contact information due to Privacy Act. Please call us at 505-944-2255 and ask to talk to the General Manager. If he is out of the office you can leave him a voicemail with your name and your phone number and he will give you a call back.

I apologize for any inconveniences but we could not contact you due to inadequate information on your reservation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2014

On our recent stay we carelessly left a small duffle bag on the sidewalk when we loaded our luggage and it contained all our meds. When we arrived in Santa Fe we called and Monica said they found it so I was going to return to Albuquerque. She offered to deliver it to us in Santa Fe after getting off work late in the afternoon which she did and we compensated her for her gas and time. We have had a lot of courtesies shown us over the years of staying at a Holiday Inn but this was far and beyond anything we would ever expect. We shall always remember her and her kindness.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Donald G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2014

I will say that it is better than a budget motel, but only slightly. Only worth it if you are getting a VERY good deal. Nothing was quite nice enough, or clean enough. Breakfast was $10 per person (kids free), but not as good as most free breakfasts. I would spend more for a better experience next time.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
1  Thank C U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Albuquerque Airport - Univ Area, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2014

Dear C U,

Thank you for your recent stay with us and reviewing our property. I am sorry we were not able to exceed or at least be at par with your expectation. Your comments have been documented and we are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Once again, thank you for staying with us and we all hope to have an opportunity to serve you again on your next future visit.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2014

Enjoyed our one night stay at this hotel. It was clean, comfortable, had good in-room lighting, quiet, and the staff was friendly and helpful. Breakfast was ready and on time. The breakfast area was in a nice section of the lobby and well presented.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank james s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albuquerque hotels
Sunport
Hilton Garden Inn Albuquerque Airport
Hyatt Place Albuquerque Airport
#18 of 143 in Albuquerque
789 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Albuquerque Airport - Univ Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Albuquerque Airport - Univ Area

Address: 1501 Sunport Pl SE, Albuquerque, NM 87106-1743
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Albuquerque
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #87 of 143 Hotels in Albuquerque
Price Range: $83 - $234 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Albuquerque Airport - Univ Area 3*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Take the Virtual Tour. The new addition to Albuquerque is the contemporary, stylish and comfortable Holiday Inn Select , conveniently located near Albuquerque International Airport, off I-25 at Exit 221, and the University of New Mexico. This elegant property is close to Albuquerque International Sunport, Kirtland AFB, and Sandia National Labs. We offer 121 spacious guest rooms with spectacular views including 540sf suites with whirlpool tubs. We are a non-smoking facility and offer FREE High-Speed Internet. Our amenities include a state-of-the-art fitness center, indoor pool, 24-hour business center, and large banquet/meeting space.Look Again at the all new Holiday Inn Select Hotel Albuquerque where we offer plush pillow top mattresses and premium bedding, a refreshing shower experience & Garden Botanika shower products, & Wolfgang Puck's Coffee. Relax and enjoy an appetizing meal or your favorite drink at the Sunport Bar & Grille. Earn points and miles with Priority Club Rewards.Businesses: Kirtland AFB, Sandia National Labs, EclipseHospitals: UNM Hospital, Lovelace Sandia Health Systems, Presbyterian Hospital, VA Hospital Universities: University of New Mexico (UNM), CNM Local Attractions: Albuquerque Convention Center, Sandia Peak/Tramway, Historic Old Town, Casinos, Balloon Fiesta, Journal Pavilion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, IHG, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Albuquerque Airport - Univ Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Hotel And Suites Albuquerque Airport - Univ Area
Holiday Inn Albuquerque
Albuquerque Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing