We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor facilities, staff friendly but ultimately not helpful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Albuquerque Airport - Univ Area
Ranked #96 of 144 Hotels in Albuquerque
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
233 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 215 helpful votes
“Poor facilities, staff friendly but ultimately not helpful”
Reviewed June 20, 2011

Not a nice place to stay unless it gets a full remodel.

First impressions: Room was dark and very worn. Air conditioning was loud and not very strong. Old TVs. Then it got worse. The swimming pool was dirty; the jacuzzi even dirtier. Then when attempting to shower or bathe children back in the room the only option was scalding hot water. The front desk staff came to verify it, and then had no solution.

We had already unpacked suitcases, it was late and kids needed to go to bed for an early morning flight, and our only option was to pack up and move upstairs or use the public showers between the pool and workout room. Those showers were not nice either, but at least the water temperature could be controlled.

Afterwards emailed the manager and the company's customer service and no replies.

The front desk staff were very friendly at check-in, and remained so throughout our stay. They did not seem particularly knowledgeable of places to eat New Mexican food in town though.

Check out one of the neighboring hotels.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DC2florida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    65
    67
    36
    27
See reviews for
51
65
20
77
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Parker, CO
1 review
Reviewed March 23, 2011

This hotel is the only hotel in the vicinity that does not offer security at night. Break-ins are an on-going problem here. Unfortunately, I was not aware of this and my car got broken into during the night. Management still refuses to hire security. Do not stay in this hotel. There are others which are nice that hire nighttime security right next door.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank appytraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Albuquerque hotels

Gresham, Oregon
2 reviews
Reviewed February 14, 2011

I've stayed pretty much exclusively at Holiday Inns for the past 2-3 years and only ever experienced a couple minor problems. This particular hotel is nice and my room was gorgeous - however, the Data Port connection was broken and not able to be repaired for my stay - lights were burnt out in the room and most disturbing to me was the limited parking near the front of the hotel. In 10-15 degree weather (surprising for ABQ) I had to park in the back parking lot - and walk all the way around to the front of the hotel - because they do not have even key card access points in the rear of the hotel. I moved to another location.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Saxmanal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elephant Butte, New Mexico
1 review
Reviewed February 13, 2011

Good: Tessa at the front desk is awesome!
Lobby is beautiful.
Room looks very nice.
Wait staff is very polite.
Nice business center.
I love the shower except the floor is very slippery. Towels are great!
Not so good: Restaurant is so cold the food doesn't stay warm.
The dinner menu is very very limited; five or six entrees. We both ordered spaghetti...they were out of spaghetti. It took 45 minutes to an hour to get our dinner.
Bed & pillows were very uncomfortable.
My husband and I had very little sleep. We were on the third floor...you could hear every move the people above us made...it was very very loud until 2am and then started again at 5pm.
It took over an hour to get two cheeseburgers via room service..which cost $21.38...2 cheeseburgers and fries!!!
There was a small safe in our room which we didn't use...they charged us $1.00 per day for a safe warranty...we were never told about this charge.
Unless you are familiar with Albuquerque, this hotel is very difficult to find.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JerryMF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 29, 2010

This was the worst hotel I have ever stayed in. There was a party taking place in one of the banquet rooms on the first floor and the music was so loud that our tables were vibrating on the fourth floor. The manager refused to do anything about the noise. Finally, at 2:00 in the morning, we were moved to another room. Seriously, I was traveling with a 6 year old; poor kid did not get any rest that night! The manager promised to refund my money, but the next morning I was told that the money could not be refunded. The desk clerk said that there was nothing I could do about it and that it was just my problem. I asked to speak to the manager again and was told no. I then asked for corporate information so that I could report the problems and was informed that the hotel was privately owned and the owner did not have contact information. The hot tub and the sauna did not work and the staff insisted on leaving all the windows to the pool area open in December so no one could use the pool. They claim to have a Starbucks in the lobby (this is a TOTAL lie). If I go the grocery store and buy a bag of Starbucks coffee that does not make my house a Starbucks. Please take some advice and stay somewhere else. I would not subject my worst enemy to this hotel!!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tallthefox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
71 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2010

Staff was friendly. We have stayed here 3 times in 3 years. Very quite and you do not hear planes. Had 2 beds in our room. One was against the wall so if person needed to get out of bed they would of had to crawl out. No nighttable by the other bed. Only one in center of 2 beds. Resturant sign stated opend to 9:30 but closed at 9pm. Got a buger from the bar and ate it in our room. Burger was good. Had dinner there the next night. Under staffed in resturant. I do hope to be back there again next year and would stay again.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lizzyrazzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durango, Colorado
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2010

I had a good two night stay at this hotel, I couldn't believe how quiet it was being so close to the airport, I never heard a single plane. Rooms were a little small but nice, the bed was one of the most comfortable I have slept in; firm mattress and lots of pillows. The air conditioner worked well and wasn't too noisy. The bathroom was clean, but not sparkling and the position of the fixtures was a little strange in relation to the door. This appears to be a new hotel, as are the others in this area. Getting to it was a little tricky, but hopefully the signage will improve soon and people won't end up going through the airport parking lot like I did. The staff was adequate although usually gone from the front desk, I had to wait for someone to show up at the desk everytime except at check out. I waited the longest to check in, I had yelled "you who" to get someone's attention before they came out to the desk to tend to me and the line of people that had formed behind me in the mean time. No free breakfast and no restaurants close by, just the airport. But the room did have a microwave and a frig located well away from the sleeping area, I liked that. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank analise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Albuquerque hotels
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Albuquerque Airport
0.1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Albuquerque Airport
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Place Albuquerque Airport
Hyatt Place Albuquerque Airport
#15 of 144 in Albuquerque
718 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Best Western Airport Albuquerque InnSuites Hotel & Suites
0.1 mi away
Staybridge Suites Albuquerque - Airport
0.9 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Albuquerque Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Albuquerque Airport - Univ Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Albuquerque Airport - Univ Area

Property: Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Albuquerque Airport - Univ Area
Address: 1501 Sunport Pl SE, Albuquerque, NM 87106-1743
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Albuquerque
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #96 of 144 Hotels in Albuquerque
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Albuquerque Airport - Univ Area 3*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Take the Virtual Tour. The new addition to Albuquerque is the contemporary, stylish and comfortable Holiday Inn Select , conveniently located near Albuquerque International Airport, off I-25 at Exit 221, and the University of New Mexico. This elegant property is close to Albuquerque International Sunport, Kirtland AFB, and Sandia National Labs. We offer 121 spacious guest rooms with spectacular views including 540sf suites with whirlpool tubs. We are a non-smoking facility and offer FREE High-Speed Internet. Our amenities include a state-of-the-art fitness center, indoor pool, 24-hour business center, and large banquet/meeting space.Look Again at the all new Holiday Inn Select Hotel Albuquerque where we offer plush pillow top mattresses and premium bedding, a refreshing shower experience & Garden Botanika shower products, & Wolfgang Puck's Coffee. Relax and enjoy an appetizing meal or your favorite drink at the Sunport Bar & Grille. Earn points and miles with Priority Club Rewards.Businesses: Kirtland AFB, Sandia National Labs, EclipseHospitals: UNM Hospital, Lovelace Sandia Health Systems, Presbyterian Hospital, VA Hospital Universities: University of New Mexico (UNM), CNM Local Attractions: Albuquerque Convention Center, Sandia Peak/Tramway, Historic Old Town, Casinos, Balloon Fiesta, Journal Pavilion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotel.de, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Albuquerque Airport - Univ Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Hotel And Suites Albuquerque Airport - Univ Area
Holiday Inn Albuquerque
Albuquerque Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing